Ted Scott(Fraport Skyliners) I Am The Guy That Picks Up The Players And Encourage Them When Times Aren´t Going Well.

Ted Scott is a 27 year old 188cm guard from Columbus, Ohio that is playing his first season for the Fraport Skyliners. He played at West Virginia State from 2004-2009 playing a total of 120 NCAA2 games. In his senior year, he played  30 games: 23.4ppg, 3.0rpg, 2.6apg, 1.5spg, FGP: 50.3%, 3Pts: 34.6%, FT: 82.8%. In 2009-2010, he played for ISS Sportino Inowroclaw (Poland-PLK, starting five): 10 games: 20.0ppg, 2.7rpg, 1.3apg, 1.6spg, FGP: 49.3%, 3PT: 41.3%, FT: 81.5%; in Jan.’10 moved to Ferro-ZNTU Zaporozhye (Ukraine-Superleague): 1 game: 2pts. In 2010-2011, he played for SKK Kotwica Kolobrzeg (Poland-PLK): 20 games: Score-1(25.4ppg), 4.4rpg, 2.1apg, 1.8spg, FGP: 47.2%, 3PT: 37.0%, FT: 83.5%. Last season, he played for Sport Lisboa Benfica (Portugal-LPB, starting five): 34 games: Score-4(17.0ppg), 3.1rpg, 2.0apg, 1.3spg, FGP: 49.7%, 3PT: 33.9%, FT: 82.3%. He won the Portugal championship last season with Benfica Lisabon with ex Skyliner Seth Doliboa. He spoke with German Hoops about basketball.

What was it like playing against Patrick Ewing jr?

I had watched him on tv when he played at Georgetown. It was a great experience being on the court with him and in general is it when playing against guys like that.

When shots aren´t falling for you, you don’t shoot 1000 times more, but also try to involve your teammates. How difficult is it as a shooter to know when to shoot and when not?

I think that that comes with time. It also has to do with instincts. It really comes naturally for me and not so hard for me.

You are playing your first season in Germany. What were your main reasons for coming to the Fraport Skyliners?

I had heard that the German league is strong and just wanted to test my skills here.

How do you like the big city feeling of Frankfurt which you know from Columbus, Ohio?

It is that same kind of feeling. There are so many things in Frankfurt that are similar to home. The food for one. It feels like home here.

You didn´t need much time to get used to the Beko BBL making 20 points in trier. Is a natural scorer at home everywhere?

Not really. I think it comes with how comfortable one is with the team and myself. I don´t think all players have it. It has a lot to with self confidence.

How difficult was it coming to  a last place team after being champion with Benfica Lisabon last season?

It wasn´t too difficult. I see it as a challenge. Everyone on the team have the same goal. We want to make the playoffs and just get as far as we can.

Did your teammates feel that you are a go to guy player?

Yes I feel it came in the first game. I hit my first shots and my teammates realized it quickly.

What is a strength in your game that doesn´t always get recognized?

I am the guy that picks up the players and encourage them when times aren´t going well.

To what NBA player would you compare your game to?

Monta Ellis of the Bucks.

Your ex teammate Seth Doliboa said that you have a rare combination of shooting and athletic skills. Where does that comes from?

It has always been like that. I am always being aggressive and I think all these things are in one.

What has been the most incredible thing that you have seen Quantez Robertson do in a practice?

In practice we were running a fast break and Tez was going to the basket and I didn´t think that he saw me throw up a ball to the rim, but he did and dunked over two guys. It was one of the hardest dunks I ever saw.

Why are so many great basketball players come from Ohio?

I think it has to do with the fact that we start young and good programs there.

Who were your NBA idols?

Ray Allen and Michael Jordan.

You tore up the nCAA2 at west Virginia State. Were you ever sad that you didn´t showcase your skills in the NCAA?

No not really. I was given a chance with West Virginia. I believe that everything happens for s reason. I just did the best that I could with the situation.

Who was the best player that you played against that is in the NBA now?

Stephan Dennis played at Kutztown and beat us. He signed with the Brooklyn Nets. A real good point guard at 6.6.

How did West Virginia head coach Bryan Pooe help you become the player you are today at the pro ranks?

He helped me  a lot mentally. He showed me how to be a student of the game. He showed me not only to play the game, but think it.

You played together with ex ratiopharm Ulm forward Christian Burns in the Ukraine. What is the most incredible thing that you saw him do on the court there?

He is a very athletic player. I can´t even count all the things that he did. He was climbing over guys dunking over them

You led the Polish league in 2011 in scoring averaging 25ppg. Were you a bit disappointed that you didn´t go to  a higher league after this going to  a lower league with Portugal?

Not sad, but more surprised. Sometimes that is how the cards are dealt. Benfica Lisabon gave me the chance and I did the best out of it.

What was your nicest memory with Seth Doliboa with Benfica Lisabon?

Winning the title together last season.

Who wins a 1-1 you or Quantez Robertson?

I don´t know, but it would be a good game. It would be a tough game since Tez is our best defender.

What were the most free throws that you made in a row without missing?

30

What was your most crazy shot in  a game that went in?

I missed an open dunk and then restole the ball at mid court and with three seconds to play made  a turn around shot.

What was the last DVD movie that you saw?

Good Fellas. It is my favorite movie and I have seen it about 150 times.

Thanks for the chat Ted.

Leave a comment