Quinton Mcduffie (Club Trujillo /Peru) I Grew So Much Mentally And Physically During My Time In Europe

Quinton Mcduffie is a 26 year old 197cm swing man originally from San Diego, California and on account of a military back round went to high school in Virginia and currently is playing for Club Trujillo (Peru-LNB). In the 2015-2016 season he played for  La Gallofa Cantbasket 04 (Spain-EBA). He played his rookie season for Portsmouth Cavaliers (APBL): 6 games: 24.6ppg, 6.0rpg, then moved to TLG-13 NGO S.Tulga (Mongolia-MBA) averaging 21.9ppg, 9.2rpg, then signed for Planeta-Universitet Ukhta (Russia-Superleague). Before turning professional he played for Va.Wesleyan (NCAA3), Alabama St. (NCAA) and Chowan (NCAA2) and as a rookie played 27 games averaging 14.6ppg, 4.8rpg, 1.1apg, FGP: 54.5%, 3PT: 30.0%, FT: 74.2%. German Hoops has spoken to Quinton in the past and it was time to check in on him again in Peru.

Quinton thanks for talking to German Hoops. Where are you at the moment and how content are you with your basketball life at the moment?

Thank you guys over at German Hoopsfor your continuous support over the years. I am Currently playing in the LNB, which is the top league in Peru. I am very satistified with my living arrangements and basketball life here in Peru. The people here are very generous and helpful.

You started the season with KK Radnicki Gorazde (Bosnia-D2), but left in pre season. Why was your stay so short?

 I spent the pre-season in Bosnia, which was a great experience, however the team was very young and at this point in my career I am trying to grow as a player on the court and I am looking to play alongside more experienced guys. I feel as though it will allow my game to develop

You have witnessed the last few years how difficult it is in general to find a team. Did experience with the process make the time finding a new team easier for you?

Yes, I feel as though the market is very hard to breakthrough, you must have patience and faith while you are going through the process of finding a job in this business. Without these two things, it´s very hard to continue to move forward.

You last played in Europe two seasons ago in Spain in the fifth division with La Gallofa Cantbasket 04 (Spain-EBA) 18 games: 10.9ppg, 5.4rpg, FGP: 49.7%, FT: 70.8%. Why do you feel is it so difficult to find your path back to Europe even if you were only gone for one season?

 Europe is possibly the most difficult continent to break into for basketball, even harder than the U.S at times because Europe has such a rich history when it comes to basketball. I also feel like my game translates better in Asian, and Latin American Countries. But I would love to play in Europe again.

 

You found your way back to South America playing for Club Trujillo (Peru-LNB). What kind of experience has this been for you?

 I signed back in South America in April. I have been here for almost two months. I am averaging 24.5ppg , 14.1rpg, and 2.0apg in 7 games so far. I enjoy playing here this summer, I am able to work on my game and develop my skills while building my confidence. I have enjoyed it thus far.

How would you compare the play in Peru to what you saw in Argentina?

The play in Argentina was very physical and slow. The game was more inside-out and the players played with a lot of confidence. The play here in Peru is very different because it is majority guard centric basketball. The guards here play high screen and roll and are able to score a lot of points.

Do you feel as though your game was able to develop further this season. Where do you feel has your game improved?

 I feel like I grew so much mentally and physically. During my time in Europe I learned so much about health and dieting, which helped me take my game to the next level.

You will be turning 27 this year. Do you believe as if your best basketball is still ahead of you?

  So grateful to be able to say that. But yes, I feel as though my best days of basketball have yet to come. I lost a lot of weight In the past year and I am feeling better than i’ve ever felt in years!

You said in our last interview that your versatility could translate into any league in Europe. How hungry are you to get another chance in Europe?

I am very eager and hungry to play in Europe. I feel like playing in Europe can help build my resume even more.

 

If you had to construct your own NBA Mt. Rushmore, which 4 heads would you choose?

 Good question, My four NBA players would be: Allen Iverson, Michael Jordan, Lebron James, and Wilt Chaimberlin

Lebron finally brought an NBA title to the Cavs and is close to getting his fourth ring. Where does he stand at the moment in the never ending debate with where he stands as the best of all-time?

Huge shout out to Lebron and the Cavs organization for bringing a chip to Cleveland. As of right now I feel like if Lebron were to retire he would be the top 4 player of all time, with Magic, Kareem, and the GOAT ahead of him.

Klay Thompson recently hit 60 points in 29 minutes touching the ball for only 90 seconds. Where does this performance rank?

Wow, just reading the question doesn´t really seem real. But it happened. And that performance is definitely up there with the likes of (Kobe’s 81 point game), (Wilt’s 100 point game), (Michael Jordan’s 55 points in MSG), and (Devin Booker’s 70 point game)

Draymond Greene recently had a triple double without scoring 10 points or more. Why do you believe has it taken long for someone to do this?

 Draymond is a very special player, and is changing the game as he goes along. A lot of players do not have his mentality and approach towards the game. He is selfless and a work horse which is a talent in itself.

How special was the run of South Carolina at the 2017 NCAA tournament? Do you feel like this was the story of March Madness 2017`?

Congrats to The University of South Carolina and their success with the Mens and Womens Basketball Teams. The women were able to re-write history.

There is nothing more special than that. Is Lonzo Ball the real thing? Do you feel like he will be able to develop further despite the antics of his father on social media?

 I like Lavar and Lonzo ball, I love what they are doing as a family and I love how they are venturing into the sneaker culture. They are putting the entire basketball world on notice.

 

There has been criticism of Russell Westbrook to be focusing more on rebounding to help inflate his stats and possibilities of getting triple doubles instead of focusing on his defensive assignments. Do you feel that this is a fair assessment to the player Russell Westbrook?

 Yes, I feel that this is a fair judgement about his game this season. And I also feel like that kind of mentality hurts his team and makes players not want to play with him.

What was the last movie that you saw?

 The last movie that I saw was “Patriots Day” last week with my teammates, and the movie was in all Spanish

Thanks Quinton for the chat.

Leave a Reply

