Brandon Shingles(I’ve Made A Career Out Of Being A Well-Rounded Player)

Brandon Shingles is a 28 year old 190cm guard from Albany, Georgia that currently is at home waiting by the phone for a job. Last season he played for the UNI-Riesen Leipzig playing 23 games averaging 14.3ppg, 6.0rpg, 4.9apg, 2.0spg, FGP: 62.1%, 3PT: 18.2%, FT: 67.2% He started his basketball career at Morehead St. (NCAA) and as a senior played 32 games: 4.8ppg, 2.2rpg, 4.8apg, 1.5spg. In 2010 he started his professional basketball career at  Aschersleben Tigers BC (Germany-2.Regionalliga) playing  15 games: 14.5ppg. He led the team to the Regionaliga 2 title. In the 2011-2012 season he played for Guildford Heat (United Kingdom-BBL) playing  6 games: 7.5ppg, 4.8rpg, 2.8apg, FGP: 57.1%, FT: 31.3%; left in Nov.’11, then moved to BBC Febro Eagles Magdeburg (Germany-Regionalliga) playing  7 games: 16.1ppg, 7.1 rpg, 3.9apg, 2.0spg, FGP: 61.8%, FT: 63.0%. He then played for KB Drita Gjilan (Kosovo-SuperLeague) and three years ago for GBP Badajoz (Spain-EBA) playing 15 games: 15.5ppg, 8.3rpg, 3.6apg, 2.3spg, 2FGP: 60.8%, 3PT: 6.3%, FT: 57.3%. He spoke to German Hoops about basketball.

 

Brandon thanks for talking to German Hoops. Where are you at the moment and how was your summer?

Summer was good with a lot of training and traveling. I also coached AAU in the summer. I’m currently an assistant coach at Taylor county high school.

It is well into the new basketball season and you are still unsigned in November. How surprised are you that you aren´t playing at the moment?

I’m very shocked that I’m not playing. I’ve put many hours of practice and preparation for the upcoming season. My love for the game keeps me going and I’m hopeful that a team will recognize my efforts.

Last season for the Uni-Riesen Leipzig (Germany-ProB) you played 23 games averaging 14.3ppg, 6.0rpg, 4.9apg, 2.0spg, FGP: 62.1%, 3PT: 18.2%, FT: 67.2%. Wasn´t there sufficient interest last summer from clubs?

Yes. After the season I had an opportunity to play in Mexico, cibacopa. However, I turned it down to spend the summer with my daughter.

Did you have aspirations of possibly trying to hard to move up a level instead of maybe staying realistic and trying to sign for another PRO B team?

I will never limit myself but if a Pro B team is the right fit for me, I will gladly seize the opportunity.

I never understood why you didn´t resign with the UNI Riesen Leipzig. Wasn´t there any interest from them?

I have a good relationship with the management, players, and fans. The coaching staff experienced some changes and unfortunately I wasn’t the best fit for the team moving forward.

How have you been holding up mentally with having to work out and wait by the phone while many of your friends are balling in Europe.

Of course I miss playing and the competition but I’m focused on reaching my goal of returning to the league. I’m using this break as motivation.

Besides your family and closest friends has there been any one else in particular that has really helped you stay positive?

My family and friends are the people who push and motivate me everyday. They are my biggest supporters and push me to keep working hard to realize my goals.

Have you talked to your ex teammate Julian Scott who was briefly in the Pro A with Ehingen and now is balling in Luxemburg about what he went through?

Julian and I really bonded last year. We actually speak often. He’s in Luxembourg and enjoying his new situation. I expect to see big things from Julian this year.

The UNI-Riesen Leipzig are struggling this season. Do you feel for your old team?

I do feel for them. It is the beginning of the season, so hopefully they will be able to work together and be the team they can be.

Do you sometimes think that things might be different there if you had the point guard reigns in your hands?

As a point guard, I sacrifice my game for the betterment of the team. I feel as though I help my teammates become better players. Any team would be different with me on the court.

How have you been keeping in shape? How strange is it working out now in fall then having those grueling work outs during the dog days of summer?

I’m coaching now so all of my workouts are done in the evening. I’ve been working on my three point shot as well as agility training. Cross fit also plays a part in my routine.

How does a typical work out day look like for you in November?

I do crossfit workouts then I head to the gym to perfect all aspects of my game.

If you had to describe your game in a few sentences as to why you could help any team now how would you do it?

I can do it all. I’ve made a career out of being a well-rounded player. No matter what position, I can adapt to any circumstance.

When do you see the Golden State warriors going on a huge win streak with their new golden trio of Durant, Curry and Thompson?

They have a high octane offense. Once they figure out how to work together, they’ll flourish. I’m thinking the synchronization will come into play around January.

Did Steph Curry prove the other night that he indeed is human going 0/10 from outside?

Players have off nights. Simple as that.

Kevin Garnett has finally retired. Where does he rank in the all-time best power forwards in the NBA of all-time?

He’s definitely in the top three.

What was the last movie that you saw?

13th on Netflix.

Thanks Brandon for the chat.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

