Brad Buckman(Frankfurt Was A Great Experience And The Fans Were Great)

Brad Buckman is a 28year old 203cm power forward from Austin, Texas playing in Turkey currently for Tofas Bursa. He played at Texas (NCAA) from 2002-2006 with current NBA player TJ Ford and ex NBA player PJ Tucker. In his senior year, he played 33 games: 9.5ppg, 7.0rpg, 1.4apg, 1.7bpg, FGP: 43.7%, 3PT: 30.3%, FT: 76.6%. In 2006, he was drafted by the Drafted by Albany Patroons (CBA,1rd(9). In 2006-2007, he played for the Austin Toros (D-League): 42 games: 6.6ppg, 4.3rpg, FGP: 38%, 3PT: 27.5%, FT: 71.2%. In 2007-2008, he played for Univ Mobitelco Cluj Napoca (Romania-Div.A, starting five): 5 games: 16.0ppg, 7.4rpg, 1.4apg, Blocks-1(2.6bpg). In 2008-2009, he played for Keravnos Strovolou (Cyprus-Division A): EuroChallenge: 4 games: 4.8ppg, 3.8rpg; Cypriot League: 9.2ppg, 4.5rpg, left team in Dec.’08, in Jan.’09 moved to Altshuler Saham Galil Gilboa (Israel-Premier League): 16 games: 7.3ppg, 4.6rpg, FGP: 52.5%, 3PT: 31.0%, FT: 51.9%. In 2009-2010, he played for Kepez Bld Antalya (Turkey-TBL, starting five): 25 games: 10.3ppg, 6.0rpg, 1.0apg, FGP: 59.8%, 3PT: 34.6%, FT: 68.8%. Last season he played for Deutsche Bank Skyliners Frankfurt German League: 6 games: 8.3ppg, 5.3rpg, FGP: 57.1%, 3PT: 28.6%, FT: 56.0%; parted ways in Oct.’10, in Jan.’11 moved to Antalya Buyuksehir Belediye (Turkey-TBL): 13 games: 19.6ppg, 9.0rpg, FGP: 56.8%, 3PT: 45.2%, FT: 78.7% Some achievements in his basketball career have been, NCAA Final Four -03, Big 12 Conf. All-Freshman Team -03, Big 12 Regular Season Finalist -03, 04, Big 12 Tournament Finalist -04, 06, NCAA Sweet 16 -04, NABC All-NCAA District 9 2nd Team -05, All-Big 12 2nd Team -05, Big 12 Regular Season Champion -06, All-Big 12 3rd Team -06, NCAA Sweet 8 -06, Eurobasket.com All-Romanian League 2nd Team -08, Romanian League Finalist -08, and Israeli Premier League Semifinals -09. He spoke to German Hopps about basket in Germany.

You are playing your third season in Turkey and first for Tofas Bursa. The team is fighting for the playoffs, but has been struggling of late. What has been the main problems for the team?

We had lost four games in a row before the last win against Olin Erdirne. We have had injuries and we brought in a new point guard and we are trying to figure each other out.

What does the team have to do better in order to reach the playoffs?

We have to play together more.

The team brought in Taurean Green recently. How does he make the team better?

He is a great player that can shoot well despite being a pass first guard. He expands the offense and has done a great job so far. I think that he will be a big help.

You are currently leading the team in scoring. Is this a task that you got at the start of the season or something that came during the season?

I was top scorer last season for Antalya averaging 20ppg. I really figured myself out last season and came into this season with that mentality of being able to score with my inside/out game. My coach really has let me play my game and my teammates have been super as well.

You played for Antalya the last two seasons and now your in Bursa. How are the places different?

Antalya was on the beach and the weather was great. The climate is totally different in Bursa. It is more snowy here and a famous mountain. Russians like to come here to ski. I like Bursa and the fans are great.

Could one almost say that Turkey is your second home? Could you play here for many more years?

Who knows. Turkey has been great for me and the people treat very well here. The people are big fans of sport in general and the league has improved each season that I have been here. I will have to see what my best option is this summer.

Tofas Bursa has four Americans, two Croatians and the rest are Turks. Which non American has impressed you the most this season?

Every player has done a great job this season. There seems to always be another guy stepping up in each game. We just have great chemistry. The two Croatians are real nice guys.

The most exciting of the season was the 97-96 win against Efes Pilsen where you played against NBA players Sasha Vujacic and Ersan Illyasova. What memories do you have from that game?

You always get up against atop team. We had been down coming into the game losing some unnecessary games but we came to play. It was a battle form start to end and the fans were so excited at the end.

Did you play more against Estaban Batista or Illyasova?

I played against both on the pick and roll and there was a lot of switching going on.

How tough was it playing against Illyasova? You held your own with 23 points and nine rebounds while he had 19 points and 10 rebounds.

He is very tough, because he is so talented. He plays great inside and out and there is a reason why he is in the NBA. I enjoyed playing against him.

Who was the toughest player that you played against in Turkey this season?

There have been many tough players. Each team has a few tough guys. Vujacic was tough.

What was your fondest memory playing for the Deutsche Bank Skyliners?

Just being able to play for that organization was great. We all got along well. It was a great experience and the fans were great.

How tough was it accepting the decision that the team picked Joe Dabbert over you?

It was tough. I really wanted to stay. I liked my teammates and the coach. I felt like I had a good game to stay, but I have no hard feelings. They had to do what they had to do. In the end all turned out well as I went to Antalya and reached the playoffs as did they.

Who was the toughest opponent that you played against in Germany.

Bamberg. It I cool that my buddy PJ Tucker plays there now.

Did you feel a lot of pressure having to perform for Antalya after coming form Frankfurt last season?

A fire was lit inside me after Frankfurt let me go. When you loose a job, you wonder if you will get another. I went to Antalya thinking it could be my last job. I really wanted to prove myself and it all worked out as I played well and we reached the playoffs.

You played at Texas(NCAA) form 2002-2006 and left before Kevin Durant came. Will he be the bets player on the planet in three years?

He is an amazing player. He is so talented who knows how good he can really get. He will be remembered for ages.

You played together with TJ Ford at Texas. Did you know that he would become such a good NBA player when you played with him in the NCAA?

I knew he would be good. He was the best point guard that I ever played together with. You cant believe how fats he is until you see him. He is smart and can find the open man so well. H eled Texas to the Final 4. He made a world of a difference my first year.

He isn´t playing so much with the Spurs, but making 8,5 million a year. Is he worth that?

He is worth every penny. It is rare to find a guy as quick and as smart as him.

What is your fondest memory with ex NBA player PJ Tucker at Texas(NCAA)

We are really good friends. We always hung out together. I still talk to him today. Just the time with him are my fondest memories.

Who are your early 2012 NCAA Final 4 picks?

Duke, Michigan State, Syracuse and I have to go with my school Texas even if I don´t know if they will make the tournament.

Have you jumped on the Linsanity train?

It is hard keeping track not being able to see the games, but it is amazing how far he is come after being off the radar for his whole career and then showing the world what he can do. He has given the best example of not giving up and what can happen.

What is your favorite Turkish dish?

It is a special dish in Bursa called Iskender which is beef on bread with yogurt and tomato sauce.

What was the last DVD movie that you saw?

Star Trek.

Thanks Brad for the chat.

Leave a comment