Alex Foster (RheinStars) Playing Against The Fraport Skyliners At The Wiesbaden Airbase And Supporting Basketball Aid Will Be A Special Game For Me

Alex Foster is a 23 year old 203cm forward that grew up in Portland, Oregon and also has the German citizenship and will be playing his second professional season with the RheinStars(Germany-ProA). Last season as a rookie with the RheinStars he played 29 games averaging 9.6ppg, 3.3rpg, 1.4apg, FGP: 41.3%, 3PT: 33.5%, FT: 78.4%He played at Emory (NCAA3) from 2011-2015 playing a total of 108 NCAA3 games and as a senior played 20.1ppg, 7.9rpg, 1.0apg, FGP: 44.6%, 3PT: 39.9%, FT: 79.8%. He was able to improve his scoring and rebounding average each season. He spoke to German Hoops before the exhibition game on August 25th against the Fraport Skyliners at Wiesbaden Airbase with all proceeds goingto the Basketball Aid foundation.

 

 

 

Alex thanks for talking to German Hoops. You are playing your second season now with the RheinStars. When you look back at your rookie season and progression of your German, what was your most used German sentence?

I always say “eben so,” after someone wishes me “ein schönen Tag” at the grocery or bakery. A lot of my German teammates tease me for using that phrase, because I guess it’s more formal than what they’re used to. Or maybe it’s because it’s a Southern-German thing. My mom’s family is Schwäbisch.

Last season you were a rookie and new to a new culture and new club. Now in your second season what have been the biggest advantages that you have in comparison to last season around this time?

It’s really nice coming back to the same surroundings in Cologne. I’m in the same apartment as last season and feel more like home than last season. The biggest advantage, however, are the relationships I’m coming back to. Especially with Coach Woltmann.

The club has been together for some weeks now. How has the preparation gone from your stand point? The club brought in four new players. How is the current team shaping up?

Our preseason has been going really well. The club organized a new practice facility for us, in which we’ve been putting in the time and effort to take the club to the next level. The new guys have fit in seamlessly and we’ve spending lots of time together on and off the court.

In comparison to last season´s team is this team as strong as last season´s on paper?

Stronger.

You played your first pre season game recently against Schwelm. How pleased were you with the team and on what areas does the new team still need to work on?

We still have lots of room for improvement, but it felt good to suit up together for the first time. There were some segments where we played really well, but going forward, I’d like to see us assert ourselves for the entire 40 minutes.

Last season Lakeem Jackson was a key point of the offense and this season the club got Hugh Robertson. What does he bring to the table that will help the team most?

Hugh is a talented player and a natural leader. He’s got all the skills to take over a game, but he also knows how to elevate the level of the team as a whole.

Amric Fields has come in to replace Aaron Jones. Fields had 16/7 stats last season in Slovenia. What has been your early impression of him and can he be a dominating Pro A player with consistency?

Amric is one of the most talented players I’ve played with. He’s got athleticism to go with a smooth stroke, which makes him a nightmare matchup in practice and for the rest of the league for sure.

The club also brought in 202cm forward Robin Christen who has established himself in the Pro A with Essen and Hanau. How challenging has it been battling him in practice on a daily basis?

Robin can do it all. We definitely push each other in practice, but we have the most fun when we’re put on the same team. We have a natural sense for finding scoring opportunities for each other.

216cm center German Dennis Heinzmann is a big German talent and project. How has his development been coming a long.

Dennis is the guy on the team that everybody gravitates towards. He brings tremendous energy every day. You can’t even compare where he’s at now to the beginning of last season, when we matched up with him in Leverkusen. He’s gotten so much better and I know will continue to develop into a dominant force in German basketball.

You and David Downs will lead the team this season. Do you feel any pressure that you have to step up your game a bit at the start to get the team and new players going?

I felt the pressure to get better all summer, which I did. Now back in Cologne, I feel confident enough to where I can worry less about my own game and focus on bringing the team together.

What has been your main focus in the preseason. What parts of your game are you working especially hard on?

Defense. I always try to keep my matchup from scoring, along with helping my teammates within our defensive concept.

How confident are you that you will be able to raise your game even higher from last season?

I improved my game this summer and have better players around me, so I’m very confident that I’ll be able to play at a higher level. I feel that way about all my teammates too.

How excited are you about playing an exhibition game against the Fraport Skyliners on the Wiesbaden Army Airbase which is the headquarters of the United States Army Europe. Will this be one of the more unusual places that you have played a game before?

I look forward to any chance to match up with a BBL opponent. Ultimately, that’s the level our team wants to play at, so I’m excited to show that we can hang with those guys. I’ve also been hearing a lot of good thigs about the Army base and I hope we can show the service members our best. It’s going to be a special game for sure.

The proceeds of this special game will go to the Basketball Aid which supports kids effected by cancer. The RheinStars jumped in for Northeastern who dropped out. How important is it for you to be a part of this important cause?

It’s a personally important cause for me. My grandfather is currently battling cancer. I also lost a teammate to cancer in the 6th grade. I think what Basketball Aid is doing is great and I’m excited to be a part of it.

Your good friend from Emory Will Trawick will play for Rhondorf this season. Recently you showed him Cologne city. What has made this friendship so special?

We’ve been through a lot together, so it’s fitting that he’s starting his professional playing career only 50 km away. I plan on watching him play as much as I can and I know we’ll find time to hang out away from basketball too. He’s a super smart dude so we can talk about anything and the conversation is always interesting.

Now that Lebron finally brought an NBA title home, where does this further ring put him in the debate against Michael Jordan as the all-time best ever?

That’s a tough question that I don’t think can really be answered, but I will say that Lebron has won me over again. After “The Decision” I was pretty critical of his self-indulgence, but I respect him as a player and leader again.

If you had to construct an NBA Rushmore which 4 heads would you choose?

I’d make it my favorite players from my childhood: T-Mac, Nash, Dirk, and B-Roy.

What was the last movie that you saw?

Captain Fantastic. You gotta see it!

 

Thanks Alek for the chat.

 

Leave a Reply

