Lamar Mallory (Licher Basket Baeren) I Don´t Look At The Expectations As Pressure Because That Was Just Me Playing Basketball And Enjoying The Game

Lamar Mallory is a 198cm forward from Dayton, Ohio that will play his second season in Germany with the Licher Basket Baeren (Germany-ProB). Before coming to Germany, he started his professional career with the Albury Wodonga Bandits (Australia-SEABL) playing 5 games: 17.8ppg, 10.2rpg, 1.2apg, 1.8spg, FGP: 56.5%, FT: 57.9%. He played at Glenville St. (NCAA2) and as a senior played  25 games: 18.6ppg, 8.2rpg, 1.1apg, 1.2spg, FGP: NCAA2-2(68.1%). Last season with the Licher Basket Baeren (Germany-ProB) he played 21 games averaging 17.9ppg, 7.8rpg, 1.7spg, FGP: 60.1%, 3PT: 25.0%, FT: 67.5%. He scored in double figures in 19 of 21 games and had monster games against Speyer with 29 and 28 points and had a 28 point explosion against Wurzburg. He spoke to German Hoops before the start of the 2016-2017 season.

 

Lamar thanks for talking to German Hoops. Where are you at the moment and how has your summer been?

No problem guys, I appreciate you taking the time to talk to me. I am in Germany, I stayed here over the summer. My summer has been great, a lot of off season workouts, individually and with groups. Its good.

What was your summer highlight this year? Were you mostly in Dayton this summer or were you able to venture to other parts of the States that you hadn´t been too before?

Actually I wasn´t in Dayton at all this summer, unfortunately. I say that because I do miss my family and friends. I stayed in Germany over the summer which was good because staying here also allowed me to stay seriously focused. So its good.

Have you been moonlighting this summer working on expanding your model portfolio or were those pics that you did in Germany a one time thing?

For now, I would say it was a one time thing. Lol Im no model man, I just wanted to take some nice pictures.

The Licher Basket Baeren survived and stayed in the league. What was your general impression of the Pro B structure in that you either make the playoffs or you have to qualify to stay in the league?

I guess I would say, its interesting because with that being the situation, you have to play hard until the very last game. The Pro B is good competition, I think its a good start for players to build and possibly move up.

You got a contract extension for the Licher Basket Baeren being rewarded for your exceptional rookie season in Europe by averaging 21 games: 17.9ppg, 7.8rpg, 1.7spg, FGP: 60.1%, 3PT: 25.0%, FT: 67.5%. What were the main reasons for coming back to Lich this season?

My reason for coming back was for the challenge. From what I understand Lich didnt have a very successful 2014-2015 season, and last season (2015-2016) wasn´t very successful, in my opinion. So basically I just want to help try to overcome that burden.

What do you feel did you learn from your first season in Germany that will make your second season even more productive?

I have learned a lot, but the most important thing I have learned was the European style of basketball, which is very charismatic, very focused, there is not a lot of reckless play.

This season you will have to do without teammate Elijah Allen. How much will you miss his play and character on the team?

I will say this, it will be tough playing without Elijah, for the simple fact that he brings a lot to the table. I will definitely miss my bro, his character period would make you want to play hard and enjoy the game. He’s a natural born leader.

How proud are of Elijah Allen making the jump to the Pro A to team Gotha? Do you see him making an impact in the Pro A?

I am super proud of Elijah, I think he definitely deserves this opportunity. I think he will definitely make an impact because He’s an all-around player, He can do it inside and out, and that is what is going to make him hard to guard.

You had a longer summer then many other players around the world simply because the Pro B season ends a lot sooner than other leagues. How hungry and excited are you about starting your second professional season in Germany?

Very excited, with all the changes, new talent coming in, and the guys that we have returning. I am excited, I am definitely looking forward to this season.

What things have you been working on this summer to help improve certain areas´s of your game? Did you put up more three pointers than usual?

I worked on my 3pointer as much as I could, considering that I had limited access to a gymnasium. But I’ve really I have been working on my footwork, ball handling, quickness, upper body strength. Basically some things that I might not get a chance to really focus on while in the season.

Do you feel some pressure this season in that you want to expand on your very strong first season in the Pro B with Lich?

I would say slightly not, I don´t feel the pressure necessarily , but I do feel that there is a bar that I’ve set for myself, so I think there is an expectation of me from the fans and Licher. But I don´t look at the expectations as pressure, because that was me, just playing basketball, and enjoying the game.

This season´s roster looks like one of the better one´s in recent years. You have two very talented guards coming in Jeffery Martin who has BBL and Pro A experience as well as rookie K.K Simmons who can shoot out the lights and experienced German Patrick Horstmann who played in the UK. How much does this team have on paper?

I think that is great. Plain and simple, we need talented and experienced players to add to the puzzle.

Last season you were a kind of go to guy which could change this season as there is more talent. Would you be ok with a change in your role? What kind of role could you imagine having this season?

Honestly, I don´t feel like I was the “go-to guy”, You understand. So when you talk about my role, I think it´s the other way around. If I became the go-to guy based off my performance from last season then I would definitely take on the challenge and try to lead the team to as many victories as possible. But other than that I think my role would be the same, which is to be aggressive offensively and defensively and produce as much as I can.

If you had to construct your own NBA Rushmore and chose 4 NBA heads which best four would you pick?

My best 4, I would have to say Lebron James, Russell Westbrook, Klay Thompson, and Dewayne Wade or Paul George. Or take both of the last two selections and just have a substitute.

Now that Lebron finally brought an NBA title to the Cavs where does this further NBA title put him against the best that ever played the game?

I think that championship solidified his greatness and Kyrie Irving’s greatness as well. Lebron is significantly one of the best players in basketball history. He led both teams in every statistical category during the finals except for turnovers, thats incredible. Give him credit. He’s a legend, and still playing in the league.

What was the last movie that you saw?

The last movie I seen was Law Abiding Citizen. Great movie.

Thanks Lamar for the chat.

 

Leave a Reply

