Deandre Lansdowne(Hamburg Towers) I Still Think I Can Do Much Better And That’s The Great Thing That The Season Is Long

Deandre Lansdowne is a 26 year old 187cm guard from Albuquerque, Mexico that is playing his third professional season this season and first with the Hamburg Towers. Last season he played with Hertener Loewen Basketball (Germany-Pro B) playing 27 games: Score-2(22.9ppg), 8.1rpg, 3.6apg, Steals-5(2.6spg), FGP: 61.5%, 3PT: 30.8%, FT: 66.5% He played college ball at Fort Lewis (NCAA2) and as a senior played 32 games averaging 15.3ppg, 4.8rpg, 2.1apg, 2.0spg, FGP: 47.2%, 3PT: 37.1%, FT: 50.7%. He then gained his first professional experience with Pioneros de Delicias (Mexico-Chihuahua Vive) before continuing career in Germany. He spoke to German Hoops after the 99-86 win against the ETB Wohnbau Baskets.

 

 

Deandre congrats on the big 99-86 win against the ETB Wohnbau Baskets Essen. How good does it feel being on a two game winning streak?

 It is feeling pretty good, but we still have a long way to go to get to where we want to be as a team.

Both teams found their shooting touch in the first quarter, but the Hamburg Towers were able to slip away in the second quarter leading 51-41 at the break. What was key for having the comfortable lead at halftime?

Essen is a very strong offensive team, and can really get hot at any moment. It’s always good to go into the half with an ok lead because you know the road team will come out in the 3rd really aggressive.

Essen was fighting hard in the third quarter and Hamburg wasn´t able to shake them until Robert Ferguson scored three consecutive buckets and you led 74-65 after three. Was this the needed momentum for the team going into the fourth quarter?

Yes, throughout the game we had some key individual runs. Ferguson had that one and also Anthony Canty had one in the 4th that I think was able to break there will.

You scored back to back baskets in the fourth as the Hamburg Towers kept up their offensive consistency. How vital was it not losing focus on the offensive end and finishing the contest strong?

Always is a good thing. But I think we got a couple key stops making Essen work extremely hard to get any basket and I think it wore them out.

You scored 15 points and had three steals in 17 minutes and was the third most efficient Tower in the game. Were you content with your game and aggressiveness on both ends of the court?

Yes, I was fully content. Coach wants me to be aggressive and confident on both ends of the floor. And if it helps my team be successful then I am happy.

The Hamburg Towers are riding a two game winning streak after losing to Hanau and the RheinStars. How important was the win against MBC? Did this win spark the club and boost their game?

Yes I think it was a big team win. Got a win at home, in front of a good crowd, against a really good team. Especially after two hard losses, it was a win we really needed.

What do you feel have the Hamburg Towers improved in their game in this two game winning streak?

I think our shooting percentage was much better. But also defensively we played better as a unit. We obviously can score, our man focus is defense.

How much fun is it for you playing on a team that has only two imports and a load of very solid German players that are getting the job done?

It’s very fun! I’ve learned a lot from this team so far, and will continue learning much more. This team has so many great pieces and it’s great that everyone also loves sharing the ball as well.

How has it been playing with Anthony Canty? How do both of you benefit from each other on and off the court?

Tony is great teammate and point guard! He expects the most of you every time you step out on the court. His IQ is extremely high for the game so we are always talking about situations in the game to make this happen.

You tore up the German Pro B last season with Herten and this season you are holding your own in the Pro A with Hamburg averaging 10,2ppg, 4,0rpg, 2,0apg and 1,8spg. What has been the biggest adjustment for you this season?

Everything has been an adjustment. Different teammates, coaches, coaching philosophy, etc… but it’s all been positive growth for me and my game. I still think I can do much better, and that’s the great thing, the season is long. But I have 0 pressure on myself. I’m surrounded by a great group, whatever I have to do to win, I will accept that role.

You aren´t the central focus this season as you were with Herten. Has it been tough accepting a new role and not scoring as much anymore?

At times, yes it can be a tough adjustment, but I’ve been pushed by coach a lot to just play my game and to be aggressive. Coming here I was never asked to change. I am surrounded by a lot of good players, also the defense in this league is also much stronger. I never came here expecting to have the same numbers, only to produce well enough wherever I need to, to help this team be successful.

Your game isn´t only offense, but your defensive presence is just as imposing as your currently averaging 1,8spg. How much has your defense this season helped your offense get going during games?

My defense does help my offense get going. If I feel aggressive on defense and I’m really active it translates to me playing the same offensively. I also think the more deflections and steals I get that possibly lead to fast breaks, where I believe I’m very strong.

Winning as much as possible is your main goal, but what do you ultimately want to achieve this season with your game that will help you grow as a player?

I am currently playing at the highest level I have ever played, so continuing to learn as much as I can. So many small details that I can learn, to add to my athletic ability and skill set that I already have. Each year you look to continue to grow and to say that you were a better basketball player this year than you were last, and hope it continues to take you higher places.

Hamburg is one of the most beautiful cities in Germany. What have you learned to appreciate the most about your new home?

The ports and the people are the most enjoyable things about Hamburg so far!

Kevin Garnett has retired. Where do you see his legacy ending with the all-time best power forwards to have ever played in the NBA?

Probably top 5. He played so many seasons at such a high level and was consistent for all of those years.

What was the last movie that you saw?

Suicide Squad.

Thanks Deandre for the chat.

 

Leave a Reply

