Vaughn Duggins(Walter Tigers Tuebingen) Our Expectations Will Be higher In 2012-2013, So We Will Have To Perform Better

Vaughn Duggins is a 24 year old 190cm guard from Pendelton, Indiana that will be starting his second season in the Beko BBL with the Walter Tigers Tuebingen. He played at Wright State from 2006-2011 including his freshman year with 2011 Beko BBLMVP Dashaun Wood. In his senior season, the American played 33 games: 18.0ppg, 3.8rpg, 2.2apg, 1.5spg, FGP: 44.7%, 3PT: 31.1%, FT: 82.2%. Awards/Achievements in his basketball career have beenHorizon League Regular Season Runner-Up -07, 10, Horizon League Tournament Winner -07, Horizon League All-Newcomer Team -07, All-Horizon League 1st Team -08, 11, Horizon League Tournament Semifinals -09, Horizon League Tournament Finalist -10, All-Horizon League 2nd Team -10, Horizon League All-Defensive Team -10,and NABC Division I All-District 12 2nd Team -10, 11. Last season with the Tigers, he averaged 13,0ppg, 3,0rpg and 2,0apg in 34 games. He shot 50% from the field and 41% from outside. He spoke to German Hoops about basketball.

What do you like to do when its hot in Indianapolis?

We have a pool so whenever I feel hot, I just jump in.

After your season for the Walter Tigers Tuebingen, what was the first thing that you did when you got to the States?

I went home and went to sleep for a long time. I also made the rounds getting food at my favorite places like a Burrito place and some steak houses.

Do you already miss something from Tuebingen?

I miss the people in Tuebingen and some of the families I got close with. I am more sad now than I ever would have thought.

The Walter Tigers Tuebingen finished the season in 12th place with a record of 15-19. What is your season summary?

We started slow, but I am proud of the guys how we finished the season. Even though that we started 0-6, we never gave up and kept at it. We finished the season stronger than a lot of people thought.

If the team might have started 3-3, do you think the Tigers could have reached the playoffs?

Yes I think so. If we would have started 2-4 or 3-3 we might have played Alba Berlin or Bamberg in the first round.

The team got better as the season progressed. What was the biggest strength of head coach Igor Perovic?

He did a great job staying positive. He told us the season was long and the wins would come. We got good when we needed to get good. When other coaches might have gotten frustrated, he stayed calm.

What was your season highlight?

The win at home against FC Bayern Munich in front of a sold out crowd and also our first win in Bremerhaven of the season. I remember the guys jumping around in the locker room after as well as our coach.

Who was the most improved Tiger?

I think Adnan Hodzic and Josh Young. Hodzic started slow and needed some time to get used to the style, but he was consistent in second half of season and made the team better. Josh Young also improved a lot. Many thought that he wasn´t going to make it coming from PRO B, but he showed that he could play and was consistent.

Where does your good jumping ability come from? Were you born or did you work hard at getting that ability?

I think it is a combination of being gifted and working hard at it. My dad was a high jumper in high school and college. At college I also worked a lot at gaining explosiveness and just doing squats and jumping to get better at it.

Possibly the Tiger unsung hero was Reggie Redding. Where would you place him at his position in the Beko BBL?

I don´t even know what position he is. He is capable of playing 1-4. I will put him at #2 behind PJ Tucker. He was so value to us with his defense, passing and rebounding.

How were you able to improve your game?

I think that I can always improve my shooting and ball handling. I think that in my rookie season that I improved my decision making and thinking faster. I was able to make plays in my head before they actually happened. This will always get better with experience.

5 players are coming back next season. Is the goal the 2013 Beko BBL playoffs?

Yes that is our goal. We have a good core of guys coming back. The expectations will be higher in 2012-2013 so we will have to perform better.

What is the most important thing that you learned from head coach Igor Perovic?

I learned so much in the first month than ever before that. He enriched my basketball IQ through his multi tasking of my brain.

You grew up in Indiana. What was your childhood like?

I had much basketball and was really involved in any kind of sport. Every driveway in Indiana has a basket hoop.

Who were your NBA idols?

Michael Jordan and Reggie Miller. When I was growing up, the Pacers were very good. My dad also always told me about the great players from then like Julius Erving, Larry Bird and Magic Johnson and talked about their amazing plays. I started to watch their videos and what he said was true.

Did you ever visit French Lick?

I have never been there, but heard about many Larry Bird stories. You know what they say, if you blink, you might miss it.

What is your nicest memory with Dashaun Wood at Wright State?

Going to the NCAA tournament and beating Butler and winning the Horizon tournament. Holding up the trophy and ripping down the net will always be in my memory.

You were a freshman and Dashaun Wood a senior. Back then Wood beat you 9 out of 10 times at one on one. How would a game look like now?

I would get him in the post and he would get me with his quickness. It would be even now at 5-5 I think.

Dashaun Wood is a guy that plays with a lot of self confidence. Was it always like that already in college?

It all has to do with mentality. He already had a lot of self confidence at Wright State. He was a very good player his first three years, but the team wasn´t winning. Better players came his senior year and he really took off. And since then he has been so successful where ever he has played.

The Tigers lost both games against Alba Berlin. What always keeps amazing you about Dashaun Wood?

The fact that he keeps getting better. He was already very good as a freshman, but I never thought he would get this good. He dominated the league with Frankfurt and had very good teammates in Berlin. This is just a big tribute to his work ethic. I really look up to his game.

Will the early playoff loss to Wurzburg make Dashaun Wood stronger for next season?

I think it will. He is home now and angry. He wants to bring a title to Berlin. He will want to be even a better leader next season and try to bring Alba Berlin to the Bamberg level. You can never count out Dashaun Wood.

What NBA player amazes you the most on offense?

Kobe Bryant has been in the NBA so long and he has evolved his game that he can still get better at other parts of his game. He may have lost his explosiveness and athletic ability, but now has improved at changing speeds and his footwork. And with that is still dominating the game.

What does your summer workout plan look like?

I will work on my ball handling as I would also like to play some position one. I also will work on my shooting. I will work on my fitness and also be in the weight room. I will return to Tuebingen bigger and in better shape.

What is something that you would like to do in the summer that you haven´t done in a long time?

When I returned from Tuebingen I went to Florida and relaxed. I really enjoy music and will want to check out some concerts this summer.

What do you like most about Tuebingen?

I really like the scenary and I think that the south is prettier than the north.I like seeing the mountains and castles. Tuebingen is fun and not too small or too big.

What was the most free throws that you made in a row without missing?

I made 103 at Tuebingen in practice. After I made 50 in a row I kept going. When I hit 103, Igor Perovic told me to change baskets and then I missed my very first shot. I was made with him for about a week and a half.

What was your most crazy shot that you made in a game?

It was my freshman year against future NBA players Greg Oden and Mike Conley. It was a ¾ shot right before the en dof the first quarter to cut the score to 12-9. That was about s close as we got. We lost 72-43.

What is your favorite place in Indianapolis?

I like being anywhere, but mostly like being near the Indy 500 race track where friends of mine live.

What was the last DVD movie that you saw?

Takers with Paul Walker.

Thanks Vaughn for the chat.

Leave a comment