Steven Wright Reflects On The 2009-2010 Season

Steven Wright is a 26 year old 191cm guard from Dayton, Ohio. He is playing his third season in the BEKO BBL for The Walter Tigers Tuebingen. He is an extremely athletic combo guard with great quickness, an explosive leaper and has great ball handling and passing skills. Wright hurts you with his penetration or a pull up for the mid ranged jumper, pick and roll, coming off picks for the shot, and when left open he’ll hit the three pointer also. At the same time he is an unselfish player who creates scoring opportunities for others and has a very good ability to finish around the basket. The 26 year old american is a great defensive player because of his quickness and athletic abilities and is a great and mature person with a good work ethic.

He played at Bowling Green from 2002-2006. He finished his NCAA career at Northern Kentucky in 2006-2007 averaging 16,8 ppg., 5,3 rpg., 3,2 apg., 1,6 spg., FG: 46.1%, 3PT: 34,6%, FT 77,5%. In 2007, he came to Germany an played for The New York Phantoms Braunschweig averaging 7.4ppg, 2.6rpg, 2.3apg, 1.6spg, 2FGP: 44.9%, 3PT: 32.6%, FT: 75.5% in 34 games. Last season, he helped lead The Paderborn Baskets into the BEKO BBL playoffs averaging 7.8ppg, 2.8rpg, 1.9apg, FGP: 40.8%, 3PT: 38.2%, FT: 77.2% in 36 games.

He recently joined The Walter Tigers Tuebingen and spoke to German Hoops about his season in Tuebingen.

How would you rate your season with The Walter Tigers Tuebingen coming in so late in the season?

I wouldn’t rate my season high at all. This was the worse season I’ve ever had since playing the game of basketball. It’s nothing personal with the coach or my teammates I’m pointing the finger at myself. Also, coming to a team in the middle of the season was tough. I didn’t want to come in and try to do too much. I wanted to fit right in. I tried to let the game come to me while playing in games. Most of the time I stood around waiting for the right time and it never came. But at some point you have to be the aggressor and I didn’t do that in all the games. I am definitely a much better player.

The Walter Tigers Tuebingen were on a good route going to the playoffs winning six games in a row, but finished the season 6-6. Why was the team so consistent in the last two months?

Our coaching staff got us prepared for games. As a team we wanted to win and show teams in the league that we can compete at the highest level in the BBL.

Why wasn´t Tuebingen a playoff team in the 2009-2010 BEKO BBL season?

Well we lost 3 games on buzzer beaters and blew a 10 point lead one game with 2:55 to go. Thats a total of 4 games that we could have easily won and put ourseleves in the position to make the playoffs.

The team had a solid roster. What was missing in the team to possibly make the playoffs?

Not to take anything away from my teammates. I thought we could have used another big man to help out under the boards. I think overall we was solid but at times we had mental lapse and rushed a few things on offense.

Was the team lacking support under the boards?

I don’t think we was lacking support. Dane Watts, Romeo, Kenny, and Sasha did a great job. Sometimes the guards helped out down there.

How difficult was your season with Tuebingen? You came from the bench. How tough was that?

It was very tough. I was a starter for 2 seasons in this league. I always started ball games since I’ve been playing the game of basketball. As a player you should want to start in the games. If not you shouldnt be playing. Growing up a child being around by brothers and friends we always talked about starting the game off. Then once we got a little older they say it ain’t about who starts, it’s about who finishes the game lol. I mean either one is a great line.

You also were not able to fully be concentrated on basketball because of personal reasons. Should the club have been more supportive in this time?

No I wasn’t able to fully concentrated on the game of basketball. I have a daughter and wife and this was the 1st time I was away from them. They mean everything to me. Growing up my parents wasnt always there for me. I told myself once I have a child I would always be there for them no matter what. Me being away felt like I just left them behind and it kind of bothered me. Not trying to put the club down or anything but I felt that they could have handle some things differently so that my family could have came this season. But I don’t want to discuss that part.

How would you describe your relationship to coach Igor Perovic?

Coach Igor is a good guy. I mean there is nothing negative to say about him. He is hard working, dedicated, and cares for his players. He was not in control of the club situation he tried to help get my family here.

What were you able to learn from Igor Perovic this season?

Yes, I was able to learn from coach this season. He was a point guard when he played in his career. He was a smart player and he controlled the game.

What was it like playing with Bane Ratkovica? What could you learn from him?

Bane is my guy. I thought he was one of the top 3 Point Guard in the league this season. He took his game to another level this year. Bane did it all this season passed, scored, and lead our team to wins. I wish I could learn how to draw fouls like him coming off the ball screens lol.

Will we see Ratkovica with an Euroleague team soon?

I hope so Bane is a smart point guard he knows how to control the game. I want to see him on a euroleague team of course thats the highest level of play. He can definitely play at the level if given the chance.

What were you able to improve in your game this season?

Like I said before this season was upsetting for me as a player. I number was down in all aspect. But I will work hard this summer to be a better player. I have confidence in myself. I will hold my head high regardless of what happens at the end of the season. I know I can play this game.

What was your nicest memory with The Walter Tigers Tuebingen?

Well I will never forget anybody I’ve have played with. But I probably would say Michael Jenkins. He picked me up and dropped me off from practice everyday this season. He was my cab driver. Thanks mike lol

Who will make the BEKO BBL semi finals and who will win it all?

I like Berlin, Gotingent, Bremenhaven, and Oldenburg. I think Berlin will win it all.

Would you like to play in Germany next season?

Yes I would love to play in germany again next season. We will see what happens this summer.

Would you even be willing to play in the PRO A?

Yes I would be willing to play Pro A if the situation is right. I would want to play on a team that could compete to get back into the BBL. I wouldn’t drop a level just to mess around. I would want to win wherever I play.

What was the Tuebingen play of the year? I am feeling a certain Romeo Travis play? Lol

Romeo, Mike, Bane, Dane, and Sasha made some crazy plays this season. I dont know who to choose from. But I will go with Bane he made some nice passes this season. Rome did have a lot of crazy dunks this season.

What was the last DVD that you saw?

The last DVD I watched was More than a Game Big Movie Star Rome and company lol

Thanks Steve for the chat. Have a nice summer.

One comment

  1. I like Steven Wright- he is a good player with great handles. His shot selection is whats gonna keep him out of basketball games. He needs to be a little smarter with the ball. Maybe a starting job in the Pro A next season can help him turn his game around. But I would rather have him than Ratkovica- cause this guy is a horrible pg…Everytime I watch him play I’m amazed how many times he turnes the ball over. If he makes a euroleague roster I will literally “eat a broomstick..” (german saying: “Fress Ich nen Besen”):-)))))

Leave a comment