Brian Fisher (I Feel Like I Could Go Anywhere In The World Right Now And Produce Right Away)

Brian Fisher is a 28 year old 191cm guard from Atlanta. He gained his first basketball experience with Winston Salem (NCAA) where he played from 2006-2010 playing a total of 112 NCAA games. As a senior he played 28 games averaging 10.9ppg, 3.2rpg, 2.8apg, 1.3spg, FGP: 35.9%, 3PT: 32.4%, FT: 65.2%. As a professional he has gained experience with teams like Atlanta Blaze (WBA), CS Municipal Bucuresti (Romania-Division A),CS Dinamo Bucuresti (Romania-Liga Nationala), Georgia Spartans (UBA), Kouvot Kouvola) and Korikouvot Kouvola (Finland-1st Division). He spoke to German Hoops about basketball.

 

Brian thanks for talking to German Hoops. Where are you at the moment and how has your summer been?

Thank you, it’s a pleasure to speak with you! I am currently in Atlanta, Georgia working hard preparing for next season. My summer has been great so far. I have made some big improvements this summer!

Technically you have been a professional since 2010, but played only three full seasons. Has the job market just been very brutal to you over the last years or have other factors come into play?

 Yes, the job market is very competitive. There were some other factors early in my career that affected it as well. I took some time to finish my college degree after my last year playing in college and the following year the NBA lockout took place so it made things very difficult early. Plus, there are a lot of players looking to play. A lot of guys who can really play and deserve a chance get overlooked.

Break down the years between 2010-2012? After a very solid college career at Winston Salem (NCAA), you didn´t turn pro until 2012 with the Atlanta Blaze(WBA). Was becoming a professional right away not on your agenda?

I wanted to make sure I finished my college education before pursing anything with basketball. After that was accomplished, I didn’t know much about the route to go for exposure with professional basketball or playing overseas. Of course, as an American we know of the NBA but I didn’t have much information on playing abroad.

It´s very late into the summer and teams are slowly starting to fill up across the world, but you are still unsigned. What has been your experience this summer with the player market? Have any teams signaled interest and how have you remained positive?

 This summer I’ve been focusing on just staying prepared and working as hard as possible for the time my name is called. I have had teams show interest this summer but haven’t been able to lock down a concrete offer. I just try to stay as positive as possible and keep faith in the lords plan.

Last season you had a very short stay in Finland playing for Kouvot Kouvola (Finland-Korisliiga): 3 games: 4.0ppg, 1.0rpg, in Jan.’16 moved to Korikouvot Kouvola (Finland-1st Division): 2 games: 22.5ppg, 6.5rpg, 2.5apg, 2.0spg,. How much of a factor was your injury during your stay?

 Last season I wasn’t injured! I came to a very good team who happen to win the championship last season as an injury replacement. I just wanted to bring good energy and provide positive minutes any way possible. When their guy got healthy I continued practicing with the Kouvot team but played some games with their 1st division team as well to stay in shape.

You then played two games for the farm team of Kouvot Kouvola (Finland-Korisliiga). You dominated in those two games. Was it not an option to close out the season and get back to the first team?

Yes it was an option that I honestly wish I would have stuck with. I was contacted by a club in Morocco who offered me a good amount of money at the time I that I needed. I chose to take that offer because of my situation at the time.

Your adventure then continued in Morocco. What kind of experience was that for you and could you play at full strength there?

It was really different. The country was beautiful but basketball just wasn’t the same as playing in Europe. It was a little difficult to adjust to their playing style. I played at full strength and had some real good games during my stay.

You were only a few months in Morocco, but what in that short time will be most memorable on and off the court?

Off the court would be the culture. It was an Islamic country so there were a lot of things that were different than I have been accustomed to. On the court, being a player they depend on so much, it helped bring that killer instinct back out in me that may have diminished a little over the years. I feel like I could go anywhere in the world right now and produce right away!

Your only other full season in Europe was in the 2012-2013 season where you played for CS Dinamo Bucuresti (Romania-Liga Nationala) playing 16 games and averaging 18.2ppg, 3.8rpg, 1.9apg, Steals-3(2.1spg), FGP: 50.8%, 3PT: 36.8%, FT: 78.7%.. What was your wake up call to being in Europe as a rookie where you knew that you were far away from home Atlanta?

 The first time I went into a restaurant, looked at a menu and realized I couldn’t pronounce anything. I knew I was a long way from home. As soon as I touched the court again for the first time everything was normal!

How important was it having American Spencer Dixon in Romania to ease the culture shock? Both came in January and heated up right away.

 It was very important. Spencer and I played high school basketball together at Kennesaw Mountain High School. It made the process a lot easier coming in with someone you have known and played with for years. On the court we felt like we were at home!

After your very solid season in Romania, you didn´t return back until last season, but stayed in the States and played with the Georgia Spartans (UBA). It is highly uncommon that a player not continue to get signed somewhere in Europe. Did you have misrepresentation in your case?

After my season in Romania I signed to a team in Hungary called Sopron the following season in 2013. I was having a real good preseason averaging roughly around 15pts and 5ast. At the time, I was signed with representation that really didn’t have my best interest in mind. To my understanding, I was released right before the season started in October, due to some issues my agent was causing with the club and another agent. I knew nothing about this matter until after the fact. Which made things very rough for me.

You are 28 years of age. Are you in your best basketball age now or do you feel is your prime still ahead?

There is always room for improvement but I feel my prime is right around the corner. My body feels great! As good as it did when I was 18yrs old. I feel my best years have yet to come!

Talk a little about your game. You can do a number of things on the court, but what is your biggest strength?

 I feel my biggest strength is my ability to score in a variety of ways. As a combo guard it’s a great asset to teams to be able to play multiple positions on the court. This summer I have really focused on my ability to make plays for my teammates and develop a sound post-up game for smaller guards. Been focused on being more versatile from multiple positions on the floor.

You can fill up the stat sheet, but do you feel is a hidden strength in your game that doesn’t get noticed right away on the court?

My defense and leadership.

Please explain why in a few sentences how you could help any team now with your play?

I want to bring a hardworking and winning attitude to whatever club I go to. I’m hungry to win! Hungry to prove I belong and I’m better than a lot of guys in the market. I will fill up a stat sheet but I believe the things I can provide off the court will help in more ways than words can show!

You played at Winston Salem (NCAA) from 2006-2010, but never won any titles. When you look back at your career what was your sweetest memory there on the court?

Playing Division 1, I got a chance to play against a lot of high caliber players and potential NBA stars! Competing with those guys night in and night out at that level is one of the best feelings ever.

How did Bobby Collins groom and prepare you best for a professional basketball career?

He helped me develop a lifestyle that consists of working hard and with everything you do, do it while heartily!

Who was the toughest player that you battled in the NCAA that is in the NBA now?

Michael Beasley, James Harden, Gary Neal, Mario Chalmers, Jeff Teague the list can go on! Lol

If you had the opportunity to dine with ex Winston Salem State player Earl “the pearl” Monroe, what would be the most important thing that you would ask him?

What is a “successful” basketball career from his perspective.

What has been your impression of Team USA at the Olympics. Australia, Serbia and France gave them a good run for the money?

 It has been very interesting to watch. I think the USA team is fairly young and dosen´t have as many big name players as they had in the past. They don’t have the same chemistry that developed over time that teams like Australia and France have. This years Olympics will be very interesting to watch!

If you had to construct your very own NBA Rushmore which 4 NBA legends would you have as the heads?

Michael Jordan, Kobe Bryant, Lebron James, Shaquille O’Neal

Lebron finally won his first NBA title with the Cavs. Where does this new title place him in the all-time greatest ranking of players?

Right now, he is Top 10. One more championship, he is Top 5.

What was the last movie that you saw?

Finding Dory

Thanks Brian for the chat. For teams interested in Brian Fisher´s services please contact him at Bfish03@gmail.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

