Dallas Anglin (Hannover Korbjäger) I’m A Student Of The Game And I Take Bits And Pieces Of Guys Games

Dallas Anglin is a 23 year old 185cm guard from Mountclair, New Jersey that played his rookie season as a professional in Germany for the  Hannover Korbjaeger (Germany-Regionalliga). He started his basketball career at  Hofstra (NCAA) in 2012 playing 6 games averaging 3.2ppg, 1.2apg. In the next three years he would play at three schools starting with S.Idaho JC (JUCO) playing 32 games averaging 13.4ppg, 3.0rpg, 3.9apg, FGP: 44.6%, 3PT: 34.3%, FT: 77.8%, S.Mississippi (NCAA) playing  6 games averaging 6.0ppg, 1.0rpg, 1.5apg, FGP: 28.6%, 3PT: 46.2%, FT: 93.3%, and N.Colorado (NCAA) playing 20 games averaging  13.2ppg, 2.9rpg, 2.2apg, 1.0spg, FGP: 52.6%, 3PT: 31.3%, FT: 79.6%. He spoke to German Hoops recently before the club announced it had to withdraw from the Regionaliga before the end of the season.

Dallas welcome to Germany. Your last college game is almost a year old as you strapped on your N Colorado(NCAA) shirt against Portland State. Did you ever lose doubt that you might not sign your first professional contract?

A little, as time went by I was preparing for the worst and hoping for the best and then New Years Eve came and before I went to celebrate my agent called me and said I had an offer out in Germany.

Talk a little about the last 10-11 months. How did you experience your first time in the shark infested waters world of having to try to find that first professional team. How rough was it and how did you stay positive?

 It wasn’t as rough as people would think, during that time I was home in New Jersey around family and loved ones that kind of took my mind away from the negatives, believe me I had my days though. I stayed positive by having positive people around me.

 

 

How blessed were to start your professional career in Germany with the Hannover Korbjager? Do you remember the last words you told your parents when you got on the plane to head to Germany?

 Very blessed. I’m very grateful for the opportunity and can’t thank Aleks and the rest of the people here at Korbjager enough for the opportunity.

 

 

 

 

What do you know in general about the country Germany and it´s basketball?

 

 

Not too much, after playing a few games I’ve noticed the physicality.

 

 

 

 

Could you name a third German player off the top of your head that isn´t named Dirk Nowitzki of Dennis Schroeder?

 

 No I can’t, I almost went on google to find the answer haha

 

 

Is a guy like Antwine Williams a role model for you? The ex N Colorado forward had a great senior year and then started his professional career in Germany in a lower league and moved his way up and reached the top German league BBL with Tuebingen in 2005.

 

 

 I don’t know Antwine, I only went to northern Colorado for a year and half.

 

 

 

Your joined a struggling team with the Hanover Korbjager. Did you feel any pressure coming into this situation having to prove yourself the right way and getting the team on track?

 

 It’s tough a lot of guys leaving and coming, it’s like we have a new team or line up every week. I just try to play my best basketball and come out with the win.

 

 

 

Often one could call you a kind of savior coming in to turn the season around. Do you feel like you had to do that?

 

 

 I wouldn’t say “savior”, these past games I’ve played well but it wasn’t enough to get some wins. The guys on my team are great guys who work hard, we just have to figure it out.

 

 

 

Your joined a team that is stalked with international flair with a few Brits, a Bulgarian player and one from France. You will be the only American. Do you sense like the players looked up to you more simply because you are an American?

 

 I’d definitely say I’m one of the leaders but we have a Veteran on our team Glen from London and he’s our captain.

 

 

 

You are a very versatile point guard. If you had to choose an NBA point guard that has a game comparable to you who would you mention?

 

 

 I’m not sure, I’m a student of the game and I take bits and pieces of guys games that I like and put it in mine. (Monta Ellis, Jeff Teague, Westbrook, Kyrie, Isaiah Thomas)

 

 

 

 

You’re a guy that can fill up the stat sheet, but what would you say is a hidden strength in your game that doesn´t get noticed right away on the court?

 

 

 

 I couldn’t say, I feel as though I show all of my abilities when I come to play.

 

 

 

You had a well traveled college career playing at 4 schools. If someone had told you the day before you went to Hofstra that you would finish your college career having been at 4 schools what would you have thought?

 

 

I wouldn’t of believed them but everything happens for a reason you know?

 

 

 

You started at  Hofstra (NCAA) and then took a few steps back to play at S.Idaho JC (JUCO) Despite having an illustrious high school career at Seton hall prep were you just not ready to play at the NCAA level at Hofstra?

 

 

No that’s not the case at all, when I transferred from Hofstra my grades were messed up so in order to play division one again I had to go to S. Idaho which is one of the top jucos in the country to play, get my grades and get looked at by schools.

 

 

 

 

You then played at S.Idaho JC (JUCO) playing 32 games averaging 13.4ppg, 3.0rpg, 3.9apg, FGP: 44.6%, 3PT: 34.3%, FT: 77.8%. What do you feel were the key things in this year that helped you mature better and get back to the NCAA?

 

 

 Being in Idaho there isn’t much to do other than work on your game, I really became a student of the game and got in the gym a lot and it worked out.

 

 

 

 

 

As a junior you played at S.Mississippi (NCAA) playing only 6 games averaging 6.0ppg, 1.0rpg, 1.5apg, FGP: 28.6%, 3PT: 46.2%, FT: 93.3%. You left in mid season. When you look back at this experience was there anything positive that you gained from it?

 

90% of the team I was on left the school and those guys were tough competitors. Our pick up basketball games in the summer and summer workouts is what brought me to a higher level mentally and physically.

 

 

 

You really blossomed as a senior at  N.Colorado (NCAA) playing  20 games averaging 13.2ppg, 2.9rpg, 2.2apg, 1.0spg, FGP: 52.6%, 3PT: 31.3%, FT: 79.6%. You came on the scene in December 2015 and was the fastest player ins school history to score 100 points. Is December a month you will tend to always look fondly at?

 

 My birthday is in December haha but no I had to sit out a whole year because of the transfer so that was a year of working out, getting stronger, smarter and I was just waiting for my opportunity to get back under those lights and perform.

 

 

 

 

 

How important was head coach B.J Hill in identifying your talent and grooming and preparing you best for a professional basketball career?

 

 

 B.J didn’t help groom or prepare me to become a professional basketball player at all. My father Kyle Anglin played division 1 basketball player at St. Bonaventure University and my older brother Mike Tyree also played division 1 at Stony Brook Univ and they were the main people that prepared me to be a professional not just in basketball but in life.

 

 

 

 

There have been more than a handful of guys that have reached the NBA with lower stats than you, but then again many guys like you that are guards that have had stats like yours or better and not reached the NBA? When you watch NBA games, do you see the level of play not as great as one might suspect, but moreover as in everything in life knowing the right people and having luck is what gets a guy to the NBA?

 

Going to the NBA is like hitting the lottery. Of course you have to have skill but there’s a lot of politics and who you know. Do I think I should be in the NBA based on what I did in college? No.

 

 

 

 

You had some very memorable games at N Colorado(NCAA) but where does your 20 point, five rebounds, six assist game in the 77-76 win against Montana State rate?

 

 

 It’s up there, I contributed big in a close need to win game so that’s definitely in my top 3 games.

 

 

 

 

Who won a one on one in practice you or Jordan Davis?

 

 

 Me haha. That’s my little brother though. He’s killing this season, going to be a great player.

 

 

 

 

Who was the toughest player that you played in the NCAA that is in the NBA now?

 

 

 Deandre Kane from Iowa State but I played against him at Hofstra and he was at Marshall University.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you had to construct your own NBA Rushmore, which 4 heads would you choose?

 

 

 

 Wilt Chamberlain, Magic Johnson, Michael Jordan, Kobe Bryant

 

 

 

 

Lebron finally brought an NBA title to the Cavs. Where does he stand at the moment in the never ending debate with where he stands as the best of all-time?

 

 

 I say Jordan Is the best all around player of all time, Kobe is the best scorer of all time and Lebron is the most athletically gifted player the NBA has ever seen.

 

 

 

 

Where do you rank Kevin Garnett with the best power forwards that ever played the game?

 

Top 10

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Klay Thompson recently hit 60 points in 29 minutes touching the ball for only 90 seconds. Where does this performance rank with you?

 

 

It’s definitely up there for me but I’ve seen some of the best by some greats.

 

 

 

One always talks about Lebron and Curry, but one has to mention Russell Westbrook. He is averaging triple double stats at the moment. Is he stat wise the best player in the world right now?

 

 

 He’s my favorite player in the league. Men lie, women lie but numbers don’t. His stats speak for themselves.

 

 

 

What was the last movie that you saw?

 

 

 

 Wolf of Wall Street

 

 

Thanks Dallas for the chat.

 

 

Leave a Reply

