Andre Calvin (Artland Dragons) There Is No Need For Me To Go Out And Experiment New Things

Andre Calvin is a 32 year old 201cm forward from Michigan that is going into his ninth professional season and firs with the Artland Dragons. Last season he played for the Nuernberg Falcons BC (Germany-ProA) playing 28 games averaging 11.9ppg, 4.8rpg, 1.3apg, FGP: 51.8%, 3PT: 35.4%, FT: 70.7%. In Germany he also played for teams like Erdgas Ehingen, BV Chemnitz and BG Karlsruhe. He made the jump to the BBL in 2015 with the  Crailsheim Merlins (Germany-BBL) playing 27 games averaging 7.9ppg, 3.4rpg, FGP: 48.7%, 3PT: 33.3%, FT: 54.2%. In his first two professional seasons he played in Austria and Portugal. Prior to turning professional he played at Drake(NCAA) and as a senior played  32 games averaging 16.2ppg, 6.1rpg, FGP: 51.4%, 3Pts: 32.7%, FT: 67.5%. He spoke to German Hoops about basketball.

Andre thanks for talking to German Hoops. Where are you at the moment and how has your summer been?

Thanks for the interview Miles. My summer has been great, got married and my son was born in late June.

Congrats on signing with the Artland Dragons. You have played in many nice gyms in Germany, but never in the Artland arena. How excited are you to be playing here and what have you heard about the atmosphere?

Thank you, I am excited to be able to play there after everything I have heard about Artland from former teammates. I heard that they’re professional, the arena is always full, and the facilities are amazing.

You have been a very consistent performer in the Pro A averaging 12,5ppg and 6,5rpg in your five seasons. However you are going to the Artland Dragons who are in the Pro B. Are you taking a step back?

I don’t think so, Artland has things to offer that some teams can’t.

Was one of the main reasons why you signed with the Artland Dragons because of their very ambitious goals of wanting to reach the Pro A this season?

 

I have a family to think about now and I feel like they understood that. I feel like this could be a good situation for us all.

 

How excited are you to be working with a guy like Oregon native Florian Hartensten who had a long career in the BBL and recently watched his son Isaiah get drafted by the Houston Rockets?

 

 

I am excited, when I took a visit to Artland we talked about the situation there and what he expects this season.

 

Do you feel pressure like you have to perform above and beyond instead of only very good what you did in the Pro A?

 

 

No, coach told me what he expects from me this season and if I do that every game Ill be fine.

You will be coming to a team that will have the necessary strong parts to make a run for the playoffs. Will your experience and mentor qualities be something that will be one of your most strongest gifts that you will be able to give to the younger players?

 

I think so

 

 

You have been a solid and consistent scorer wherever you have played, but being that you are going down a level, do you see yourself possibly being that go to guy and would you be comfortable with that?

 

Coach has an idea on what he wants me to do out there. If I stick my role and win games. I am fine with that.

 

 

Do you feel like you might be able to incorporate other things in your game that you didn´t necessarily had to show on other teams or will the fans see the regular Andre Calvin that we have always seen or a new kind of Andre Calvin?

There is no need for me to go out there and experiment new things, coach watched film and liked what he saw.

 

 

 

How content have you been with your outside shooting? In our last interview in 2013 you stated that that was a hidden strength in your game? After poor shooting seasons with BG Karlsruhe and BV Chemnitz, you were around 35% with Crailsheim and Nurnberg. Do you see yourself making another jump this season with your shot?

 

That is the goal this season, to be better than I was last season.

 

 

 

 

 

Two seasons ago you made the jump to the BBL with the  Crailsheim Merlins (Germany-BBL) playing 27 games averaging 7.9ppg, 3.4rpg, FGP: 48.7%, 3PT: 33.3%, FT: 54.2%. The club had a horrible season, but what did you enjoy most about the whole experience?

 

My teammates, we had a good group of guys and I enjoyed being around all of them.

 

Even though you lost the game 90-85, will your 20 point game against Alba Berlin be one of your fondest memories in the BBL? What do you remember most from that game?

 

No, I enjoyed the whole experience in the BBL. Playing in arenas that I saw on TV years prior playing in the Pro A. What I remember most about that game was the Intensity Berlin played with.

 

 

 

Who was the toughest player that you battled against in the BBL that season at your position?

 

Raymar Morgan

 

 

Last season you played with the Nurnberg Falcons. Your teammate was German youngster Moritz Sanders. How much potential does he have and could he become a solid BBL player?

 

I think he will be a BBL player, he can do a lot of things on the court for a guy his size.

 

 

In our interview in 2013 you stated that a summer workout day would look like this. “I get up at 4 am to do basketball drills, lift, and run. I come back in the afternoon and play pick up”. Is this still your routine or has it changed due to age?

A lot of things have a changed since I have become a father, so now I try to spend as much time as I can with my family. So workout times are random.

 

 

 

You were reunited with your good buddy and ex Drake teammate Josh Young in Nurnberg last season. He is still unsigned. How was Josh Young the player different last season compared to Josh Young at Drake?

I only got to play with him for one year but his game has changed a lot. I don’t know how the season would’ve ended in Nurnberg if he didn’t join the team. He was big for us.

 

If you had to construct your own NBA Rushmore which 4 heads would you chose?

 

Michael Jordan, Magic, Shaq, LeBron

 

Lebron James failed to win his fourth NBA title an dhas three to Michael Jordan. There are so many experts that keep proclaiming that Lebron is the best of all-time. Where do you rate him in the neverending debate about who the best of all-time is?

I don’t compare the two

 

 

There has been criticism of Russell Westbrook to be focusing more on rebounding to help inflate his stats and possibilities of getting triple doubles instead of focusing on his defensive assignments. Do you feel that this is a fair assessment to the player Russell Westbrook?

 

What he did was special. Getting triple doubles is not easy

 

 

What was the last movie that you saw?

Juice.

 

Thanks Andre for the chat.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

