Kerry Carter (Bayer Giants Leverkusen) Everyone In The League Knows I Can Score But I Need To Be As Efficient As Possible

Kerry Carter is a 25 year old 188cm guard from West Covina, California that is playing his second professional season and first with the Bayer Giants Leverkusen (Germany-ProB). Last season as a rookie he played for Iberostar Tenerife CB Canarias (Spain-Liga Endesa) playing 5 games: 3.2ppg. He started his basketball career with Citrus College and then moved to St.Mary’s, CA (NCAA) where he played 63 NCAA games and as senior played 31 games averaging 12.1ppg, 5.0rpg, 1.5apg, 1.5spg. He currently is tearing up the German Pro B league averaging 29,0ppg and spoke to German Hoops after the 100-88 OT win against the ScanPlus Baskets.

 

 

 

Kerry congrats on the 100-89 OT win against the ScanPlus Baskets. How good was it getting your first professional win at home?

It’s been an adjustment coming from such a winning program in college but I’ve given the game everything and prepared well so I’m expecting more to come.

The Bayer Giants Leverkusen came out roaring scoring 25 points, but then were halted to 10 points in the second quarter. Was it special adjustments that the opponents made or was it just a lack of proper execution on the part of Leverkusen?

I think we didn’t score well as a team in the 2nd quarter because we turned the ball over too much. I take the credit for that. As the point guard I should have done a better job getting our guys going and finding them shots within the offense.

The ScanPlus Baskets continued to give Leverkusen nightmares with their offense as they produced 30 points in the third quarter. How vital was Brandon Lockhart for them being able to be so consistent in the game?

They have a good team and that’s a respectable win we accomplished. They fought hard and their point guard did a good job executing while playing within his means. A couple key plays could have gone either way and changed the outcome but I’m glad we got it done.

What has been your impression of German Alexander Blessig? He just completed four years in the States and the last three at Rollins(NCAA2). How has he helped the team most?

Alex has been a great asset to our team. For me personally, it’s been good to have someone who accepts the challenge to compete in practice every day. I’m always in the gym and Alex is the guy I know will always want to get in there also if he can.

How much joy is it playing with teammate Brandon Nazione? He is having a great rookie season. How does your game profit from his on the court?

Brandon comes from a very solid college program and I expected these numbers from him. He and I talk a lot about the expectations we have for each other as the imports. He has been a beast on the boards for us, getting double digit rebounds almost every night. That’s invaluable in this league.

You are tearing up the Pro B averaging 29,0ppg. When you dominate the way you do, how do you push yourself to be even better in every new game?

For me scoring is not the difficult part. I think everyone in the league knows I can score by now but I need to be as efficient as possible. I need to rebound better, take a lot more care with the ball, and be a good floor leader. Those are the things I’d like to focus on the most moving forward.

Is taking care of the ball one of the area´s that you are working on most to cut down the turnovers?

Absolutely, the turnovers are where I need to make the biggest improvement. I think as the season goes on and I become more in synch with my guys that will help a lot. I have the ball a lot in our offense. Sometimes I find myself trying too hard to get certain guys involved instead of making the simple pass but I take the good with the bad and learn from each game.

The next game is against the Dragons Rhondorf. It will be the clash between two possible top scorers of the league this season with you and Aaron Nelson. You play different positions, but how pumped will you be for this game dueling against one of the top players?

It’s always good to go against the best players. Whether in this league or another, I value that opportunity, but the most important thing is to win. When it comes to scoring, I just need to make sure my team outscores his.

 

Rhondorf is the closest team to Leverksuen and it can be considered a derby game. What was your fondest memory of the St Marys-Santa Clara rivalry back in the day?

WCC was very competitive. Santa Clara and USF were both intense Bay Area rivalries. We took pride in being the best team in our region and this is no different. It’s another opportunity to prove ourselves.

Kevin Garnett retired. Where does his legacy remain with the all-time best power forwards to have ever played the game?

Garnett left a remarkable imprint on the game of basketball. His mentality and competitive spirit made him a legend. Guys around the league hated playing him and loved having him on their team. As a player, that’s what you want. He’s top 5 power forwards of all time.

What was the last movie that you saw?

I saw magnificent 7 at the local theater here with my team last week. I’m a huge Denzel fan and we are fortunate to have them show us a movie in English when we get some down time. It’s great

Thanks Kerry for the chat.

 

Leave a Reply

