Vance Hall (MLP Academics Heidelberg) I Take Pride In Making Toughness Plays

Vance Hall is a 25 year old 193cm point guard from Frankfort, Kentucky that is playing his second professional season and first with the  MLP Academics Heidelberg (Germany-ProA). Last season as a rookie he played for  Thor Thorl (Iceland-Dominos League) playing  26 games: 23.6ppg, 6.8rpg, 4.5apg, 1.6spg, FGP: 48.3%, 3PT: 37.9%, FT: 86.8%. He started his basketball career in 2010 with Wright St. (NCAA) where he played until 2010 playing a total of 55 NCAA games. In 2012 he moved to Bellarmine (NCAA2) playing 32 games: 14.9ppg, 3.7rpg, 2.4apg, 1.0spg, FGP: 55.0%, 3PT: 45.9%, FT: 91.4%. As a senior for Bellarmine (NCAA2) he played 31 games: 14.7ppg, 4.6rpg, 4.7apg, 1.1spg, FGP: 49.2%, 3PT: 41.4%. He spoke to German Hoops after the 64-49 win against Nurnberg.

Vance thanks for talking to German Hoops. Congrats on the big 64-49 win against Nurnberg. Coming into the game Heidelberg had lost three of four games. How important was getting the win and is this the start of a longer winning streak?

Losing 3 out of 4 games is very tough but I hope we learned from each of those games. It was very crucial that we went to Nurnberg to handle business and get back on the winning side of things. Hopefully this is a start to a longer streak of wins

Last week Diante Watkins went off for 34 points. This time you held him to 14 points and six turnovers. How vital was it really making basketball life difficult for him for 40 minutes?

It was very important for us to limit him in that game and we did so by team defense. That was one of our goals for the game.

You held Nurnberg to the lowest point total of the season with 49 points. Was this the best defensive team effort of the season or was games against Chemnitz, Hamburg or Essen better?

I would say this was definitely one of the top three defensive performances from us this year. Not sure which is the first

Heidelberg is the best defensive team in the German Pro A giving up 69 points per game. How have you seen the progression of the defense from game one?

We are starting to communicate a lot better with each other out there on the court. You need good communication to have a good defense and we have improved I think every game with that

What is the secret to the success of the stellar defensive play? Is it effort coupled with trust?

Definitely trusting your teammates. Trusting your teammates is one of the most important things on both sides of the ball. Offense and defense

Your playing your first season in the Pro A and as a rookie played with Thor Thorl (Iceland-Dominos League)26 games: 23.6ppg, 6.8rpg, 4.5apg, 1.6spg, FGP: 48.3%, 3PT: 37.9%, FT: 86.8%. What has been the biggest adjustment coming to the Pro A from Iceland?

 The biggest adjustment would really just be learning new teammates and what style of basketball they play. This league is a step up too so competition is better

The team has many scoring options, but you are one of the most consistent scorers on the team. What is your role on the team?

My role on the team is to do whatever it is possible to help us get to our next win. Some nights that may consist of scoring the ball and some nights that may mean I need to play more defense in certain areas or make hustle plays to get us going

You have meshed very well with experienced Hrvoje Kovacevic. How have you benefited most from his basketball mind?

Kova has been a great teammate. He is always there to lend a helping hand of knowledge when it is needed. He has been a very big asset to our team in the season so far

You are a guy that can fill the stat sheet, but what would you say is a hidden strength in your game that doesn´t always get noticed right away on the court?

I take pride in making toughness plays. There might be that one loose ball that gets us that extra possession and I want that for my team

What was your wake up call to being a rookie in Iceland last season where you knew that you were very far away from Kentucky?

The first night I laid my head down on the pillow I thought where am I, but once I got to the basketball gym that was no foreign language to me. I knew I was there to work and get better with my team

After you finished at Bellarmine(NCAA2) in 2014, you didn´t turn professional right away and then played in the Kentuckiana Pro Am (Team KPA #1) before going to Iceland. Were you not sure that you wanted to go the professional route after school?

I really wanted to go play professional basketball for sure but there was no reason for not going right away, I just put it in Gods hands and it wound up turning out for the best for me

After not playing much at Wright State(NCAA) you transferred to Bellarmine(NCAA2) and had two strong seasons there shooting over 40% from downtown. How do you feel did you grow as a player in your last two seasons?

I feel I did great in my last two seasons. I loved the location I was in and to be a part of the Bellarmine basketball program was something special to me

You came to Bellarmine after Braydon Hobbs had left and he has had a stellar career moving up the basketball ladder step by step. Is he like a role model for you in that you want to follow in his footsteps as a professional and be successful?

Of course Braydon is a role model to me. We keep in touch often and see each other at times in the summer. He’s a great guy and I hope he keeps his trail of success continuing

As a freshman at Wright State(NCAA) you were teammates with Vaughn Duggins for one season before he went overseas and has had a great career in Germany and France. What memories do you have of him? What were you able to learn from him that has helped you throughout your career?

I learned a lot from Vaughn being a freshman at Wright State. Going up against him and other elite guards every day definitely helped shape me into the guard I am today.

How did head coach Scott Davenport groom and prepare you best for a professional basketball career at Wright State?

Coach Davenport taught us many things at Bellarmine. How to present ourselves on and off the court. He was a very big part in helping me take my game to the next level at Bellarmine and I have nothing but thanks for him

Who won a one on one you or Vaughn Duggins?

I’m not sure haha I think I could give him a run for his money

What have you learned to appreciate most about Germany? You live in a very nice area and you can visit many nice places quickly?

I love Germany and the location I am in. So many places to go and see right here in Heidelberg

Lebron finally brought an NBA title to the Cavs. Where does he stand at the moment in the never ending debate with where he stands as the best of all-time?

I think he is definitely one of the best of all time. I’m not sure who is number one but he is definitely in the conversation for number one

Where do you rank Kevin Garnett with the best power forwards that ever played the game?

I think Kevin Garnett could be ranked one

What was the last movie that you saw?

Dr. strange

 

Thanks Vance for the chat.

Leave a Reply

