Johnathon Jones(The Atlanta Hawks Should Bring In A Veteran To Help Him Along, But it Will Be Dennis Schroeders Team Within The Year

Johnathon Jones is a 24 year old 183cm guard from Lansing, Michigan that played recently for the Fraport Skyliners and finished the season for HKK Siroki WWin (Bosnia-Division 1) where he reached the final losing in five games. He played  15 games: 8.5ppg, 1.8rpg, 2.6apg, 1.0spg, FGP: 51.9%, 3PT: 33.3%, FT-3(85.0%); Adriatic League: 11 games: 9.2ppg, 1.8rpg, 2.5apg, 1.1spg, FGP: 55.3%, 3PT-1(52.0%), FT: 71.4%. He played at Oakland from 2006-2010 playing a total of 125 NCAA games. In hiss enior year, he played 35 games: 12.2ppg, 2.2rpg, 6.4apg, 1.9spg, FGP: 43.1%, 3PT: 32.5%, FT: 84.8%. He broke numerous school records like  Set school record in minutes played (4,846) and tied school record as the all-time winningest player over four-year career, 85 wins . Ranks third all-time in school history in steals (196) and 11th in league history . Stands 10th all-time in OU history in points (1,674) and 18th on the league all-time scoring list . His career .816 free throw percentage ranks 10th in league history and T4 in school history . First OU player to surpass 1,300 points and 800 assists. In 2010-2011, he started his professional basketball career with  MBK Rieker Komarno (Slovakia-Extraliga) and played there for two seasons. Last season he played 42 games: 16.3ppg, 3.7rpg, Assists-4(5.3apg), 1.8spg, FGP: 52.6%, 3PT: 41.4%, FT: 80.2%. He was Slovakian League Finalist -12, Slovakian League Regular Season Champion -12, and Slovakian Cup Finalist -12. He spoke to German Hoops about his season, Dennis Schroeder and the 2013 NBA draft.

You had an up and down last season playing first for the Fraport Skyliners and being released, but finishing strong in Bosnia reaching the final losing in five games. How do you describe your season summary?

Germany was a great experience, I had some solid games but we weren’t winning. Going to Bosnia and playing in the Adriatic league was a good second start to the season.

You might feel like a Jim Kelly of the 90s Buffalo Bills because like him, you only have reached finals in your career losing in Slovakia and Bosnia. How tough has it been not being able to win a title yet?

It’s always tough losing in the finals but its great experience for me and hopefully wherever I go next year I can finally win a title.

In Bosnia you played played  15 games: 8.5ppg, 1.8rpg, 2.6apg, 1.0spg, FGP: 51.9%, 3PT: 33.3%, FT-3(85.0%); Adriatic League: 11 games: 9.2ppg, 1.8rpg, 2.5apg, 1.1spg, FGP: 55.3%, 3PT-1(52.0%), FT: 71.4%. How happy were you with your stats and individual play?

My Bosnian league numbers are misleading I didn’t play a lot in those games because we were winning by so much so my coach would play younger players and people who didn’t get a lot of playing time. As for the Adriatic league I think I played well, coming into a team half through is always tough but I think I put up solid numbers.

You shot 52% from outside in the Adriatic league. Did you do extra shooting from downtown in Bosnia?

No I didn’t do anything different just playing more and getting into a rhythm. It was tough when I was in Germany going in and out of the game and not finding a flow.

How did you spend the NBA draft evening? Were there any surprises in your mind?

I just hung out with some of my friends and watched the draft, Bennett going #1 was a surprise to me. All week they have been talking about taking a 5 man.

When you were with the Fraport Skyliners, you contributed to a 61-59 win against the New Yorker Phantoms Braunschweig. What do you remember most from Dennis Schroeder?

Dennis Schroeder was a good player, he really knows how to use his speed. He uses the pick and roll well and has a great change of pace to his game.

Schroeder improved rapidly last season. You saw him in late October 2012. Did he look like  a potential NBA player to you?

When the coaches told me about him and his age I knew he had NBA potential.

What did you like most about his game?

I liked how he creates and gets into the lane. With his speed he can put a lot of pressure on the defense

How did you do against him on the court? What do you remember most from that night?

I think I did a good job on him when I was in there, that game I think Devin Gibson played him a lot but when I was matched up against him it was a good battle.

Schroeder is most compared to Rajon Rondo, but if you could pick another player that he reminds you of who would you say? Could one compare him to a Darren Collision in the body of Rondo?

I think the Darren Collision is a good comparison they are both quick and very active on the defensive end.

What do you like most about watching the NBA Draft?

I like seeing people dreams coming true and seeing people you played against getting their chance to be in the NBA

Were you surprised that Anthony Bennett was picked at number one?

I was surprised I thought the Cavs would take a big

Were you surprised how late Nerlens Noel was taken? Did it seem like NBA teams had Sam Bowie and Greg Oden disease?

No I think Noel will be solid he is athletic and that will translate well in the NBA

German Dennis Schroeder was chosen at #17 with the Atlanta Hawks. They have many free agents and Jeff Teague. Do you see the Hawks building around the 19 year old or bring in some free agent guards?

I think the Atlanta Hawks will bring in a veteran and help bring him a long but within the year it will be his team.

What is something you want to do this summer at home in the States that you haven´t been able to do for a while?

I just like spending time with my family and seeing friends I haven’t seen in awhile. But the main thing is having some of my moms cooking.

What was the last DVD movie that you saw?

Last movie I saw was Identity theft

Thanks John for the chat.

Leave a comment