Jerome Bridgewater(Ratiopharm Ulm) 2009-2010 BBL Diary Entry #1

Today was the day, I was waiting for such a long time in my life. Today, I have had my first professional basketball practice with some of bridgewaterteampicthe best athletes in Germany.

Not just that it was my first proffesional practice, it was in front of a crowd of 500 people. It was very weird for me. I cannot even remember the last time I was playing in front of a crowd like that in a real game. It was very new too me. Unfortunately I was very nervous at the beginning and had some troubles to find my shot at all. We did some transition drills, played some three on three and at the end a five on five pick up game.

Our new team is very young and athletic.We have very exciting players with Rocky Trice, Christian Burns and Coleman Collins and also John Bryant. I think the crowd did like what they have seen today. We are an almost complete new team. The only starter that returned was Lee Humphrey. It is very exciting for me to get the chance to guard and get guarded by a player like Lee Humphrey. I used to watch him on the screens while I was in the states and while he was playing for the University of Florida. I think it will be very helpful to compete against those guys. I of course, also have had some struggles today. But I think i am going to get used to it very soon.

I am really happy to be here in Ulm right now and I think this is the best place to be for me right now. I do really like Mike Taylor, who had his birthday yesterday. He is really a good Coach and human being. His outer experience is so positive and everywhere he goes, stands in positive energy and atmosphere. I think we will have a lot of fun this season with this fun team.
We will go two-a-days from now on for the next few weeks. I am excited to see if I can keep up with such a hard trainings plan. Now I have to get some rest and get ready for the next day.

One comment

  1. hey jerome, I was one of the 500 people watching your first practice with Mike T.
    You are a very talented young player.
    Good luck for this season.

Leave a comment