Frank Robinson: The Artland Dragons Will Have A Lot Of Success This Year Because The Locker Room Is So Close

Frank Robinson is 27 year old 193cm guard that was born in Compton, California and grew up in Los Angeles and just ended a short stint in germany with the Artland Dragons. He played at Cal Fullerton (NCAA) from 2005-2008. In his senior year, he played games: 15.8ppg, 6.9rpg, 2.5apg, 1.2spg, FGP: 45.1%, 3Pts: 34.2%, FT: 73.8%. In 2008-2009, he started with NBA club Atlanta Hawks (NBA), left in Oct.’08, then moved to Union Olimpija Ljubljana (Slovenia-Liga UPC, starting five): Adriatic League: 17 games: 4.5ppg, 1.5rpg, 1.1spg; Euroleague: 8 games: 6.8ppg, 3.3rpg, in Feb.’09 signed at EnBW Ludwigsburg (Germany-1.Bundesliga, starting five): 11 games: 11.0ppg, 4.9rpg, 1.4apg, 1.3spg, FGP: 53.2%, 3PT: 27.0%, FT: 73.5%. In 2009-2010, he started with the Atlanta Hawks (NBA) again, only pre-season, in Dec.’09 moved to Los Angeles D-Fenders (D-League, starting five): 38 games: 12.4ppg, 4.1rpg, 3.7apg, 1.9spg, FGP: 49.8%, 3PT: 24.3%, FT: 69.2%. In the summer of 2010, he played NBA Summer League in Las Vegas (LA Lakers).Last season, he played for Maccabi Haifa (Israel-Premier League): EuroChallenge: 14 games: 9.3ppg, 4.1rpg, 1.3apg, 1.9spg, FGP: 48.6%, 3PT: 30.0%, FT: 59.5%; Israeli League: 28 games: 12.9ppg, 4.3rpg, 2.7apg, Steals-2(2.4spg), FGP: 54.4%, 3PT: 30.4%, FT: 61.1%. He started this season with Sokhumi Tbilisi (Georgia-Superleague) Eurochallenge Qualifying Round: 2 games: 16.5ppg, 4.0rpg, 2.0apg, 1.0bpg. He spoke to German Hoops about the disappointment of not being able to play with the Artland Dragons.

You had a short stay with the Artland Dragons. How dissappointed are you that you had to leave the club because of basketball politics?

Artland is a really good team , I was very disappointed this was one of the best group of guys I have ever been around. From coaching staff to players, I honestly feel like I have met some life time friends here. The situation is tough and it hurts more because it has nothing to do with actual skill or talent. The Artland Dragons will have a lot of success this year because the locker room is so close.

Why didn’t your old club give you clearance?

I honestly dont know the reason, I just pray that the situation gets resolved soon and doesn’t affect my career any further.

Didnt you have a feeling coming to Germany that this clearance problem wasn´t going to let you play a single game?

I did have a feeling only because of how everything was done in Georgia. Even though my situation was tough there I pray that they continue to build the league because all of the people there are not bad, it was just a bad situation that we did not prepare for. So I wish success to the rest of the league.

How difficult was it sitting on the bench against Braunschweig and not being able to play?

Miles you know me, I feel the game and enjoy it. It was one of the hardest things I have ever had to do just because I love playing so much. I was extremely happy that they got the win but wish I could play. The shot Dave made was incredible to win the game.

What was your impression of the Artland Dragons? They won their first game in the Eurochallenge. How far can they go there and in the Beko BBL?

I would not be surprised if they make it to the final four in both.

Is David Holston going to be the best point guard in the Beko BBL this season?

If not the best he will be in top company with Bobby Brown. Both point guards really lead their teams. Anthony HIllard and Anthony King compliment Dave really well though.

What is the next step for Frank Robinson? EnBW Ludwigsburg could use your services?

I should know soon, everyone knows Ludwigsburg is my second home and maybe one day a reunion will be in the future we will have to see what happens.

Thanks Frank for the chat

Leave a comment