Seth Hinrichs(Kirchheim Knights) I Think The Pro A Style Fits My Game And I Think Coach Mai’s Overall Scheme Fits My Game

Seth Hinrichs is a 23 year old 203cm guard from Clara City, Minnesota that is playing his second professional season in the German Pro A with the Kirchheim Knights. Last season as a rookie he played for FC Porto (Portugal-LPB): 20 games: 8.7ppg, 5.0rpg, 1.2apg, FGP: 55.0%, 3PT: 20.7%, FT: 79.1%; FIBA Europe Cup: 6 games: 6.7ppg, 3.2rpg, FGP: 64.7%, 3PT: 14.3%, FT: 83.3%. He played at Lafayette (NCAA) from 2011-2015 graduating from Lafayette as the all-time leader in 3PG % in Patriot League history. As a senior he played 32 games averaging 12.9ppg, 5.8rpg, 2.6apg, FGP: 55.5%, 3PT: 38.3%, FT: 83.1%. He spoke to German Hoops after the 92-90 road victory in Dresden.

Seth thanks for talking to German Hoops. Welcome to Germany. You had a try-out with BBL team MHP Riesen Ludwigsburg, but landed with Kirchheim. What has been most appealing to you about the club since you joined?

I really like the coaches and my teammates. We have a good, talented group of guys and have the potential to do really well this year.

Was it difficult for you to accept the fact that the MHP Riesen Ludwigsburg didn´t need you? Your now in a league lower. How do you as a professional player handle this kind of rejection?

I was definitely disappointed but I realize it is a part of playing basketball professionally. I am very appreciative for the opportunity that Coach Patrick gave me and for the people I was able to meet at Ludwigsburg. I think playing in the Pro A is a great opportunity and now my focus is to improve as a player so that one day I can reach the BBL level or higher.

You really have had little integration problems as you came very late to the team. What do you believe has helped you most in getting the transition stage going in the right direction?

I think Coach Mai has helped in terms of going through things slowly and being patient. It’s hard to join a team that has already played together and has chemistry but the guys have been great in this transition period as well.

You are on a team that has substantial talent and you are programmed to have a big role on the team. What is your goal this season and how is it different than last season with FC Porto?

My goal is to win the Pro A and contribute to a championship in whatever ways possible. I think with the talent we have here we would be selling ourselves short with anything less.

Last season for FC Porto you played 20 games: 8.7ppg, 5.0rpg, 1.2apg, FGP: 55.0%, 3PT: 20.7%, FT: 79.1%; FIBA Europe Cup: 6 games: 6.7ppg, 3.2rpg, FGP: 64.7%, 3PT: 14.3%, FT: 83.3%,. Do you feel like you can be a consistent scorer in the Pro A and more than you were with FC Porto?

Like you said I’ll have an expanded role compared to last year so I’ll be playing more minutes and be called on to score, rebound, and assist more offensively. I have high expectations for myself this year and I am looking forward to playing for Coach Mai and Kirchheim.

Congrats on the big 92-90 road victory in Dresden. How did it feel playing your first professional game for a German team and did you remember having such an intense atmosphere last season in games in Portugal?

Thank you! It felt great having not played in an actual game since February. The atmosphere and energy was great up in Dresden. It was comparable to some games in Portugal. I was just happy to be back on the court.

It was a wild game and scoring really took center stage in the first quarter. Did defense take a back step at first or was this just two explosive offensive teams in the making?

I think both teams have potent offensive attacks but I don’t think there was a lot of defense being played in the first quarter. It was the first game of the season, players have jitters, the crowd was into it, so I think both teams we’re just getting acclimated to playing.

The game really remained close in the first three quarters and Dresden kept the lead until the midway point of the fourth until Kirchheim got the lead back. What was the most difficult thing about having to keep up with this offensive minded team on defense?

I think they jumped ahead early and we had to keep battling. They are a great transition team and kept pushing the ball up the court early and often. As the game progressed we were able to keep chipping away and eventually close their lead in the fourth.

Randall Holt was a real thorn in the Kirchheim side as he nailed huge three pointers in crunch time, but Justin Hedley won the game at the end with a shot. Take me through that last play and was it the perfect script? Hedley surely wasn´t the first option

Holt is a good player and hit some tough shots but Justin came up huge for us. We had run a pick and roll with Carrington Love and myself and he tried to create. Justin was open in the corner and dribbled past the close out and sank the 10 footer. I was excited that we won and excited for Justin! He’s one of the young guys on the team and puts in a lot of work so it was great to see that shot go in.

You had a very solid game with 18 points, three assists, six rebounds and two steals. Do you have a good feeling that the German Pro A style fits your game well?

I think the Pro A style fits my game and I think Coach Mai’s overall scheme fits my game. I’m excited to play in the Pro A this year against some good competition.

You harmonized very well with German veteran Tim Koch. How much fun is it playing with him and learning from his game on the floor?

Tim is a phenomenal shooter and basketball player. He makes shots at such a high rate that teams have to stay attached at all times or he’ll hurt them with threes. Its great playing with him because when teams stay glued to him there are more open lanes.

You take a lot of pride on defense. Do you see the Kirchheim Knights being a team that can make an impact on a consistent basis on the defensive end this season?

I definitely see potential for us to be a great defensive team. We have the tools to be great, but consistency is our problem. We’ll put together five great minutes of defense and follow that up with five terrible minutes. But I think as the season goes on we’ll improve and become a more cohesive unit.

If you had to construct your own NBA Rushmore which 4 NBA heads would you choose?

This is tough.. It’s hard to pick just four but I’ll go with MJ, Bill Russell, Kareem, and Kobe

Now that Lebron finally won a NBA title with the Cavs where does this title put him in the debate as the all-time best player in the world?

He’s in the top 10 of all-time and probably the best active player but it’s close.

What was the last movie that you saw?

Jason Bourne.

Thanks Seth for the chat.

 

Leave a Reply

