Sterling Carter(I’ve Prided Myself On The Defensive Side Of The Ball My Whole Career)

Sterling Carter is a 26 year old 183cm point guard from Seattle, Washington and played his rookie season with Pro A team Dragons Rhondorf last season averaging 15.6ppg, 3.5rpg, 3.5apg, 1.6spg, FGP: 34.2%, 3PT: 33.5%, FT: 64.6%. He started his basketball career at Pacific, then played three years at Seattle(NCAA) and finished at Purdue in 2014. Carter played 25 games averaging 15,6ppg, 3,5rpg and 3,5apg. He is still unsigned and spoke to German Hoops about basketball.

 

 

 

Sterling thanks for talking to German Hoops. Where are you at the moment and how is your life going at the moment?

At the moment I’m at home getting ready to watch the Seattle Seahawks game. Life is going ok it would be better if I was on a team playing ball.

It is the middle of November and you are still unsigned. I know you are happy to be with your family, but how tough is it for you not playing professional ball now?

Honestly it hurts a lot and I thought I had a good enough season to move up and get a decent contract to play this season, but unfortunately I didn’t. I love being home with my wife and Daughters but I love the Game and it sucks being away from the game.

How did you experience the transfer market last summer? You can´t honestly tell me not one single team had any interest in you?

The news I got from my previous Agency was that no teams were interested in me and that I was to small to play SG and had too many turnovers to play the PG and the offers that he did mention to me wasn’t enough money to provide for my family. So I’m in the position that I’m in now sitting at home.

When you hear teams say that you are too small or too small to guard the two position, how does that make you feel? Can you understand why they say that?

Well to me it it’s an insult to me I feel like I’ve prided myself on the defensive side of the ball my whole career at Purdue University I was looked at as the defensive stopper and Shooter so to hear that is crazy to me. But being to small is the same I see guys shorter than me in the NBA and in Europe that continue to play year after year I have the heart of a lion I’ve never worried about being small and I averaged 15.6 points last year at the same height so why does that matter now going into my second year.

Last season you played for the Dragons Rhoendorf (Germany-ProA) playing 25 games: Score-4(15.6ppg), 3.5rpg, 3.5apg, 1.6spg, FGP: 34.2%, 3PT: 33.5%, FT: 64.6%. How content were you with your game?

I wasn’t content at all with my stats last season but what a lot of people and clubs didn’t understand is I sat out the year before rehabilitating my knee and came back and had a decent year I would say for my rookie year. I’m just thankful the Dragons gave me the opportunity to play for their club.

Do you feel like teams feel like you were unable to successfully lead a team to success? How unfair do you see this statement?

I see that being very unfair I did everything the coaches ever asked for me I got along with all my guys in the team I wasn’t a selfish guy. I feel like I lead by example and focused more about the on the court things then off the court things I worked hard and gave the Dragons all I had last season!

Last season Rhondorf was talent wise behind most teams in the Pro A. You often had the need to do everything by yourself. Do you feel like teams didn´t take that into consideration when evaluating your rookie season?

Yea I think they looked at it as me being a selfish play when it wasn’t that at all. My coaches asked me to do what I did at times I’d get myself in trouble by being passive in situations where I should have taken shots or pulled back I did a lot for the team and that was something I thought other teams would have noticed by watching my Film but I was obviously wrong since I’m still sitting at home.

How difficult was it taking in your role last season with Rhondorf? You left the team before the season ended. Do you feel at times that both sides misunderstood each other?

Well I feel like I did all they asked of me and even with the coaching change midseason I still tried my best to buy into what the coach wanted it just came down to him choosing to play the younger guys to give them experience for the next season. So be both decided that it be best for me to go back home to be with my family.

What do you believe did you learn from your rookie season in Germany that will make you stronger in that next professional experience?

I learned that if your team´s not winning it will be hard to get a good job the next season and I learned that your all sometimes isn’t enough and  just continue to trust the grind!

Your teammate Viktor Frankl-Maus is one of the top German point guards in the Pro B. Do you hope to believe that he picked something up from your game that has helped him mature further?

I’m very happy to hear that for him he’s a great guy and good PG and I think he might have taken somethings from my game. We pushed each other all last season and our record didn’t show but we made each other better each and every practice.

Have you considered possibly playing in the States in t6he semi-pro leagues to keep your basketball resume updated?

No I don’t plan to play in the Semi-pro.

How are you keeping in shape at the moment? How does a normal work out day look like for you in November?

After my full day at work I make sure to get a lift in 3 out of the five days a week and get shots up daily. I also run 2miles 3 days out the week and do a lot of stretching.

If you had the chance to come back to Germany now, how do you feel that you could help any team best?

I could help with ball handling ,playmaking, shooting, on ball defense. And just having a Winning attitude.

With Curry, Thompson and Durant and the supporting cast, shouldn´t the Golden State Warriors be undefeated instead of 7-2?

 No I think they are right on track and need some time to gel.

Does a 0/10 shooting night by Steph Curry prove he is really only human?

Yea every great shooter goes through those type of nights anyone who disagrees isn’t a real shooter.

Kevin Garnett has retired. Where do you feel does he rank in the best power forwards of all-time?

I honestly think he is top 5 of all time and he’s a great guy and a winner and mostly hard worker.

What was the last movie that you saw?

Ride Along 2.

Thanks Sterling for the chat. Check out his rookie highlight reel https://youtu.be/3lMhiHD1vS4

and for interest in his services email Sportycarter10@gmail.com

 

Leave a Reply

