Tabari Perry (wiha Panthers) Coach Velcic´s Style Of Play For The Game Is The Type Of Guy I Am On The Court

Tabari Perry is a 203cm forward that will be starting his second professional season and first in Germany with the wiha Panthers. As a rookie last season he played for Nagennises Germasogeia (Cyprus-Division A) playing 3 games: 14.3ppg, 6.7rpg, 1.0apg, in Jan.’16 moved to Templeogue Azzurri Dublin (Ireland-Premier League). He started his basketball career in 2008 with Cecil College (NJCAA): 24 games, 7.2ppg, 5.6rpg, 1.2apg, 1.4spg, 1.8bpg, FGP: 31.7%, 3PT: 26.1%, FT: 56.0%. He then played three seasons with Slippery Rock(NCAA2) playing a total of 64 games and as a senior played 32 games averaging10.3ppg, 6.3rpg, 1.1apg, 0.9spg, 1.1bpg, FGP: 48.5%, 3PT: 30.4%, FT: 82.5%. He spoke toGerman Hoops about basketball.

Tabari thanks for talking to German Hoops. Where are you at the moment and how has your summer been?

My summer is amazing. Been doing a lot of working out to prepare myself for my next professional contract .

Congrats on signing with German Regionaliga team wiha Panthers. How excited are you to be playing your second professional season in Germany?

Thanks a lot I appreciate that. First I would like to thank the man above Jesus Christ for blessing me with this talent and giving me opportunity to play pro basketball , I’m very excited and blessed to be playing in Germany for my second year. It’s a honor and a privilege.

What do you know about the country Germany and it´s basketball in general?

I don’t know too much about the country Germany but I do know it’s a beautiful and loving country and I always wanted to visit. So being able to play professional is a blessing and I’m so grateful.

Did you ask some advice from your friend Kendall Gray who had experience playing in Germany last season?

No not really. Didn’t really get to talk a lot of Kendall .

What sold you on joining the wiha Panthers? How did head coach Alen Velcic get you to sign on the dotted line?

Coach Alen was a very nice and determined guy who seems so passionate about his players and job which made me respect and trust him so much more because how determined he was. Also his style of play for the game is the type of guy I am on the court when it comes to basketball .

Did you have any talks with head coach Alen Velcic? If yes did you learn quickly that you speak the same basketball language?

I learned very early that we spoke the same language just off how passionate he is for the game

Let´s talk a little about your game. Coach Velcic said your more than just a scorer, but a player that makes his teammates better? How does a 203cm forward do that?

 I just know my sweet spots and where I’m comfortable at on the court and how to score when needed .

You can fill up the stats sheet well, but what would you consider a hidden strength in your game that doesn´t get noticed right away on the court?

 It will sometimes because I’m more than just a scorer. I’m all around type of guy. But can score the ball as well when needed .

After your senior year at Slippery Rock(NCAA2) in 2013, there was one year where you didn´t play. Was there ever any doubt that a professional career wouldn´t happen and what kept you going?

 Always had the positive mindset that I still will make it .

Last season you split time with Nagennises Germasogeia (Cyprus-Division A): 3 games: 14.3ppg, 6.7rpg, 1.0apg, in Jan.’16 moved to Templeogue Azzurri Dublin (Ireland-Premier League). How would you describe your rookie season?

 My rookie season was great. I think my stats would been even better if I had finished the whole season out

You started your basketball career at Cecil College (NJCAA) playing 24 games, 7.2ppg, 5.6rpg, 1.2apg, 1.4spg, 1.8bpg, FGP: 31.7%, 3PT: 26.1%, FT: 56.0%. How important was this season for you to get ready for Slippery Rock (NCAA2)?

Wasn’t to hard because I came from the same type of environment where the motto was to work hard or go home, and I wasn’t trying to go home so worked hard and kept the mind set leading over to Slippery Rock .

At Slippery Rock you were a two time PSAC finalist in 2011 and 2013. Which loss was the most bitter?

2013 had to be the bitter one. That was supposed to be our year. We worked so hard . We were so close.

How did head coach Kevin Reynolds groom and prepare you best for a professional basketball career?

 He was very hard on me. He made me understand the importance of hard work and how hard work could take you far .

Who won a one on one in practice you or Maurice Lewis-Briggs?

fh course I did lol

Lebron finally won his first NBA title with the Cavs. Where does this new title place him in the all-time greatest ranking of players?

 One of the greatest to ever do it.

What was the last movie that you saw?

 The purge is the last movie I saw and it was amazing.

Thanks Tabari for the chat.

 

Leave a Reply

