Terrell Harris (Iserlohn) Matthias Grothe Is A Warrior And I Am So Thankful To Have Him As Coach

Terrell Harris is a 23 year old 190cm guard from Indiantown,Florida that is playing his rookie season in Germany with the : Iserlohn Kangaroos (Germany-ProB). He started his basketball career at Mars Hill (NCAA2) in 2011 and then moved to Georgia College in 2012. As a senior he played 29 games averaging 24.6ppg, 6.7rpg, 4.0apg, 1.6spg, FGP: 59.1%, 3PT: 36.3%, FT: 76.8%. He concluded his college basketball career winning the All-PeachBelt Player of the Year 2016. Harris spoke to German Hoops after the 79-78 victory against Stahnsdorf.

Terrell thanks for talking to German Hoops! 2017 has come and did you make any new years resolutions or are you more the guy that doesn´t bother with that?

No I did not make any new year resolution. I have yearly goals to work on bettering myself on and off the basketball court. Just trying to be a better all around individual.

Congrats on the exciting 79-78 win against Itzehoe. Iserloh won the first game 85-65. Was the opponent a much improved team or was Iserlohn not as strong as in that first game?

The first time we played them, Itzehoe was bothered by our pressure and early trapping which caused a lot of early turnovers. We were able to get an early comfortable lead. The second game it was like the roles reversed. They started out strong making some tough shots and capitalized on our turnovers. Which gave them an early 17 point lead.

 

What did Iserlohn learn from their one point loss last weekend against Wolfenbuettel that it didn´t make against Itzehoe?

We learned that no lead is safe in this lead. You have to execute on both ends of the floor to win in this challenging league. You have to bring it every night and play. The moment you let up and give your opponent hope, anything can happen such as the last play in Wolfenbuettel.

The Itzehoe Eagles led 49-43 at the break. What did Iserlohn want to do better in the third quarter and what was key for the 27 point third quarter explosion, but still trail by six points?

We wanted to get stops and push the ball. Coach made some vital adjustments at the half. We were able to go small and push every chance we got. Which eventually tired them out. Yanick and Kris were able to give us that boost we needed to get back into the game along with Moussa and Joshua.

Did you feel a need to get your team going in the first few minutes as you scored two buckets inside?
Yes I tried to start out aggressive. It’s my job to get the team going offensively being that I am the leading scorer. I missed a few easy shots that I usually make but sometimes that’s part of the game.

Iserlohn continued to fight and never gave up. Was these fighting qualities an early indication to what fans will see from Iserlohn on every possession in the playoffs?

The entire season we been fighting hard. We just have moments where we don’t play as smart as we are capable of. But I never questioned the heart of our guys. Once we cut down on our mental mistakes we are going to be a tough team to beat in the playoffs.

German Kristof Schwarz nailed two clutch three´s at the end including the game winner. Was that last shot a designed play for him or was it whoever was open widest got the shot?
The last play was designed for me to get the ball. However, Itzehoe played the play good. Kris inbounded the ball to Tommy then once Tommy drove, Kris spotted up and was able to hit a huge shot to seal a much needed win for us.

How was the celebration mode that night in Iserlohn? Did Schwartz have to buy a round for everyone?

We were happy. We are always happy after a win. I was really happy for Kris. He’s one of the reasons why I want to win every game. Great teammate to play with.

The next game is against SC Rist Wedel which you beat 86-72 five months ago. They are fighting for a playoff spot. What will be key to getting the win?

We have to have great practices this upcoming week. Rist Wedel has a great team which we can’t take lightly. They are fighting for their playoff spot, so I’m pretty sure they are going to be ready. So will we though.

How confident are you that the Iserlohn will be ready for the playoffs and what do believe has the team done best in the last games?

I’m very confident in my teammates. We have a good group of guys who been in this position before. I believe experience is key in moments Ike the playoffs. We have to finish the last two games strong by taking one game at a time. Executing on offense and defense for 40 minutes has to be a goal for us these next two games. I personally will be locked in for these next two games to get my rhythm before the playoffs. The better I play the more unstoppable we will be.

Your teammate Mousa Kone continued to have a monster season averaging double double stats. How important is it for him having a game like against Bochum where he got into foul trouble early limiting him to 16 minutes and eight points? Do these learning experiences make him stronger?

Moussa Kone is a beast. The best big man I ever played with. He’s stepping up huge this season. He plays hard every day and moment. Once he gets going it’s hard to stop him as well. He opens up the lane for me to penetrate and do my thing because he draws a lot of attention. I am very lucky to have him as a teammate. We coexist perfectly with each other. He plays very hard and aggressive which sometime put him in foul trouble but he learned his lesson. I mean nobody likes sitting on the bench.

You have had a very solid and consistent rookie season. Despite being a rookie how do you feel have your leadership abilities grown this season?

In my eyes I am having an OK rookie season. I can do a lot more for my team moving forward. I always been a consistent scorer but I have to be more aggressive starting games off and finishing them. I also have to be a better free throw shooter then I have been the past two games. I will get in the gym and work on it after practice. I know I have another level in me that I need to activate before the playoffs and I will. I could be a better leader then I have been this year. I’m learning a lot as a rookie but I will get there.

Head coach Matthias Grothe will take over Phoenix Hagen in the Pro A next season. How have you grown to respect this man this season with all his duties coupled with his health problems?

Coach Matthias is a warrior. It shows his wheel and determination to continue coaching us while dealing with his health problem. Don’t really want to talk about him leaving because he is showing me a lot on how to become a better basketball player. He has been pushing me more than any coach I had but that is what I need if I want to be great. I am so thankful to have him as a coach my first professional season. With all that being said, he is still a Kangaroo at the moment and we are on a mission to be accomplished in what we set out in August.

Klay Thompson recently hit 60 points in 29 minutes touching the ball for only 90 seconds. Where does this performance rank with you?

It has to be up there. Nobody is touching my favorite player Kobe 81 though. Klay performance was special though.

One always talks about Lebron and Curry, but one has to mention Russell Westbrook. He is averaging triple double stats at the moment. Is he stat wise the best player in the world right now?
He is having a great season. All of these players are special in their own right. I hate ranking them because it takes away from their greatness.

Draymond Greene recently had a triple double without scoring 10 points or more. Why do you believe has it taken long for someone to do this?

Draymond is a special player as well. I have no idea why it took so long but if anyone is capable of doing this, it’s definitely Draymond

Tom Brady won his 5th Super Bowl. Where does he rank with the best athletes of all-time?

Tom Brady is amazing what he did in the Superbowl basically told us why he is one of the greats. He’s been doing this his entire career. I respect his longevity and passion for the game. He’s definitely up there some where amongst the best athletes of all time.

What was the last movie that you saw?

The last movie I saw was Sherlock Holmes, which was a good movie.

Thanks Terrell for the chat.

Leave a Reply

