Julian Scott (Ehingen) I Want To Develop My Three Pointer Further So I Can Be More Of An Asset To My Team

Julian Scott is a 25 year old 203cm forward from Sacramento, California that recently completed his second professional season and first with the Uni Riesen Leipzig playing 23 games: Score-5(20.4ppg), Reb-2(10.5rpg), 1.7apg, 1.4spg, FGP: 50.3%, 3PT: 17.9%, FT: 66.7%. He picked up Eurobasket.com All-German 2.Bundesliga Pro B Forward of the Year -16, Eurobasket.com All-German 2.Bundesliga Pro B 1st Team -16, and Eurobasket.com German 2.Bundesliga Pro B All-Imports Team -16. As a rookie, he played for TSV Quakenbrueck (Germany-2.Regionalliga) playing 16 games averaging 29.7ppg. He started his basketball career at Yuba junior college and then played two years at S.Utah (NCAA). He finished at Adams St. (NCAA2) playing 27 games: 10.8ppg, 4.0rpg, FGP: 58.5%, 3PT: 50.0%, FT: 70.2%. He spoke to German Hoops after being signed by German Pro A team Ehingen.

 

Julian thanks for talking to German Hoops. Where are you at the moment and how has your summer been?

Hey Miles hows it going thanks for the interview. I’m currently back in my hometown Sacramento CA. It’s been amazing so far.

It has only been a few days since the Golden State warriors let a 3-1 final series lead slip away to Lebron and the Cavs, but seriously will your neighbors over in Oakland survive the summer with this pathetic loss?

They will be fine Bron Bron is just too great . I respect greatness simple and plain.

Congrats on signing with German Pro A team Ehingen? With such a strong season in the Pro B, did it open more doors this summer with teams in comparison to the summer of 2015 when you had played with TSV Quackenbruck?

Thank you. Yes it did open more doors definitely you learn that in this business that it’s about proving yourself at each level you play at so far I’ve done that and plan to keep working hard to get on the highest platform being the BBL.

You had stated in a previous interview that your goal now was the Pro A. How much interest did you have this summer from Pro A and Pro B teams? Were there even some BBL teams carefully knocking on your door?

There was some interest in Pro A but I would  say more in Pro B. I believe teams in the Pro A were unsure if I would be able to play at this level just like the Pro B teams were last year when I came from 2nd Regio. I plan on showing them that and with Ehingen and their staff I’m sure they will do their very best to prepare me for it. No I doubt BBL even knows I’m alive just yet haha.

You have signed with Ehingen that most likely has the best youth system in Germany. How proud are you to be strapping on the jersey of the Steeples this season?

Very happy they were the Pro B champions. Much deserved from a great Club so I’m glad they see something in me that they wanted to have a part of their organization.

Last season you combined for 56 points with Leipzig in two close loses that were decided combined by only 9 points. What impressed you last season about the style of play of Ehingen?

I would say they all had great chemistry. You could tell everyone liked each other a lot and that shows on the court when it came to how they moved the ball to get great shots from their guys.

What sold you most on signing with this very ambitious club Ehingen?

Didn’t take much they are bringing back some guys I spoke with in the past who I liked as people as well as players. Danny Berger was also a big factor in that decision we had been talking about playing together in the past and decided to make it happen.

What is your impression of head coach Domenik Reinboth? Do you sense that you both speak the same basketball language?

My impression of Domenik is that he knows what it takes to play at this level. We both want the same thing and that is this club being successful. So I am excited definitely.

You won Eurobasket.com forward of the year and belonged to the top players. How confident are you that you will be able to make an impact in the Pro A?

Very confident I worked really hard to make those things happen as well as having teammates and the coaching staff giving me the freedom to play my game.

What part of your game will you be extra fine tuning tis summer so you will be more than prepared when you arrive in August in Ehingen?

Well I work on all aspects of my game my biggest thing would be my 3 pointer I believe if I can develop that so I’m much more of an asset to my team. Fortunately from what I’ve been told Coach Domenik is a shooting doctor and believes he can help with that so I plan to work really hard at that to add another notch in the belt.

How does a summer work out day look like for Julian Scott in 2016?

Well it’s getting up in the morning going to work out with my trainer Dwayne Bishop weights first, Conditioning on the field and following it up with skills training in the gym. That is what I do

Will Steph Curry and the Warriors survive and would a Kevin Durant really mix up the cards?

Nope Lakers going for Durant so I want to see this happen.

What was the last movie that you saw?

Last movie would be The Boy a horror film.

Thanks Julian for the chat.

Leave a Reply

