Jarvis Davis (Rostock Seawolves) I Like Keeping Guys Confident And Helping Myself Along With Others To Be Next Play Guys

Jarvis Davis is a 183cm guard from Columbia, South Carolina that will play his second professional season in Germany with the Rostock Seawolves. As a rookie he played for AngraBasket/Vaquinha (Portugal-Proliga) averaging 25,2ppg, 7,5rpg and 2,9apg. He started his basketball career with Cent.Florida (NCAA) in 2010 an dthen moved to Gardner-Webb (NCAA) and as a senior played 35 games averaging 8.8ppg, 3.4rpg, 1.1spg, FGP: 52.4%, 3PT: 36.6%, FT: 87.1%. He spoke to German Hoops about basketball.

 

Jarvis thanks for talking to German Hoops. Where are you at the moment and how have you been enjoying your summer?

I’m currently at home in Columbia, South Carolina and the summer is going well. Just been getting my body right so I’ll be able to train the way I want to in a few weeks.

Congrats on signing with German Pro B team Rostock Seawolves. What do you know in general about the country Germany and it´s basketball?

I know a little bit about Germany from history classes but I don’t know much. I am excited to learn more about the country and its origins when I get there. And when it comes to the basketball obviously I know about Dirk and Dennis Schroder because they play in the US but I really don’t know much about the leagues except for they are known for having very competitive basketball.

You have friends that have played in Germany like ex Bremerhaven guard Torrell Martin. Were you able to talk to him about Germany or has did he tell you some interesting stories about the past when he balled there?

I haven’t talked to Torrell about Germany but he has told me stories about his experiences not just in Germany but in France and the NBA. I used to train with Torrell a few years back when I was in college and I learned a lot from him in the times we trained together.

You tore up the second division in Portugal with AngraBasket/Vaquinha (Portugal-Proliga). How confident are you that you will be able to make an impact in the German Pro B?

Very confident. Basketball is basketball at the end of the day. If you put the work in, study film and play your role the best you can, making an impact will happen regardless. Now how big an impact you will make is a different ball game. But I’m pretty confident I will play my role to help my team be the best we can be next season.

What sold you most on your new team Rostock Seawolves? What were main reasons for making this choice?

The potential and the vision the organization has intrigued me more the anything. From the beginning conversations it was evident they knew where they wanted to go and how they were going to do so. They had a plan and I was fortunate enough to be a part of the plan. It was a done deal after that.

Did you have a conversation with Rostock head coach Sebastian Wild? What was your first impression about his focus and ideas about basketball?

Yes I had multiple conversations with coach. The conversations we had/have are very strategic and full of ambition. Coach seems to be a “basketball junkie”. I remember texting him a few times about NBA playoffs games and we text full length paragraphs for a least 30 minutes. As a player, you want to play for a guy who is passionate about the game. And he has that. I can’t wait pick his brain in practices and film sessions.

Despite tearing up the second division in Portugal, you played for a losing team. Despite putting up great stats, how tough was it giving your all each game, but losing so much?

Of course it’s tough but my dad always told me as long as I tried my best then you can’t hold your head down. We had some injuries last year that set us back and one of our key players left during the season but we did the best we could do and never quit even though we were short handed and that’s all I could ask for. I’ll always stay in contact with those guys because those were a great group of guys.

Last season you scored 30 points or more nine times. Did it at times feel like you were a man playing with boys?

Not really. I just know I put a lot of work in and 99% of the time, I know I’ve outworked my opposition. So when I’m on the floor I’m completely confident in my abilities as an individual and my abilities to help my teammates be the best we can be.

You had many great scoring games last season, but was your season highlight your 40 points in the victory against Dragan Force?

Not at all. My season highlight is the game we played against Barrariense and we were losing by 10 at the beginning of the 4th quarter. I told Rui (my coach) that when we were going to tie the game and we did call a timeout so we could get a break and continue our run. Long story short, I think I had 4 assists, a few rebounds, a few steals and 2 three pointers in one quarter and we came back and won the game by 5 or 6. That game was my season highlight because I learned how to use all the attention I received from opposing defenses and make my teammates better. To me, there is nothing better than making others better.

What really stands out in your game is your unbelievable ability to rebound. You had seven double doubles with points and rebounds at 183cm. Has rebounding always been ín your blood?

Yes it has. It funny because Coach Craft,my college coach used to always get on me about boxing out and hitting guys. And now I try to make a conscious effort to box out, hit guys and chase down rebounds as much as I can. But rebounding has always been a part of my game, I think its safe to say I’m pretty athletic for my size.

You seem to be a scoring point guard, but can you be a distributor if you have to?

I’d rather distribute than score anyway. My role on my last team was to just pass the ball, so I played my role. But when I have guys around me that can finish plays I can make plays at a high rate. But scoring is just natural for me, I’ve been doing it at the park since I was 10 years old.

You can fill up the stat sheet, but what is a hidden strength in your game that doesn´t get noticed right away?

My ability to get the most out of my teammates and getting them to play hard. Keeping guys confident and helping myself along with others to be “next play guys”. Basketball is 99% confidence and if you don’t have any, you’re in trouble.

You played your freshman season at Central Florida and then moved to Gardner-Webb for your last three seasons. How important was it making this experience and moving on?

Even though I didn’t play much at all, it was the best experience of my life. All the pain of sitting on the bench turned into ambition and I learned how to work. I used to go the gym and make 1000 shots some nights. I would work on balls screen situations at 1 am in the morning 2-3 nights a week for an extra workout. I could tell you so crazy stories that you wouldn’t believe. But I learned a lot about myself and what “Hard Work” really is that year.

You played for head coaches like Chris Holtman and Tim Craft at Gardner-Webb. How did these guys groom and prepare you best for a professional basketball career?

The one thing I take the most from those guys are attention to detail. Before those two coaches, I was terrible at scouting reports and schemes. I learned how to study film and become a better player mentally. Basketball isn’t just about who jumps the highest or who has the best crossover. It’s about who can think the game. I always had the physical skills. They taught me the mental part and now I’m finally putting them both together.

Who was the best player that you battled against in the NCAA that is in the NBA now?

I would probably have to say Jabari Parker. But the best college player I played against was Randy Culpepper from UTEP my freshman year. He was an ANIMAL!!!!!

Who won a one on one in practice you or Harold Mcbride?

I DID. But he won a few. Harold is a talented player. He’ll being doing interviews like this real soon also.

After playing at Ridgeview high school, you played an extra year at the well-known Hargrave military school. What was the most important thing that you learned about yourself having had this experience?

Two things I learned. One is, just because someone is ranked higher than you doesn’t mean that person is better than you. You can read between the lines. FYI: I started every game and I wasn’t ranked going to Hargrave.The other thing I learned was that sometimes for a team to reach its full potential, sometimes as a player, you’re stats might have to suffer but the reward in the end will be worth it.

If you had to choose between Columbia, South Carolina natives and NBA legends Alex English, Xavier Mcdaniel or Tyrone Corbon, which guy would you rather have dinner with and learn about basketball?

The crazy thing about this question is I know all of these guys, I worked out with all these guys. I worked out with Mr. English last summer before I went to Portugal because we go to the same YMCA and Mr.Corbin´s son is one of my good friends and we work out every summer together. But I’d have to say I have dinner with X. X might be one of the funniest guys in the world when you talk to him.

If you had to construct your own NBA Rushmore, which 4 NBA heads would you pick?

MJ, Bron, Iverson and Rod Strickland. Now I’m not saying those are the best guys ever but those are my favorite guys ever.

What was the last movie that you saw?

Shawshank Redemption.

Thanks Jarvis for the chat.

 

Leave a Reply

