Brian Butler (ScanPlus Baskets) Ready To Mix It Up At The 2017 EasyCredit BBL Slam Dunk Contest

Brian Butler is a 25 year old 196cm German forward playing his second season with the ScanPlus Baskets Elchingen (ProB) where currently he is averaging 13,5ppg, 6,5rpg and 2,1apg. He started his basketball career with the  FC Bayern Muenchen junior team (NBBL) and then moved to  BG Illertal/Weissenhorn (ProB) where he played from 2010-2013 playing a total of 74 Pro B games. He then played two seasons with Erdgas Ehingen/Urspringschule (ProA) playing 65 Pro A games. He spoke to German Hoopsabout his season and being invited to the 2017 EasyCredit BBL allstar game slam dunk contest.

Brian thanks for talking to German Hoops. Congrats on getting elected to the 2017 EasyCredit BBL Slam Dunk contest. What was your first response when you heard of this honor?

Thanks ! I was speechless! I did get a call from our manager past Friday after practice so my first reaction was what did I do wrong and then he told me that the BBL called and asked if I can compete in the slamdunk contest and that my coach and him agreed that I can. So I was really happy and thankful that they let me go.

How cool is it in general that the league makes an exception and invites a player from a lower league? Two years ago Weissenhorn German Marvin Omuvie was invited.

It’s really cool for me it’s an big opportunity to show my talent on a bigger stage of course it’s just dunking but yeah it’s what I can do best and I love doing.

How will you prepare for the EasyCredit BBL Slam dunk contest? Will you ask teammate Brandon Lockhart to help you this week with the perfect tosses?

 

I dont think that I will prepare anything special I have my standards for dunk competitions. I might add a couple of new dunks to it but I really don’t have to much time to add anything special because as you know I have a very important game on Sunday and we have practice everyday. I wish Brandon could help me but he also has to prepare himself for the game on Sunday and is not able to travel with me.

 

Having that special unique idea is always a help in having an advantage in the slam dunk contest. Do you have some ideas as to what kind of dunks you will showcase for the fans?

As I already said I have some standards dunks that I always perform in dunk competitions I probably add a little show to it to get the fans heated up ab bit !

 

You have been known as a high flying energetic player for some years now. What NBA slam dunker is a type of role model for you over the years?

Vince Carter and Gerald Green

 

You have had some massive beautiful dunks in the last years in Germany. Do you have a favorite dunk in your career?

Yeah I do ! I was playing my 3rd year in Weißenhorn and we were playing in Rist Wedel and I ran the break and got the pass took off and jumped over a player and dunked it and everybody was going crazy even though it wasn’t our home crowd.

 

You are playing your second season with the  ScanPlus Baskets Elchingen (ProB). ,The club has a 9-4 record. How happy were you with the first half of the season? How much potential does the team have?

 

I am very happy ! We have a lot of potential to grow we have a good team and a great working ethic.

 

The ScanPlus Baskets Elchingen (ProB,) make 88 points per game, but give up 86 points per game which is a risky way to play. The team will always put up points, but can this be a team that can carve down it´s points allowed and defend better?

 

We have a lot of scoring options so points will never be a problem and as the season goes along we are starting to find together and our team defense is getting better Because we are working hard daily in practice

 

 

How much fun has it been playing with fellow athletic high flying Taevaunn Prince? What amazes you about his game most?

 

Its a lot of fun because he is a very competitive guy and works hard everyday ! His strength and ability to score the ball is so efficient!

 

You have played with many solid point guards in your career, but where does Brandon Lockhart rank with all the guys that you have played with in your career?

 

Puhh that’s a good one ! But I probably have to say him and Devon Moore have to split my 1. spot because they are very similar to each other as they both are pass first guards but also can score if it’s needed to be ! But I really like to play with him because I know when I’m open he will find me !

 

 

 

You are having another very solid season as your rebounds are a bit down from last season, but your averaging over two assists a game. What has been your summary of your play and what do you still want to improve this season?

 

I am happy because we are winning of course ! But yeah my stats are solid, but I think I still have to improve my rebounding a bit more and my ft %

 

 

You are a guy that can fill up the stat sheet, but what is a hidden strength in your game that doesn´t get noticed right away on the court?

 

I would probably say my ability to pass the ball and my defense

 

 

Your only 25 years old and still have a lot of basketball ahead of you. You played 65 Pro A games from 2013-2015 with Ehingen. What goals do you still have for yourself as a player?

 

My goal is it to make it to the BBL.

 

Don´t you see yourself better than playing at the Pro B level?

 

To good no but I know that I can produce in Pro a as well if I get the opportunity and playing time ! All I need is the trust from my coach and I know I can improve my game . I got the opportunity and trust from Dario Jerkic and my game stepped up a lot.

 

 

You played two seasons with current Fraport Skyliner Mahir Agva. Do you see him be able to make an impact in the EasyCredit BBL in the future?

 

Yes he is a talented young kid with a lot of confidence and a really good work ethic! He is never satisfied with just good, but he wants to be the best

 

 

You played three seasons with Weissenhorn from 2010-2013. What memories did you have from this time? There were many young players at tjhis time. From what young German player do you feel were you able to gain the most from?

 

The time in Weißenhorn was a learning progress and specially the first 1,5 half years because it really was my first years after NBBL playing against grown men so I had to adjust my game ! I probably learned the most in my last year from Myles Hesson ! He showed me how to use my strengths!

 

If you had to construct your own NBA Rushmore, which 4 heads would you choose?

 

 

 

I

I would go with Lebron James, Michael Jordan, Shaquille O’Neal and Dwayne Wade but Wade is just in it because he is my favorite player

 

Lebron finally brought an NBA title to the Cavs. Where does he stand at the moment in the never ending debate with where he stands as the best of all-time?

 

On my list he is the greatest ever to play ! Put him in any team and they will be great ! He just does everything!

 

 

 

 

Where do you rank Kevin Garnett with the best power forwards that ever played the game?

 

 

 

 

Probably top 3. I mean he was a great defender his offensive game was nice and in the season 2003-2004 he was the MVP of the league and he won 1 championship so there isn’t anything he hasn’t accomplished!

 

 

 

 

 

Klay Thompson recently hit 60 points in 29 minutes touching the ball for only 90 seconds. Where does this performance rank with you?

 

It was insane never seen anything like this because he’s a shooter and he really don’t need the ball in his hands a lot ! It’s just catch and shot for him and when he’s hot than he’s hot.

 

One always talks about Lebron and Curry, but one has to mention Russell Westbrook. He is averaging triple double stats at the moment. Is he stat wise the best player in the world right now?

 

Don’t get me wrong that’s some crazy numbers that he is putting up almost every night ! But his team is not wining that’s the only thing bad about the whole thing. Otherwise that’s just crazy and unbelievable!!

 

 

 

What was the last movie that you saw?

 

The last movies I watched was all of the Harry Potter movies

 

Thanks Brian for the chat.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

