Chris Frazier (Rostock Seawolves) At Artland I Learned To Not Promise Anything That Isn´t Guaranteed

Chris Frazier is a 27 year old 182cm shooting guard that hails from Heidelberg, Germany, but also has the American citizenship and is going into his fourth professional season and first with the Rostock SeaWolves. He started his basketball career at TV Schwetzingen (Germany-2.Regionalliga) before moving to the States to play at  Dubuque (NCAA3) from 2010-2014 playing a total of 107 games and as a senior played 26 games averaging 13.7ppg, 2.5rpg, 1.7apg, FGP: 43.8%, 3PT: 42.0%, FT: 88.0%. He came back to Germany in 2014 and played with the Otto Baskets Magdeburg (Germany-ProB) playing 20 games averaging 16.1ppg, 4.5rpg, 1.7apg, 1.1spg, FGP: 45.0%, 3PT: 37.1%, FT: 80.6%. In the 2015-2016 season he made the jump to the BBL playing for the  Crailsheim Merlins (Germany-BBL) playing 13 games averaging 2.3ppg. Last season he played for the Artland Dragons (Germany-ProB) playing 25 games averaging 13.0ppg, 2.3rpg, 1.4apg, FGP: 54.9%, 3PT: 39.7%, FT: 79.4%. He spoke to German Hoops about Basketball.

Chris thanks for talking to German Hoops Where are you at the moment and how has your summer been?

Hi Miles, thanks for having me. I am currently in Rüsselsheim enjoying my family and working on getting in the best shape that I have ever been.

Congrats on signing with the Rostock Seawolves. You stated you wanted to come already two seasons ago, but that didn´t work. Instead you got a BBL chance with the Crailsheim Merlins. Are you in a way happy that you hadn´t signed with Rostock 2 years ago?

 Well Rostock is where I really wanted to go because I knew that they had something special going on there. I didn´t expect to make the jump from Pro B to the BBL so quickly. I wouldn´t say I was happy that I didn´t sign to Rostock, but it is hard passing up a chance in the BBL.

Rostock have the passion and support and know how to reach the Pro A. Was a combination of all this a big reason why you decided to sign on the dotted line?

Oh YEAH! As soon as I got there I felt the energy in the town itself. Coach Ralf and some of the players made me feel welcome right away. Spending some of the day with our manager Jens helped a lot also, because he brings a lot of energy to this project and I want to help build on that.

You averaged 31 minutes last season with the Artland Dragons and belonged to the leaders on the team. Do you see yourself incorporating a similar role this season?

 I will take whatever role Coach Ralf wants me to take. I felt that I had a very average year last season. I owe it to myself and Seawolvescity the best version of myself.

You will be sharing minutes and possibly playing on the floor at the same time with talented German Jeffery Martin. How Excited are you to be playing with him this season?

 Me and Jeff don´t know each other yet. I have heard a lot of good things and I watched some game film of him from this past season. He is just as hungry as I am and I am excited to play ball alongside him.

How do you feel have you matured as a player in the last year with the Artland Dragons?

 I would say so yes! I have always been on the mature side of the game. I was humbled in Artland. I had to take a different type of role and I learned from it.

You had a series to forget against Wurzburg not having your scoring touch. Was this series one that took you long to forget?

 No, not really because a good player knows that there are ups and downs and I happened to play my worst basketball. I accepted the fact that we lost and promised via interview that I will come back next season a different player.

Artland like Rostock have huge ambitions to move up, but underwent a disappointing season last year. How do you feel did you learn from this season that will help you be successful with Rostock?

 I learned to not promise anything that isn´t guaranteed. All season last year I said that we would get it together and move up to the Pro A. This year I will produce more on the court rather than telling fans we will move up.

You played with talented American point guard Matt Reid last season. What long lasting memory will you continue to have remembering your experience with him on and off the court?

Matt Reid will probably be one of the best teammates ill have in my career. He is a leader and he always knew what he was talking about when he would correct my mistakes when I made them. Me and him will keep in touch throughout my career and I know he will always be a phone call away.

Do you feel like the Artland Dragons will go the right route this season? How can they achieve greatness this season with head coach Florian Hartenstein?

 

 No comment. I am only focused on what we are trying to build here in Rostock as a Club.

 

 

In the 2015-2016 season you played in the BBL with the Crailsheim Merlins .  Did it feel like you were living a Cinderella story going from the Pro B to the BBL?

 

I definitely was living my own Cinderella because like you said I went to a small D3 which I am proud to be a spartan for life.

 

You originally didn´t even want to be a professional basketball player, but just wanted to work after school. How thankful are you that can play professional basketball when there 1000´s players wanting to live their dream of being a professional basketball player and can´t for whatever reasons?

 

I couldn’t believe that I almost didn’t want to play pro ball. That’s what helped me make the decision because I know a lot of people don’t get the chance to play at a high level and I didn’t want to live that “what if” life

 

 

You obviously know how to shoot the ball. Which great shooters past and present do you look up to and do try to take something form their mechanics and incorporate it into your game?

 

Well of course now in the present it will be Steph Curry. I think it’s amazing how he creates for him self to get his shot off, I try to copy some of his game, but I still have a ways to go with that

When you look back at that experience with the Crailsheim Merlins and remember the quality of players on the team, are you disappointed that the club only had 6,4 minutes per game for you? Do you feel like you deserved to have had more?

 I know that I can play at that level. I have shown that I can be a good spot up shooter in the BBL. I also had to come back from an injury which led me to miss the preseason. So I understand why I didn´t play at first. I thought I could have gotten more chances, but we were fighting to stay in the league so I can completely understand.

You obviously don´t remember much when you lose by 47 points to FC Bayern Munich and 35 points against Ludwigsburg, but you did score 9 points in each game. Are these two personal bright spots that you will always remember most from that season?

 My most memorable moment in when I signed the contract to play in the BBL, but yes those games will always be with me as especially against Bayern!!!

When looking back at your BBl season with the Crailsheim Merlins, how do you feel did you benefit most practicing on a daily basis with guys like guards Jordan Callahan, Shy Ely and veterans Adam Chubb, Patrick Flomo and Konrad Wysocki?

 Oh man, those guys helped me a lot and always supported me. Guarding Jordan and Shy was a challenge, but they made me a better overall player and helped me adjust to the speed of the BBL. Adam, Flomo, and Konrad showed me how to carry myself in any situation.

Who was the toughest guard that you remember battling head to head in the BBL?

HaHa well when I was able to play I would say, Bryce Taylor. Battling those guys in practice was tougher though.

You played four years at Dubuque in the NCAA3. You were born and raised in Germany. What kind of adjustment was it for you coming to the United States on and off the court? Do you feel yourself more like a German or American?

Haha that’s kind of funny because when I was at Dubuque I had to get used to the weather there. But when I was in the states I felt more German, but when I’m here I feel more American. I didn’t really have to adjust too much to the states. Well I went the NCAA route because I wasn’t good enough at the time to go the German route.

You achieved very much in your college career at Dubuque and are the 22nd player in UD history to reach 1,000 points and sit 13th all-time on the Spartan scoring list. How important was it for you coming and going the NCAA route?

 

Being on the all-time scoring list was very important to me because I had a lot of doubters that said I couldn’t play at the college level.

 

How did Robbie Sieverding prepare and groom you best for a professional basketball career?

 

Coach Rob helped me by straight up telling me what I needed to work on, he and coach Bierman gave me summer workouts for those 4 years and I did them and it helped me a lot. When I first got to UD I was a spot up shooter, when I was done there I could create for myself.

 

Who would win a one on one in practice you or Mitch Michaelis as seniors?

Haha me and Mitch would probably go back and forth, we were both competitors and we both hated to lose

 

How does a normal summer work out day look like for you on and off the court and what are the main things you will be working on in your game?

 I am not that typical player that says they wake up at 4 a.m in the morning. I start when my body feels ready, I go to the gym and I am on the bike for 30 minutes, Lift, then another 30 minutes of cardio. After that I either work on my weaknesses or I play 5 on 5 for about 2 more hours. Ballhandling is my main focus this offseason.

If you had to construct your own NBA Rushmore which 4 heads would you chose?

 Jordan, Lebron, Kobe, Shaq

Lebron James failed to win his fourth NBA title and has three to Michael Jordan´s siy. There are so many experts that keep proclaiming that Lebron is the best of all-time. Where do you rate him in the neverending debate about who the best of all-time is?

 I didn´t grow up watching Michael Jordan. So for me Lebron is the best player of all time as an overall player as a champion and competitor its Jordan. We can argue about it all day…but I am picking Lebron.

There has been criticism of Russell Westbrook to be focusing more on rebounding to help inflate his stats and possibilities of getting triple doubles instead of focusing on his defensive assignments. Do you feel that this is a fair assessment to the player Russell Westbrook?

 I agree with the rebounds, but he still averaged a triple double so I will take nothing away from him. He is the MVP.

How do you summarize the 2017 NBA Draft. What sleepers do you see playing a role in the NBA?

I think Dennis Smith Jr. is a sleeper and I wish my Knicks would have picked him! I am also hoping that Isiah Hartenstein does well because we need some more Germans in the league.

What was the last movie that you saw?

 The book of Isiah ( Celtic Isiah Docu )

Thanks Chris for the chat.

Leave a Reply

