Matt Reid(Artland Dragons) I Would Like To Play 2 More Years And Then Go Into Coaching

Matt Reid is a 33 year old 185cm guard that hast he German/American citizenship and recently completed his tenth professional season and first with the Artland Dragons. He started his career with Cerritos JC (NJCAA) and then played two seasons with Cameron (NCAA2) and as a senior played 26 games averaging  20.2ppg, 5.4rpg, 3.3apg, 2.2spg, FGP: 46.1%, 3TP: 36.0%, FT: 81.0%. He turned professional in 2007 and played for the Schwelmer Baskets (Germany-Regionalliga).He then played two seasons with Saarlouis before moving to SC Rasta Vechta where he played from 2010-2012. He then gained further experience with RSV Eintracht Stahnsdorf (Germany-ProB) and Herten(Pro B). He returned back to SC Rasta Vechta in 2014 where he played two more seasons before moving to Artland this season. He spoke to German Hoops after being ousted from the playoffs by Wurzburg.

Matt thanks for talking to German Hoops. The season has come to an end for you and the Artland Dragons. After finishing second in the Pro B north division behind Lok Bernau, how disappointing is it bowing out in the first round to Wurzburg?

It’s always disappointing for the season to end without winning the championship for any team but I am proud how my teammates worked hard all season and battled through injuries and adversity and was able to achieve 2nd place in the north this season.

After winning game one, the Artland Dragons lost game 2 and game 3 ending their season. You said a few months ago in an interview to me that confidence is always good, but too much can be deadly. Do you feel like you had too much confidence as a team heading into game 2?

Too much Confidence was not the problem why we lost game 2, we had a hard working week in practice and was totally focused on winning game 2 in Wurzburg.

You scored only seven points and had 9 assists and shot 1/5 from outside in the first two games. Do you feel like you let the team down a bit in game 2 not being aggressive enough?

I think me being in early foul trouble let my team down in Game 2 but me not being aggressive enough offensively was not a deciding factor for the lost, I was in foul trouble the whole game and 4 fouls in the 18th minute of me being on the court and recieved my 5th foul with 8 minutes to go in the 4th quarter. I thought I did well with not forcing plays and reading the defense well in the series. It was a 5 point game game with 7 minutes to go in the 4th but we had a 3 minute stretch where we struggled to execute in our offense and got outrebounded by 20 as a team and that in my opinion I think was the deciding factor to the game 2 lost.

The Artland Dragons were pretty much 50/50 with close games this season, but when it counted most couldn´t grind out a do or die game three at home. What do you feel was key for not winning that game at home?

Wurzburg did a great job as for adjusting in game 2 and 3 and really focused on taking advantage of us missing our 6’10 starting center who was a big factor to our defense around the basket and helping us tremendously on the glass with rebounding. The keys to our game 3 lost came down to rebounding and us not being able to make shots. We had a great night with playing team basketball and ended up with 22 assists and forced 20 Wurzburg turnovers but we was outrebounded by 17 and shot a low percentage from the field as a team. When you are getting beat on the glass for an average of 17 and struggle to make shots its hard for any team to win a playoff series.

American Marcellus Barksdale was a one man wrecking crew. Why was it so difficult keeping him in check for the series as he scored 43 points in game one and 23 points in game three?

He did great job as for taking what the defense was giving to him and converting on the offensive end when his team needed him to. We played zone defense in game 1 the whole game and he was able to catch fire beyond the arc and in game 3 he took advantage of us pressuring him to score off the dribble and us relying on our help defense too much.

You said back in February that the Artland Dragons hadn´t peaked yet. Do you feel as if the team ever reached it´s full potential this season?

I believe we peaked 8 games before regular season schedule was over, our 6’10 starting center left the team after the deadline and we was forced to play without him for the remainder of the season. And even after we knew it would not be easy to win the championship without our main rebounder and defensive presence under the basket, but instead of quitting we all stuck together and did not give up and fought hard to finish the season out strong and get the number 2 seed going into playoffs. We could have given up but we had the character and heart to still go for our team goal we had before the season started and at that moment i knew we had peaked and reached our full potential.

Was your 19 point five assist game a tiny consolation for losing game three that you ended the season solid with your game, or will this game three loss eat at you for a while?

If I would have had 0 points and 10 assist with the win would be more satisfying on my side and yes losing first round in playoffs never is a great memory that will sit with me well but I am sure this is not the end for the Artland Dragons and I know the city of Quakenbruck will one day make its way back to the easycredit BBL.

How would you wrap up the Artland Dragons season. Could one say that they underachieved?

Compared to the 2015-2016 Artland Dragons season we had a great season in my opinion as for we ended with 2nd place in the north and when going from 6th place to 2nd place in one season is definetly a great step in the right direction of where managment and the city of Quakenbruck want to be in the future.

The Artland Dragons had many very solid performers, but if you had to pick one player who in your eyes improved the most form August to April, who would you pick?

Greg Graves in my eyes improved a lot, he came directly from college and had to adjust from college basketball to professional basketball in Germany and still be very efficient on the court at the same time.

What was your favorite team memory of the 2016-2017 Artland Dragons season?

I would say our win in Rostock was the best memory, being down by 26 points at halftime and then fighting back to win the game with a buzzer –beater in the end.

In our last interview in February you stated to me that you wanted to “make sure I lessen my turnovers and make sure I keep up the energy on the defensive end of the floor. As a point guard on such a great individually talented team It’s my job to organize the game to get our bigs involved early and the ball to our shooters as well and if needed I’m able to create and score”. Were you content how you closed out the last two months of the season?

Yes the last 2 months of the season was not easy for us as a team but I think I had a solid last two months with help leading our team to getting that number 2 seed for playoffs.

You finished the season averaging 11,2ppg, 5,6apg, 3,2rpg and 1,4apg. How content were you with your season and what grade would you give yourself?

I am not happy with the way season ended up for us as a team but I feel my numbers was solid but can and will be a lot better next season. My role was to be a point guard that got everyone involved and play with a lot of energy on defense and feel like I held my own in that category but at the end of the day we lost as a team we still did not win a championship so giving myself a grade is worthless right now.

You are 33 years old now. What is the next step for Matt Reid? How many more years of professional ball do you have left at this level?

I would like to play 2 more years and then go into coaching afterwards. The Artland Dragons have a plan and goal to one day be back in the easycredit BBL and I would love to be a part of that plan in helping them reaching that goal. I live in the area of Quakenbruck and going anyplace else just would not make sense for me and my family.

How important is your defensive game at your age? Is playing good defense a sign for you that you may be getting older in numbers, but not in movement on the court?

I think defense is very important in anyone’s game and I have been fortunate to learn from great coaches in my last 5 years in my career on the right way a point guard should play defense on a high level. My body feels great in this stage of my career and I am fortunate to still be able to give lots of energy on the defensive end of the floor.

What summer plans do you have? What place would you like to visit with your extended summer vacation that you have never been to before?

My family will come from USA in a week from now and will spend 8 weeks in Germany at my house and we will just be enjoying the great sights of Germany and then after taking a trip to Egypt with my Fiance for a week. In 4 weeks I will be doing my pre-season workouts to start preparing myself for next season as well, It should be a busy summer for me this year.

Draymond Greene recently had a triple double without scoring 10 points or more. Why do you believe has it taken long for someone to do this?

I think its the team being so stacked on the roster makes it very possible for him achieving that triple-double. The Warriors have so many top athletes and individual talented players that can score and that makes it possible for him to just be effective in that role without scoring.

Devin Booker lit up the Boston Celtics and was only the sixth player to ever have done that in the NBA. Did it surprise you that it was him and not someone else as there are other guys that come to mind that could probably have done it before the talented 20 year old?

That is definitely something you cannot look past, that was a great accomplishment on his part and him doing that just lets you know how far grown the NBA has come and at his age also great to achieve something like this. I was never surprised he did it because I saw him live in Vegas and I knew then he would do damage in the NBA.

Who will reach the NCAA Final 4 and win it all?

Being that all my picks did not make to the final four I am not really sure now, but after watching UNC play they have the best chance to advance and win it all.

UCLA has some very talented freshman with one being Lonzo Ball. That guy has put up amazing stats as a freshman. Is he the real deal? How much potential does he have in your eyes?

He is definitely the real deal and he is always Calm Cool and collective on the floor and does it all to rebounding passing and scoring in all diffrent ways on the floor. Hope the Lakers can make some moves to get him in a Lakers jersey this summer…lol.

What was the last movie that you saw?

Fences.

 

Thanks Matt for the chat.

Leave a Reply

