Marqueze Coleman: My Rookie Year Will Not Only Make Me A Stronger Professional Basketball Player But A Stronger Individual

Marqueze Coleman is a 23 year old 193cm guard from Mission Hills, California that completed his rookie season in Germany with the Dresden Titans (Germany-ProA) averaging 8,7ppg, 4,7rpg and 2,3apg. He played at Nevada (NCAA) from 2012-2016 playing a total of 120 NCAA games and as a senior played 33 games averaging 14.6ppg, 4.2rpg, 3.2apg, 1.2spg, FGP: 44.4%, 3PT: 30.9%, FT: 74.3%. He spoke to German Hoops after finishing his rookie season in Germany.

Marqueze thanks for talking to German HoopsI don´t want to start of an interview like this, but on one hand you can be very thankful of having landed 2 jobs here with Wurzburg and Dresden, but at the same time it hasn´t been the easiest rookie season after leaving Wurzburg, you were 0-7 with new team Dresden. Did you ever think your rookie season could go like this as you got off the plane last summer in Germany to play for Wurzburg?

Yeah I’m very thankful to have two great opportunities to play in Germany, it is such a great country to play in. Although it hasn’t been the ideal rookie season for me, I’m using it as a learning tool for myself and another obstacle for me to overcome. The experiences I’ve experienced my rookie year will not only make me a stronger professional basketball player throughout my career but a stronger individual aside from basketball.

Your rookie season has finally ended. You played 7 games for the Dresden Titans averaging 8,7ppg, 4,7rpg and 2,3apg. How would you summarize your short stay with this German team?

I definitely feel I could have done better with the Dresden Titans but with the circumstance given I thought I competed hard each game.

What did you learn from your rookie season that will help you in your continued path as a professional?

The style of play is one thing that will help me as I continue my professional playing career. There’s a lot of new things about the way the game is played in Europe that I will continue to use and get better at.

What is the next step for you? How do your summer plans look like and where would you like to end up playing next season?

The next step for me as I head into offseason is to continue to get better and stronger as a basketball player. Also I want to continue to get mentally stronger and more educated at this game of basketball as well, so that includes watching film and things like that. As far as where I would like to end up is wherever I’m given a great opportunity for me to show my strengths as a basketball player

How beneficial was it playing together with fellow American rookie RJ Price? It is never easy for a rookie to come to a new team, but how vital has he been for you to getting adjusted quickly on and off the court?

Very beneficial, he’s a good quick guard that I’ve learned from throughout my short stint with Dresden

 

How difficult was it for you between jobs in Wurzburg and Dresden. It was a few months before you got a new job. How thankful are you for having ex NBA player Toby Bailey as your agent and how important was his advice the last few months to keep your head up?

It was pretty difficult, but I stayed poised and continued to stay in the gym because I knew my time was coming. I believe I have one of the best agents, he found me 3 jobs and through all of the unfortunate situations he and the agency has always had my back and kept my head high.

You’re a guy that can fill up the stat sheet, but what do you feel is a hidden strength in your game that doesn´t always get noticed right away?

A hidden strength about my game that doesn’t get noticed right away is I’m a great teammate. I push my teammates to want to get better each and every play

What have you learned to appreciate most about the country Germany and new home Dresden since you have been here?

I’ve learned that Germany is a great country with great citizens. I wouldn’t mind coming back to Germany to play another year of professional basketball. Dresden was a great city that truly embraced me

You got drafted by the Iowa Energy (D-League), but opted to come to Europe. Many guys start in the D-league and go to Europe later. I am sure you have friends playing in the D-league, but getting to the NBA from there is rare while the pay is not good. Did you leave school understanding that financially and getting groomed as an allaround good player is better going the European route?

I left school with the understanding that whichever route I were to take skies were the limit for me. I just have to continue to work hard on my craft every single day and things will happen for me. I was always taught that everyone’s route to what they want to achieve isn’t all the same so just stay poised and always work hard and your time will come.

You played at Nevada(NCAA) from 2012-2016. Was winning the CBI tournament your biggest achievement on the court there?

Yes winning the CBI championship was my biggest achievement at Nevada. Winning that capped off a great career that I had there

Many of your best scoring games came in losses with Nevada(NCAA). After looking back at your 120 game career at Nevada, what was your best game?

My best game was against Hawaii, I had 34 points with 32 points coming in the last 14 minutes of the game.

How did ex NBA head coach Eric Musselman groom and prepare you best for a professional basketball career after Nevada(NCAA)?

He prepared me a lot, the terms he would use throughout the year during practices and games really translated to playing professionally

Who won a one on one in practice you or Tyron Criswell?

Me

Who was the toughest player that you battled in the NCAA that is in the NBA now?

I’m not sure

If you had to construct your own NBA Rushmore, which 4 heads would you choose?

Magic, Kobe, Lebron, MJ

Lebron finally brought an NBA title to the Cavs. Where does he stand at the moment in the never ending debate with where he stands as the best of all-time?

He’s definitely in the conversation for being the greatest to play the game

Where do you rank Kevin Garnett with the best power forwards that ever played the game?

I rank him right behind Tim Duncan, as a top two PF to ever play the game

Klay Thompson recently hit 60 points in 29 minutes touching the ball for only 90 seconds. Where does this performance rank with you?

A great performance it just shows how great he is with moving without the ball and also shows how unselfish the warriors are

One always talks about Lebron and Curry, but one has to mention Russell Westbrook. He is averaging triple double stats at the moment. Is he stat wise the best player in the world right now?

Yes. Russ is my favorite player in the NBA. He’s a guy I try to model my game after

Draymond Greene recently had a triple double without scoring 10 points or more. Why do you believe has it taken long for someone to do this?

He has found other ways to affect the game by scoring which is a reason him and his team are very successful

How special was the run of South Carolina at the 2017 NCAA tournament? Do you feel like this was the story of March Madness 2017`?

Really special, I’m always rooting for the underdog because that’s what I’ve been all my life. Yes I feel like this was the biggest story of march madness 17′

Is Lonzo Ball the real thing? Do you feel like he will be able to develop further despite the antics of his father on social media?

Lonzo ball is a great young basketball player that has a lot of potential. Regardless of the media circus around him he still was very poised on and off the court

There has been criticism of Russell Westbrook to be focusing more on rebounding to help inflate his stats and possibilities of getting triple doubles instead of focusing on his defensive assignments. Do you feel that this is a fair assessment to the player Russell Westbrook?

No I don’t believe that it’s fair. Russ is one of the hardest working players in this league and he wills his team to victories and now they’re in playoff contention. You can discredit anything he does

What was the last movie that you saw?

Get Out.

Thanks Marqueze for the Chat.

Leave a Reply

