Dee Davis (Giessen 46ers) I Believe I Can Adjust To Whatever Style Of Play But I Enjoy Getting Up And Down The Court

Dee Davis is a 23 year old 183cm point guard from Bloomington, Indiana playing his third professional season and first in Germany with The Giessen 46ers. He played as a rookie with Rogaska Crystal (Slovenia-Telemach League) playing 18 games averaging 13.2ppg, 2.4rpg, 3.6apg, 1.3spg, FGP: 48.8%, 3PT: 29.0%, FT: 76.9%. Last season he remained with  Rogaska Crystal (Slovenia-Liga NovaKBM playing 35 games: Score-3(16.3ppg), 2.9rpg, Assists-4(5.0apg), 1.5spg, FGP: 54.1%, 3PT: 37.8%, FT: 75.6%. He played at Xavier and as a senior played 35 games averaging 9.2ppg, 2.5rpg, 6.1apg, 1.3spg, FGP: 46.0%, 3PT: 33.0%, FT: 70.4%. He spoke to German Hoops about basketball.

Dee thanks for talking to German Hoops. Where are you at the moment and how has your summer been going?

Hello at the moment I am home spending time with my family and friends in Bloomington Indiana when I’m from. Having a good start to my summer.

Congrats on signing with German EasyCredit BBL team Giessen 46ers. What do you know in general about the German basketball and it´s country?

I’ve heard that the German league is very competitive and is has regarded as one of the better leagues in the world to play professionally basketball. I’m very excited for the this opportunity.

After two strong seasons in Slovenia, you have made the next step to the higher league EasyCredit BBL. What were your main reasons for signing with Giessen?

It was a good opportunity to further my pro career in a respected league. Also it’s less stress throughout the summer worried about what team I’m going too

Did you have any talks with new head coach Ingo Freyer? What kind of impression did you get of him?

I haven´t had a chance to talk to him yet.

He is known of playing a kind of run of gun style. Is this a style that you can live out your strengh as a player?

I believe I can adjust to whatever style of play, but I enjoy getting up and down the court

 

As a senior you were more of a playmaker at Xavier where as a rookie in Slovenia more of a scorer and last season a scorer and playmaker. How would you classify yourself as a point guard and to what NBA player would you describe your game to?

 

I would describe myself as an aggressive playmaker who’s does what he has to, to help his team win

 

You take a lot of pride in your defense as well, but what would you say is a hidden strength in your game that doesn´t get noticed right away on the court?

I think the thing that gets overlooked the most are the little things I do to get my teammmates open

 

You played your first two professional seasons with Rogaska Crystal (Slovenia-Liga NovaKBM). Last season you reached the Slovenian final. You improved your stats each season. What part of your game do you feel developed best there?

I think just all around I improved with a year of experience playing professionally which helps me know what to expect and prepare for

 

Rogaska Crystal (Slovenia-Liga NovaKBM) lost the final 3-1 to Union Olympija. The first two games were very close, but then it seemed like the opponent had your number. What was missing for your team getting over the hump?

In the finals we had some bad luck in the first two games where it could of went either way, but rebounding and not giving up second shots hurt us a lot

In game 4, Rogaska Crystal (Slovenia-Liga NovaKBM) lost 94-78. You had an intense duel with ex BBL player Brandon Jefferson who had 30 points while you had 29 points. What was most challenging about this duel?

Where he hurt us the most is in transition from 3 and fast break lay ups from turnovers. He is very good at find himself in the right place at the right time

 

Two seasons ago Brandon Jefferson played in Germany for your new head coach Ingo Freyer averaging 13.5ppg, 2.9rpg, 4.0apg, 1.1spg. When you see his style does that make you confident that you can´t only make the grade in Germany, but be an impact player?

Of course, I believe in any league I could make an impact

 

 

You had a very solid season as a rookie with Rogaska Crystal (Slovenia-Telemach League) playing 18 games averaging 13.2ppg, 2.4rpg, 3.6apg, 1.3spg, FGP: 48.8%, 3PT: 29.0%, FT: 76.9%. What was your wake up call to being a rookie in Europe where you knew that you were very far away from home in Indiana?

 

The difference in some of the rules in European basketball. Having to adjust to some little thing took some time.

 

 

There were only two Americans on the squad in your rookie season with you and Corey Remekun. What was the most important thing you could gain from him that made your adjustment period easier?

 

How Corey mentored me on how to take care of myself adjusting to life overseas and sharing his experiences playing overseas

You started your professional career with the  Canton Charge (D-League) not playing a game. What experience did you have and could the D-league be an option down the line?

 

The D league was my first time being a part of a professional organization and gave me the opportunity to show myself I could play at the pro level. The Canton Charge opportunity motivated me and could def be and option in the future if it gives me the opportunity to play in the NBA

 

You had a nice career at Xavier topping it off with a Sweet 16 run in 2015. What was the most special aspect of that season´s team?

 

Just being a part of Xavier’s team and the program. Was a blast being able to share that experience while forming a bond with life long friends

 

You played your last college game against Arizona losing 68-60. Does a game like this stick in your mind even now or have you been able to forget it easily?

 

Every time I think about Xavier basketball I usually think about the Arizona game. It was young team that year where I know we left it all on the court and I was proud of my team

 

In that last game against Arizona you dueled 38 minutes against future NBA player TJ Mcconnel of the 76ers. When you remember his game and compare it to you is there so much difference between an NBA opportunity for you if you got the chance?

 

I believe if I got the opportunity my game would translate well. Especially with an open floor playing the screen and role, I believe I could be very effective

 

How did Chris Mack groom and prepare you best for a professional basketball career at Xavier?

 

He really pushed me to be a pass first point guard while I was at Xavier. So now I really have a good feel of getting my teammates in the game at the pro level

 

You played together with Kenny Frease at Xavier. He has made a solid professional career in Germany. What is something that you will never forget about his character on and off the court?

 

Kenny was always a good guy, he was always a fun going guy off the court, and was intense during the game

 

Who was the toughest player you battled in the NCAA that is in the NBA now?

 

CJ McCollum was a tough player when we beat Lehigh my freshman year to go to the sweet sixteen

 

If you had the choice between having dinner with fellow Bloomington natives Calbert Cheaney and Sean May who would you pick and why?

 

I would have to make two reservations maybe three if your talking about both Sean May’s, father and son

 

If you had to construct your very own NBA Rushmore which 4 heads would you choose?

 

Michael Jordan, Isaiah Thomas (Pistons), Shaq, Larry Bird

 

There has been criticism of Russell Westbrook to be focusing more on rebounding to help inflate his stats and possibilities of getting triple doubles instead of focusing on his defensive assignments. Do you feel that this is a fair assessment to the player Russell Westbrook?

 

I think Russell Westbrook does everything he can to help his team. His stats add up because he is everywhere on the floor.

 

Lebron James isn´t going to get his 4th NBA ring. Where will he stand after this season in the neverending debate with who is the best player of all-time?

 

Michael Jordan hands down.

 

What was the last movie that you saw?

 

Fast and The Furious 8

 

Thanks Dee for the chat.

Leave a Reply

