Matt Reid (Artland Dragons) The Key To My Long Career is I Am Never Satisfied And Always Working On My Game To Be A Better Player And Teammate

Matt Reid is a 32 year old 185cm guard that hast he German/American citzenship and is playing his tenth professional season and first with the Artland Dragons. He started his career with Cerritos JC (NJCAA) and then played two seasons with Cameron (NCAA2) and as a senior played 26 games averaging  20.2ppg, 5.4rpg, 3.3apg, 2.2spg, FGP: 46.1%, 3TP: 36.0%, FT: 81.0%. He turned professional in 2007 and played for the Schwelmer Baskets (Germany-Regionalliga).He then played two seasons with Saarlouis before moving to SC Rasta Vechta where he played from 2010-2012. He then gained further experience with RSV Eintracht Stahnsdorf (Germany-ProB) and Herten(Pro B). He returned back to SC Rasta Vechta in 2014 where he played two more seasons before moving to Artland this season. He spoke to German Hoops after the big 95-69 win against SC Rist Wedel.

Matt thanks for talking to German Hoops. Congrats on the huge 95-69 victory against SC Rist Wedel. This was the highest scoring game of the Artland Dragons this season with 17 three´s and 30 assists. How perfect was this offensive demonstration?

Yes it was a great game for us behind the arc and lots of team-play with dishing out 30 assists. SC Rist Wedel played 2-3 zone defense the whole game and we did a great job noticing it early and our shooters had a great night behind the arc. Coach Dragan did a great job with video and practice to prepare us for SC Rist Wedel and their zone defense they frequently play.

The game was dead locked at 41-41. What did head coach Dragan Dojcin tell the team to do better in the third quarter which resulted in the team breaking away and scoring 29 points?

Coach just told us to continue to be aggressive and take the open shots with confidence and to keep pushing the ball and try to get more fast break points and to still be aggressive on the defensive end of the floor.

What did the Artland Dragons learn from the first half that enabled you to give up only 28 points in the second half?

We learned that even if we are not making shots in the first half to still come out in the second half and not second guess ourselves and shoot the ball with confidence and stay disciplined in our defensive concept and stay together as a team on the offensive end.

You match up against very skilled point guards each game and how was the battle against the younger Will Barnes who had 10 points, five assists and six rebounds. He has a hard task leading a team full of Germans.

Will Barnes has had a lot of success in his career playing in Germany and despite the injuries in his past I am happy to see him overcome them and to be back on the court and helping lead his team of young talented German players. They have a good team and definitely will surprise some top teams this season especially with Will Barnes playing point guard who can score 30+ points on any given night.

The Artland Dragons seem to be Up and Down when playing road games this season. Has the team found a defined identity on the defensive end?

We realize that we have to be more consistent for 40 minutes on the defensive end of the floor and especially when playing on the road and we all know that we are one of the top teams in offense but our goal is to be one of the top teams in defense as well.

The Artland Dragons have a very talented team with experience. Is the team playing and feeling like a team that is the favorite in the Pro B north?

Coach has done a great job with putting this team together, my teammates are a great group of guys and we get along great with each other and we understand that even with all the talent we have on our roster, to win and have success each and every one of us has to make a sacrifice and do what needs to be done to help our team win games this season. So as of us thinking about being the favorite in the Pro B North, we will let the fans decide that and we are just focused on taking it game by game and preparing ourselves for our next opponent Rostock this weekend.

You are still looking for your first professional title. How hungry are you this season to make this a reality with the Artland Dragons?

Words cannot express how hungry I am for the title this season, but I think this is the right mentality for every player to have before season starts.

How do you feel did the BBL year with Crailsheim help Chris Frazier who has been a big spark for the team?

Chris has been playing awesome this season and I am happy to be passing the ball to him and not having to worry about chasing him off screens. He has brought a lot of great qualities to the team from his experience in the BBL and just to point out one of them is his high level intensity that he has in practice and in the games as well. He has learned and also played in that BBL atmosphere and he does a great job in leading by example on our team.

How rewarding has it been working with point guard Philipp Lieser? That is a very solid point guard duo for Pro B standards.

Phillip is a great guy on and off the court he is always in the gym working on his game and we talk a lot on what we can do as point guards to help the team be more successful.

After getting limited minutes in the Pro A with SC Rasta Vechta, how good does it feel getting good minutes this season with the Artland Dragons?

I think I speak for all players when I say it definitely feels great to play good minutes on the floor but its also is a great feeling to be a part of a winning team and compete everyday against some of the best players in the Pro A last season and being a part of SC Rasta Vechta last season was an experience I will never forget and was able to learn a lot and also made some great friendships that will last a lifetime.

You have been a scorer pretty much your whole life, but this season with so many scoring threats, are you concentrating mostly of being the best playmaker that you can be?

Coach and I talked a lot before season started and it just has a lot to do with what is my role on the team and we came to the conclusion that for his systems to work and for us to be a top team that I will have to organize the game and make right decisions and reads without turnovers and when or if the time presents itself to look to create for myself or my teammates  Coach knows I can score the basketball but he trusts me to be a point guard first and when the shot clock is running down he feels its a added bonus that I am able to create and score if needed to.

You are averaging 6,2apg at the moment which is the most in your career at the Pro B level. Is your playmaking made easier with the unending talent that the Artland Dragons have this season?

Before season started I realized how great of a team we have and so many individually talented players I knew right away that it could be possible to average between 7-10 assist per game and so far so good. My teammates do a great job of knocking down shots when they are open.

You played four seasons with SC Rasta Vechta. What was your most memorable experience you had on the court as a player and off the court with your teammates?

My most memorable experience on the court was winning 25 games in a row last season and the most memorable off the court was also last season with my fiance in our new home and having my teammates with their family and also coaches come over and enjoy an unbelievable thanksgiving dinner that I cant take credit for preparing but all the credit went to the awesome wives and fiances who did a great job with preparing that wonderful evening.

Your one of those guys that has been around forever. It seems like you will play for many more years, but how much of a push did Derrick Allen give you last season to keep having that drive to play into your thirties?

I dont think I have never played with someone so professional and experienced in playing high performance level basketball like Derrick Allen. He taught me so many things last season as to being a leader on and off the court, the type of attitude and winning mentality that a player should bring to practice and games without taking a day off and all the way down the list to even giving me the right insight to staying disciplined to what type of food to put in the human body after the age of 30 during season and off-season. I still call him from time to time just to talk basketball. Looking at him still playing at a high level in his mid 30´s is definitely motivation for me to keep grinding.

In your last season at Saarlouis you averaged 23.8ppg, 6.9rpg, 6.7apg, 3.5spg, FGP: 62.9%, 3Pts: 29.5%, FT: 77.8%. You then made the jump to the Pro B and SC Rasta Vechta. How vital was head coach Pat Elzie in helping you make the jump and average 20,0ppg and be second in assists with 5,9apg?

Coach Pat Elzie always believed in my abilities and gave me a chance to step up and play in a higher league and I will always be thankful for him giving the opportunities he gave me in Vechta. I wish him and his new team in Itzehoe a successful season and I am sure he will have his team ready when we play them this season.

You played two seasons with Saarlouis with the one and only Ricky Easterling. He was very dominating and you were also a big time scorer. Did it ever feel like you were a bit in his shadow?

Ricky is a great friend of mine and we had two great seasons playing with each other. From day one Ricky and I had an understanding that for us to be successful we had to figure out how we can be that dynamic duo and still win games. I never felt like I was in his shadow but I was just a new point guard that Saarlouis had signed to help get Ricky the basketball in areas where he can more effective with scoring the basketball.

Easterling is still playing and has a few years on you. What is your most memorable experience that you had with him?

I think the most memorable was me visiting him in Baltimore and we spent the whole summer working out 2-3 times a day for 5 and even sometimes 6 days a week .

He could easily secure a patent on the mid distance shot, which he said he developed it in high school. Do you remember him working countless nights in the gym continuing to perfect the shot when you were there?

Man I remember countless nights of us just being in the gym working on mid-range game and different ways to score the basketball. He is a hard-worker and it definitely shows every time he steps on the court.

You played your rookie season with Schwelm. What do you remember was your wake up call to being a rookie in Germany where you knew that you were very far away from home in the states?

I think I had more than a few wake up calls, but I can remember my first day arriving at my apartment in Germany and me just turning on the TV and CNN was the only english speaking channel and that´s when I knew I was definitely far away from home.

You played two seasons with Cameron(NCAA2) after playing at Cerritos JC (NJCAA). How often did you hear that you would never make it as a player, but are still playing professionally today. What was key for you to have had such a long professional career?

I never really heard that I would not make it as player when i was playing in college. I was fortunate to have a great support system from my family and friends and even my youth coaches had confidence in my ability to play basketball. But I think the key to my long career so far is just I am never satisfied and I am always working on my game to be a better player and teammate. The last 10 seasons I´ve only taken maybe 2-3 weeks off to rest my body after a season and immediately after I started to train and prepare myself for the upcoming season.

If you had to construct your own NBA Rushmore, which 4 heads would you choose?

Magic Johnson – Lebron James – Kobe Bryant – Shaquille O´Neal

Lebron finally brought an NBA title to the Cavs. Where does he stand at the moment in the never ending debate with where he stands as the best of all-time?

I think when Lebron gets done playing he will definitely be topic of conversation to being the greatest player of all time. But as of now he still remains the best player in the world.

What was the last movie that you saw?

Nerve.

Thanks Matt for the chat.

 

Leave a Reply

