Timajh Parker Rivera (SSV Lok Bernau) I Want To Develop My Game So I Can Be Effective At Multiple Positions

Timajh Parker Rivera is a 22 year old 203cm forward from Milford, Conneticut that will be starting his professional basketball career with SSV Lok Bernau. He played four years at Towson(NCAA) playing a total of 128 NCAA games and as a senior played 33 games averaging 6.5ppg, 6.5rpg, 1.2apg, 1.2bpg, FGP: 58.1%, FT: 50.4%. He spoke to German Hoops about basketball.

 

Thanks Timajh for talking to German Hoops. Where are you at the moment and how has your summer been?

I have been in Washington DC all summer working out with Jerelle Benimon who played in China last season and is on the radar of multiple NBA teams . We have been working out every day along with enjoying concerts and other events on weekends.

Congrats on signing with German team SSV Lok Bernau. How excited are you to be able to call yourself a professional basketball player now?

I mean it just hit me yesterday when I was looking in the mirror in the morning that I am a professional basketball player and it is truly a blessing something I have worked toward my whole life.

Was becoming a professional basketball player always a dream of your´s or was there even a time at Towson where you might have considered doing something different with your life?

Being a professional basketball player has always been my dream , however I did have a plan B . I always wanted to be a pharmacist however, the basketball schedule did not allow me to pursue that dream because I would not be able to fulfill the onsite hours for certification

How was you first signing process this summer for you? Did you have any expectations coming from Towson and tackling the professional waters?

I actually didn’t have any expectations I knew whatever the situation was I was going to go give it my all and that’s what I will do .

What sold you on signing with SSV Lok Bernau. What was the main reason for choosing this ambitious team?

The coaching staff and I formed a good relationship via phone calls. The program is in a great place right now especially after a spectacular season last year and it definitely seems like a good place to start my career I am very excited

What do you know in general about the country Germany and it´s basketball?

Not much but I do know the game is different and I am ready to get there and be coachable so I can learn quickly and help my team win games

You come from Bridgeport which isn´t far away to New York city and Bernau is even closer to German capital Berlin. Has being near that big city played a factor in your life growing up and beyond?

I mean the city has definitely been a big part of my upbringing . However, with major cities comes other distractions and I like that I’ll be starting off in a slower pace environment where I can easily go in and out of the city if I want

What was your first impression of SSV Lok Bernau head coach Rene Schilling? Have you noticed that you speak the same basketball language?

Yes he is a great guy and will be very helpful

What is your biggest goal as a rookie besides helping SSV Lok Bernau win games?

To develop my game so that I can be effective at multiple positions

Let´s talk a little about your game. Rene Schilling said what impressed him most about your game was your intensity and work ethic. If you had to to what NBA player would you compare your game too?

Maybe a Thaddeus Young on the Pacers just energy athleticism undersized for the 4 5. Position but can hold his own verse anyone

What would you consider is your biggest strength on the court? You don´t score too much, but you pretty fill up the stats sheet everywhere else.

I would say leadership by example . I like to make plays that boost the team and crowds energy . Blocks steals and dunks

What do you feel is a hidden strength in your game that doesn´t get noticed right away on the court?

My ability to handle the ball in the half court

You played four seasons at Towson(NCAA) What are you most proud of in your career there? Possibly your school record 70 wins in four seasons?

Being named the winningest player of all time at Towson on senior night and winning the game was definitely the most special moment for me

You had many career highlights like your 13 point 13 rebound effort against Gallaudet or blocking a shot with five second remaining against Elon to secure the win. What was your best highlight as a player at Towson?

I would have to say my dunk verse Hofstra over a defender who was trying to take a charge

You played a season with 203cm Jerrelle Benimon. How intense were the battles in practice and what could you learn from his game?

.Very intense obviously he’s a great player and practice is where he would work on his game so it was definitely a challenge for me which I accepted every day and I learned a lot from him

Benimon has been so close to the NBA, but been in China the last two seasons. Do you see him making the NBA soon?

I feel like this year is his year . Obviously there is a lot that goes into NBA franchises picking players however , he has more than proven himself at every stage and there is only one left the NBA.

How did Towson(NCAA) head coach Pat Skerry prepare and groom you best for a professional career?

Just by giving me great advice on what to look out for and continuing to be the guy I am now.

Who won a one on one in practice you or Walter Foster?

Me.

If you could chose to have dinner with ex NBA veterans John Bagley or Wes Matthews who come from your town which would you pick?

Well I know Wes very well and he’s a close family friend so I would have to say John Bagley because I would like to know more about his career

If you had to construct your own NBA Rushmore, which 4 NBA heads would you chose

Jordan , Magic , Larry, Kobe.

Lebron finally brought an NBA title to the Cavs. Where does he stand now in the debate as the best ever to play the game?

In the conversation . Different era of basketball so not close in my eyes

What was the last movie you saw?

Warcraft

 

Thanks Timajh for the chat

 

Leave a Reply

