Brandyn Curry (I Just Need A Situation On A Team Where I Am Just Able To Play My Game)

Brandyn Curry is a 24 year old 187cm point guard from Huntersville, North Carolina that recently finished his second professional season with the Eisbaeren Bremerhaven where he played 27 games averaging 3.9ppg, 1.6rpg, 2.0ap As a rookie he  completed his first season in Europe for the SPM Shoeters Den Bosch (Holland-Eredivisie). In his rookie season in Holland he played 33 games averaging 14.9ppg, 4.1rpg, Assists-2(5.0apg), 2.0spg, FGP: 58.9%, 3PT: 37.8%, FT: 83.7%; EuroChallenge: 12 games: 16.2ppg, 5.3rpg, 2.9apg, Steals-5(1.8spg), FGP: 49.0%, 3PT: 40.6%, FT: 72.7% He played four years at Harvard(NCAA) playing a total of 113 NCAA games and as a senior played 23 games averaging 9.3ppg, 2.9rpg, 2.8apg, 1.4spg, FGP: 53.6%, 3PT: 37.8%, FT: 58.5%. He had the chance to talk with German Hoops after his second professional season in Germany with the Eisbaeren Bremerhaven.

Brandyn thanks for talking to German Hoops. Where are you at the moment and how has summer been so far?

Hey Miles no problem at all. I am currently home in Charlotte, NC. Summer has been great so far just been getting after it in the gym. Glad to be back after a long 9 months away

Was it a bit strange being home so early after playing into the end of May in your rookie season with Den Bosch?

It was a bit strange but honestly was a relief. It was a pretty quick turnaround to not get home until June after the season ended in Den Bosch and then have to go to Germany in the beginning of August.

What was the first good American meal that you had after you touched back down in the United States?

The first meal I had as soon as I got home was some bbq pulled pork over rice with green beans and zucchini that my mom made.

You played your second professional season with the Eisbaeren Bremerhaven and it was a season to forget. Did you at times feel just like escaping? How difficult was the day to day grind for you?

Yeah this year was certainly a challenge for the team and me personally. Definitely were times when I felt like I wanted to escape but I am really glad I stuck through until the end of the season. The day to day grind was very tough but I just used each day to the fullest and did everything possible to get better every single day. It was the most focused I’ve ever been in that regard

You were one of the first signings last season. Did it seem like to you then that you were the number one choice for then head coach Muli Katzurin or were you told form the start that you would have a limited role?

When I first signed with Muli they didnt make me any promises but said I would have a legit opportunity to get playing time. Under Muli I did but unfortunately once he was fired my role was changed

You played 27 games averaging 3,9ppg, 1,6rpg and 2,0apg. How quickly did you notice into the season that it would be a struggle and that you wouldn´t be getting the playing time you got as a rookie in Holland?

Well I noticed from the beginning that I would not be getting as much playing time as I did in Den Bosch. But I had no problem with that since the BBL is a much tougher league and I was behind Jerry Smith, a proven vet who was an all star in the league. Obviously I didn´t know we would have several coaching changes as well as an influx of new players so I would end up not really playing anymore but that´s part of the overseas lifestyle as I grew to learn this year.

In your first 10 games you played 20 minutes or more five times. Do you feel like that you blew your chance early? You didn´t perform as well as you could of in those games if you look at your stats? Do you feel like you underachieved?

I mean I wouldn´t say I blew my chance but I certainly could have done better in those games. Had to go through a little adjustment period early on but unfortunately just took too long. Another great learning experience I went through.

When looking back at the season in the Beko BBL do you feel like making this step was a bit too early for you?

No I don’t think it was too early for me. I could have definitely had a more impactful season but things didn´t quite work out for me and that´s fine. I grew a lot this year and it´s going to pay off in due time

Was the absolute low point when you didn´t dress for games? How did you stay positive in these moments?

Yeah that was for sure the lowest point I’ve ever had in my career. I just used that as fuel to keep grinding in the gym every single day. Since I wasn’t dressing I had no reason to save my legs so I was going very hard in my own workouts and in practice.

Besides the stress of your limited role with Bremerhaven you also had to deal with a club losing. Was the biggest problem that the team had been put together wrong from the start?

There were a lot of issues this year but we were able to fight through and maintain our spot in the league which is all that matters in the end.

Nothing really changed for you on the court in terms of minutes when Sebastian Machowski came on board. Despite that did the coaching change help you in any ways in terms of what you could get out of the season in the last few months?

No nothing changed besides some new offensive sets and defensive principles

There weren´t really many highlights during the season, but was the win over Alba Berlin the best basketball working day that you had with the Eisbaeren Bremerhaven?

The win against Alba was definitely the highlight of the year and one game i will always remember.

When you look back at your second professional season in Germany with Bremerhaven what would you say was the most important thing you learned that you will keep in your memory bank for the future?

The most important thing I learned from this year is to truly only focus on controlling what you can control and never let anything get in the way of your daily grind.

How beneficial was it learning on a daily basis from ex NBA player Jerry Smith and Kyle Fogg?

That was the best part of the year getting to go up against and learn from both Jerry and Fogg. Two of the best guards I have played against and they both helped to raise my level this year. I left a much better player than when I arrived at Bremerhaven and a lot of that has to do with them both

What is the next step for Brandyn Curry? Your third professional season will be huge for your career?

The next step for me is just to get into a better situation where I´ll be able to play to the fullest of my abilities next year. It is definitely a very important year that I will certainly be ready for

How much did you miss playing in international club basketball? Could you imagine going to a Fiba Europe Cup type of team in a lower league?

Playing international competition is much better then only playing once a week so I did miss that this year. That is certainly a possibility for me to do. If that is what the next best step in my career is then I will have no problem doing that

Do you see yourself taking a step back to find more confidence again or could you see taking on a big challenge in another strong league?

My confidence is 100% fine. Like I said at this point I just need a situation on a team where I am just able to play my game so that´s what I ´m looking for. Whether it´s in a lower league on a Fiba cup team or on another team in a strong league, I´m going to where the best situation is for me and I´ll be ready

On what things will you be working on this off season the most on the court?

I´m working on absolutely everything. I think I will have all the tools to become one of the best all around guards

How does a normal work out day look like for Brandyn Curry on and off the court in 2016?

I do all my basketball workouts in the am, take a lunch break, then do strength/conditioning workouts in the pm followed by some yoga/recovery stretching

If you had to construct an NBA Rushmore and pick 4 great NBA heads who would you choose?

Michael Jordan, Magic Johnson, Shaq. and Lebron

What was the last movie that you saw?

Captain America Civil War.

Thanks Brandyn for the chat.

Leave a Reply

