Larry Gordon (SC Rasta Vechta) Derrick Allen Gives Me Hope As A Basketball Player

Larry Gordon is a 29 year old 196cm forward that is back in Germany having signed with SC Rasta Vechta. He started the season with Sonic Boom KT (Korea-KBL) playing 19 games averaging  14.9ppg, 6.2rpg, 2.1apg, 1.3spg, 2FGP: 51.3%, 3FGP: 35.6%, FT: 82.1%. Last season he played with the  Eisbaeren Bremerhaven playing 33 games averaging 10.1ppg, 5.4rpg, 1.4apg, FGP: 57.8%, 3PT: 42.6%, FT: 84.3%. The American played a total of 101 games for Phoenix Hagen from 2012-2015 leading them into the playoffs once  He played at  Cal Poly Pomona (NCAA2) from 2005 to 2009 playing a total of  116 NCAA2 games. In his senior year, he played 33 games: 15.7ppg, 10.4rpg, 2.0apg, 1.7apg, FGP: 53.8%, 3PT: 38.5%, FT: 75.7%. He was a CCAA Player of the Year and NCAA D2 Finalist in 2009. In 2009-2010, he came to Europe as a rookie and played for Landstede Basketbal Zwolle (Holland-Eredivisie) playing 36 games and averaging 14.0ppg, 8.1rpg, 1.8apg, 1.2spg, FGP: 48.3%, 3PT: 33.7%, FT: 75.8%. He played for ECE Bulls Kapfenberg (Austria-A Bundesliga) from 2010-2012 before coming to Phoenix Hagen in 2012. Larry Gordon has been a regular for German Hoops as he gave his 40th interview for the website.

Larry thanks for talking to German Hoops Welcome back to Germany. When I say 36/22 do you have any idea what I am referring to?

I have no idea!

Well let me clear up the math lesson and tell you that 36 stands for the minutes you played in a 75-67 win in Vecta 3 years ago where you led the team with 22 points. What do you remember about the breathtaking atmosphere in the Rasta Dome?

It’s small and loud, with a great fan base.

How excited are you to be playing in Vechta? How big is this challenge for you coming and trying to get Vechta back to winning ways?

I’m very excited, I’m back in Germany which is like a second home for me. This will be a very big challenge for me given the situation but nothing I haven’t experienced before.

SC Rasta Vechta have many talented players, but do you feel in a way like being a type of savior?

Oh no I’m no savior, I’m just here to add more fire power to the team. Like you said we have many talented players. I don’t think the team needs to be saved, we just need the extra boost to get us over the top and get in a rhythm of winning games.

You played 12 minutes in a bitter 87-83 loss at home against the Giessen 46ers. What was key for not being able to pull out the win?

I think we just kind of lost focus in the 3rd, which lead to huge run for them and then from there on they had the momentum.

Giessen is a very talented team and might be overachieving, but don´t tell them that. What positives could you take out of this loss as a team?

Yeah, they were not a bad team, they played well in the 2nd half against us. Well for me, I can see the potential we have as a team to really turn this season around. We played a really good first half in this game and I think if we can transfer that focus, energy and intensity to the second half, we will win games.

How confident are you that this team with many BBL veterans can turn this team around?

I’m actually very confident. Vechta has been in a lot of games this season where they could have gotten a Win. One thing about having experience is that you have the knowledge to know how to Win in these situations.

You only played 12 minutes after just arriving. How tough was it for you just getting reacquainted with everything as well as fighting the jet lag?

It was pretty tough man I’m not going to lie. I was pretty exhausted but I fought through it. I think I could have played more if called upon but I don’t think they wanted to push me too hard first time out. It’s going to take me a few days but I’ll be back to my old self really soon.

Some figured you fled Germany for team Sonic Boom KT (Korea-KBL) because of the money and you had good stats there, but now your back in Germany. What were the main reasons for coming back to Germany?

Well that’s not true, I fled Germany because there were no opportunities for me after my season last year. So I chose to try out a different market including Korea to expand my chances of playing somewhere. And I came back to Germany because things didn’t work out with KT, so I left. And I was lucky enough that this opportunity in Vechta was available, so I’m very happy to be back in the BBL.

You lived a few months in a totally new culture. Did you experience some kind of culture shock? What was the coolist thing you experienced in Korea that you will always remember?

 It definitely was a culture shock. But it was definitely fun and exciting to experience. The favorite moment was when I got to go to a festival and experienced the South Korean culture first hand. I wore traditional clothes, ate traditional food, watched traditional shows and events. It was a very good time and I enjoyed it.

You were a scorer and rebounder for Phoenix Hagen, but also glue guy that kept that team together. What kind of role do you see having with SC Rasta Vechta?

I feel I will have that exact same roll here in Vechta. Scoring and rebounding are two of my major strengths, But I have improved my game since then and I have a lot more to bring to the team, like my defensive prowess and my play-making IQ.

You have some talented guys at the small forward position with sharp shooter Moses Ehambe and Travis Warech. Are you concerned that you might get less minutes?

Not at all, because it doesn’t matter to me as long as we are winning games. You know me, points, stats and minutes don’t mean anything to me if we are not winning games.

How excited are you to be playing with BBL dinosaur Derrick Allen. He belongs to the hardest working and most dedicated players in the BBL. What has always amazed you about his game over the years when you played against him?

Actually I am excited to be playing with him. What has amazed me the most is that he still finds the energy to get back on the court year after year. He gives me hope as a basketball player, that if I take care of my body and work hard, I can play for a very long time.

This is your second season away from Phoenix Hagen, but how much do you feel for the organization that closed up shop? How much does Ingo Freyer deserve a new coaching job?

I have a lot of love for Hagen, some of my best times as a pro were in Hagen. Great teammates, great people and great fans. It was sad to see the situation there and I hope they are able to overcome it and get back. I’m sure Ingo with get his shot somewhere for sure.

Klay Thompson recently hit 60 points in 29 minutes touching the ball for only 90 seconds. Where does this performance rank with you?

It was incredible to watch, and definitely enjoyed one of the top performances in our basketball generation.

One always talks about Lebron and Curry, but one has to mention Russell Westbrook. He is averaging triple double stats at the moment. Is he stat wise the best player in the world right now?

He is definitely the best all around player in the league right now. I wouldn’t give him best player in the world just yet, I think Lebron still holds on to that title.

What was the last movie that you saw?

Mac Steel.

Thanks for the chat Larry.

Leave a Reply

