RJ Price (Dresden Titans) My Biggest Strength Is Just My Feel For The Flow Of The Game

RJ Price is a 23 year old 180cm guard from Richmond, Virginia that will be starting his professional career in Germany with Pro A team Dresden Titans. He played at Radford from 2011-2015 playing a total of 129 NCAA games and as a senior played 34 games averaging 12.4ppg, 2.6rpg, 2.2apg, 1.2spg, FGP: 42.6%, 3PT: 33.2%, FT: 68.5%. He spoke to German Hoops about basketball.

RJ congrats on signing with German Pro B team Dresden Titans. You finished at Radford after an illustrious four year career and aren´t starting your professional career until now. Was there ever a doubt that you might never find a team?

Of course there was some doubt.  But I just stayed positive and once I got a change in agents things opened up very quick for me

Wasn´t there a chance to have played some semi-pro ball last season? How involved were you able to stay involved with basketball in the last year?
Yes, I played about half the season with Richmond Elite in the ABA.  They knew my situation and allowed me to play with them.

Was the transfer market like a shark tank the last year? How thankful are you with AGSS agency that they were able to place you in Germany with the Dresden Titans?
 It’s a dream come true!  My agent (Eyal Grossbard) got in touch with me and said he would have me placed somewhere this season and stayed true to his word! And I’m thankful for Dresden Titans for the opportunity

How excited are you about starting your professional basketball career in Germany? What do you know about the country Germany and it´s basketball?
  I don’t know much about the country itself, but I do have a close friend (Jay Threatt) who spent a season in Germany Pro A so he was able to tell me a little about the league.

Were you able to get some advice from your friend DJ Covington? He was having a great season In Germany when he had that terrible injury.
No I haven’t reached out to him, I know that he was in the top league in Germany and doing very well before that injury

What sold you on joining the Dresden Titans? How vital was the fact that they are a very ambitious club that are looking to continue to build on their success from last season?
My agent said he knew the Coach very well and said it was a good club, and great league to be placed in especially for a rookie.

Did you have any conversations with head coach Steven Clauss? Did you notice at any time that you both speak the same basketball language?
Yes I have talked with Coach Clauss a good number of times and I was surprised how well he spoke English.  I was not expecting that at all

You are a point guard, but can also play the two. You will be playing with one of the top guards in the Pro A with Randall Holt. How excited are you to be playing with the ex Kent State guard and being able to learn from him?
Coach Clauss said that he would be returning and gave me some of their game films from this past season to watch and see how he handled it.  So I learned some from film and will be learning during the pre-season and season too.

Let´s talk a little about your game. You averaged double figures in scoring each season. Is consistency something where your confident can carry over into your rookie season as a professional?
 I think that it would be something I can do, I’m very confident putting the ball in the basket and if that’s what is asked from me I can do that.

You are a very good shooter and also a very good defender. What do you feel is your biggest strength on the court?
 I think my biggest strength is just my feel for the flow of the game. Knowing what shots need to be taken by which players, and defensively anticipating where the other team’s play is going and trying to prevent them.

You’re a guy that can fill up the stat sheet, but what do you feel is a hidden strength in your game that doesn´t get noticed right away?
I think a hidden strength is how strong I am, as a point guard I am able to guard bigger players because of the work I have put in, in the weight room.

When you look back at your career at Radford how glad are you that you had stayed after Brad Greenberg left? What do you feel made the working relationship with you and head coach Mike Jones so fruitful?
Yes I’m very happy, being from Richmond, Virginia where VCU is located. I knew the type of system coach Jones would put in place at Radford and what type of players VCU had and that he would want those same type of players under him.

You weren´t the best shooter in high school, but really improved at Radford. Was it just working more on shooting or was it something on your mechanics that helped you become a better shooter?
 I think at the high school level I didn’t really think shooting was very important because it was easy to just get to the basket. But college was much tougher so I had to work on my jump shot a lot.

You had many memorable games, but where do you rank your 25 point effort in the 68-66 win against Virginia Tech or your two 30 point games against Sacred Heart?
I think the Virginia Tech game was most memorable because it was a bigger ACC school just down the street from Radford (about 25 minutes), and we were a big underdog, so just being able to go out and play well and get the upset was memorable!

Who won a one on one in practice at Radford you or Rashun Davis?

 Haha we had a lot of battles in practice but I would say I won more than he did!
On what things are you working on most now so you will be 100% ready to be able to battle against the best guards in the Pro A?
I think just tightening up the little things such as ball handling, improving my floater and finishing around the basket.

How does a normal work out day look like for RJ Price on and off the court in the summer of 2016?
In the mornings I go to my trainer and get in an hour of conditioning/ agilities, then an hour of lifting. After that I do a basketball workout on the court for about 45 minutes.  Then in the evenings I get shots up.

If you had to construct your own NBA Rushmore and chose 4 NBA heads which best four would you pick?

 

 Michael Jordan, Magic Johnson, Larry Bird, Lebron James

Now that Lebron finally brought an NBA title to the Cavs where does this further NBA title put him against the best that ever played the game?
I think he needs to win one more to be in that category, but I do think he is the best ALL-AROUND player to ever play.

What was the last movie that you saw?

 

I recently saw the new Purge movie. It was really good!

 

Thanks RJ for the chat.

Leave a Reply

