Charles Bronson (I Would Like To Play In Germany Again)

Charles Bronson is a 33 year old 208cm forward that recently played with the Itzehoe Eagles (Germany-ProB) playing 13 games averaging  10.7ppg, 5.8rpg, 1.2bpg, FGP: 51.3%, FT: 37.0%. He played at four schools before turning professional with Panola JC, Redlands CC (JUCO),  Xavier (NCAA) and Pikeville College (NAIA). He started his professional basketball career in 2009 with Fundacion Basket Merida (Spain-EBA) playing 15 games: 9.7ppg, 6.1rpg, 2FGP: 64%, 3PT: 0%, FT: 59%. IN the 2010-2011 season he played for the Manchester Millrats (PBL) playing 10 games: 18.4ppg, 8.3rpg, 1.6apg, FGP: 57.4%, FT: 53.7%. In the 2011-2012 season he played for Stade Nabeulien (Tunisia-D1)and KB Bashkimi Prizren (Kosova-SuperLeague). In the 2012-2013 season he played for UBSC Raiffeisen Graz (Austria-A Bundesliga) 10 games: 11.5ppg, 5.8rpg, FGP: 55.8%, 3PT: 50.0%, FT: 57.8%. In the 2014-2015 season he played for Mapfree Life (Cyprus-North League). He spoke to German Hoops about basketball.

Charles thanks for talking to German Hoops. Where are you at the moment and how has your summer been?

I am in Philadelphia right now and my summer is going good just working out 3 times a day

How blessed can you say you are that you have had a very long professional basketball career despite having had a short stint with Xavier(NCAA) coming from the JUCO and NAIA divisions?

I feel so blessed to play professional basketball for a as long as I have and I put in a lot of hard work over the years.

Not everyone has the distinction of having that famous actor name Charles Bronson. Were your parents fans of the Death Wish movies with Charles Bronson or why did they pick Charles?

Having a famous name is funny at times, because people make a lot of jokes about my name and no my parents were not fans of Charles Bronson. I guess they just like that name for me lol

How often daily do you hear some crack about the actor and what has been the worst/best line you have heard?

The crack I hear all the time is that they call me Death Wish

 

Last season you played for the Itzehoe Eagles (Germany-Pro B) playing 13 games averaging 10.7ppg, 5.8rpg, 1.2bpg, FGP: 51.3%, FT: 37.0%. Those were quite solid stats, but you left the team in January. Why was the stay so short?

My stay was short because of my foot injury. I had plantar fasciitis which was real bad and it was not going to get better if I was to keep playing on it so I decided to stop playing to rehab it to get my foot back 100 %

You had some big games against Iserlohn and SC Rist Wedel. Did head coach Pat Elzie and you see eye to eye or was that a relationship that had it´s rifts?

 I did have some big games there me and my coach pat relationship was a good. He always had my back and he made me work hard every day and I liked playing for him. He is a real players coach

Your 33 now. What are your goals now as a player? You played one season in Germany. Could you imagine continuing to play in Germany if given the chance?

My goals are now that I am 33 is to play for 5 more years and yes I can imagine playing in Germany again. I did not like how my year ended do to my injury so yes I will like to play in Germany again

What do you believe is your biggest strength now at this stage of your career besides having experience?

My biggest strength now is that I am going to work hard every day and be a guy that my younger team mates can look up to and a guy that can be Low post presecnce. I can help a team with is a player that can be a presents down lo

If you could describe in a few sentences as to why you could help any professional team now how would you put it?

I can help a team as a player that can be a presence down low and score the ball and rebound blocking shots and working hard being a good teammate to my team

You have played in many countries besides Germany like Canada, Austria, Kosovo, Tunisia and Cyprus. What country has been the most interesting for you so far in your career?

The country that have been the most interesting to me are Austria Cyprus and Germany

Early in your career you played for the Manchester Millrats (PBL) in what is now called the NBL in Canada. This league is steady on the rise. What memories do you have of your successful time there where you played 10 games averaging 18.4ppg, 8.3rpg, 1.6apg, FGP: 57.4%, FT: 53.7%

The memories I have playing for the Mill Rats are a bunch of talented players I played with and every practice was like a game

As a rookie you played for Fundacion Basket Merida (Spain-EBA) playing 15 games: 9.7ppg, 6.1rpg, 2FGP: 64%, 3PT: 0%, FT: 59%. What was your wake up call to being a rookie in Europe where you knew that you were very far away from home in Philadelphia?

My wake up call in Spain was my first time out of the Country and it was so difficult for me. I did not know how the life style was in Europe and that I couldn´t watch American TV. I was new to everything in Spain and the food and language was new to me but it was a good learning experience

You played a season at Xavier(NCAA) What memories do you have of guys like Stan Burrell, Jamel Mcclean or Josh Duncan who later would play in Germany. How special was this time for despite not getting much action for the school in the NCAA?

Xavier was special. we have 7 guys playing professional basketball now so our practices where real competitive and we had a good coaching staff

If you had to construct your own NBA Rushmore and chose 4 legendary NBA heads who would you pick?

If I had to pick 4 NBA guys. They would be  Michael Jordan LeBron James Kobe Bryant and Shaquille O’Neal.

Lebron finally won an NBA title with his Cavs. Where is the legacy of Lebron now after this title in regards with him being compared to the best ever in the NBA?

I think if LeBron James wins two more Championships he will be considered one of the greatest basketball players ever

What was the last movie that you saw?

My last move I saw was he got game.

 

Thanks Charles for the chat.

Leave a Reply

