Tre Bennett (KTP Basket Kotka) I’m A Bit Underrated As An Athlete But I’m A High Flyer And Can Catch Alleys With Ease

Tre Bennett is a 23 year old 178cm guard from Houston, Texas that will start his professional career in Finland with KTP. He played at three colleges at Lamar St.CC (JUCO), Indiana St. (NCAA) and Angelo St. (NCAA2). He finished his college career at Angelo St. (NCAA2) and as a senior played 32 games averaging 17.0ppg, 2.7rpg, 5.0apg, 1.3spg, FGP: 45.1%, 3PT: 37.6%, FT: 87.8%. He was a LSC Tournament Finalist and NCAA 2 Sweet 16 competitor in 2016. There was a mishap recently where German club Bayer Giants Leverkusen announced he had signed with them, but in reality he will play in Finland. He spoke to German Hoops about basketball.

Thanks Tre for talking to German Hoops. Where are you at the moment and how have you been enjoying the time since the end of your college career?

I’m currently in Houston Texas, my hometown. I’m enjoying my time since season has been over. Just been working out and hanging with friends and family while I’m in town

Congrats on singing with a team in Finland. You got signed rather early in the summer. How was that whole experience for you trying to find your first professional team?

I really just left it up to my agency to get my name out there and film out there to teams across the world.

You had been linked to KTP Basket Kotka (Finland-Korisliiga) and then suddenly German club Bayer Giants Leverkusen announced you had signed with them. How did you experience this whole misunderstanding?

I tried not to worry too much about getting signed by a particular time. I’m extremely thankful my agency was able to find me a team in a really good league so early in the summer. The misunderstanding with the teams was just bad communication on the part of myself as well as my agency and it was an innocent mistake.

How excited are you to be playing in Finland as a rookie? What will be your major goals as a rookie?

I’m very excited to be starting my professional career in Finland and my most important goal is to compete for a championship right away. I also want to continue to improve my individual game throughout the year.

You are described as being a nimble player that can get to the rim quickly. To what NBA player would you describe your game to?

If I had to choose what NBA player my game is most similar to, I would probably have to say maybe Kyle Lowry.

In college you proved that you can score and distribute for your teammates at ease, but what is a hidden strength in your game that you feel doesn´t always get noticed right away?

I feel like I’m a bit underrated as an athlete. I’m a high flyer and can catch alleys with ease

You started your college career at Lamar. It has been a few years since your 45 points against Lee college, but what memories do you still have of that game and how much were you in the zone in that game?

Against Lee college I was in a complete zone and I just remember the basket feeling really big that game and everything I shot went in it seemed like

Did you have any butterflies going from junior college Lamar to the legendary basketball school Indiana State? How much confidence did you need making this step?

I didn’t really have much butterflies leaving junior college to the division 1 level because I was really confident in my game and wanted to prove I can play and be effective on any level.

At Indiana State you had a solid season playing 29 games averaging 8.0ppg, 2.5rpg, 2.8apg, FGP: 45.7%, 3PT: 33.9%, FT: 78.1%. How do you feel did you develop as a player further having to make that giant step and adjustment to the NCAA?

I believe going to Indiana State I became a smarter basketball player offensively as well as defensively because the level of play was so high.

How fond will you remember your two games against Wichita State 2013 NCAA Final 4 team where you scored in double figures in both games, but still lost. Did individual performances like this prove to you that you can play against the best?

Playing at Wichita state was an atmosphere like I’ve never experienced before. It was a really loud gym and the game was sold out but I knew I could compete against those guys and I proved that when I got a chance to be out there.

How important was a guy like Devonte Brown for your game at Indiana State as you came in and grew as a player in that one year?

Devonte was a leader from day 1 and I learned a lot from him the year I was there

You moved to Angelo St. (NCAA2) to be nearer to home after a death in the family. How tough was it taking a step back to the NCAA 2?

Taking a step back to the D2 level for me was a tough step considering where I was the year before but my family and I thought it would be the best move for me my last season.

In your final year of college basketball with Angelo St. (NCAA2) you played 32 games averaging 17.0ppg, 2.7rpg, 5.0apg, 1.3spg, FGP: 45.1%, 3PT: 37.6%, FT: 87.8%. How do you feel did this season give you the final touch to pursue a professional career?

I thought my senior campaign really helped me grow as a leader and a playmaker and I’m blessed it was as successful as it was

How did head coach Cinco Boone prepare and groom you best for a professional basketball career in your last season at Angelo State?

Coach Boone really prepared me for professional ball because he challenged me daily, especially in practice and he challenged me to be a leader every day and to challenge my teammates so they could continue to grow as players themselves for the better of the team

How does a normal basketball work out day look like for Tre Bennett in the summer of 2016?

A normal basketball workout consist of lifting weights and conditioning in the morning and open run and skill work and shooting in the afternoon

Who won a one on one in practice you or Foster Prince?

The 1 on 1 series between me and prince is 3 games to 2. I won 3 and he won 2 so far. He says the series isn’t over though. He’s an excellent defender so he really challenges me

If you had to construct an NBA Rushmore with your 4 NBA players which would you choose?

My Rushmore would consist of Lebron James, Michael Jordan, Kobe Bryant, and Magic Johnson.

What was the last movie that you saw?

The last movie that I saw was Brown Sugar.

Thanks Tre for the chat.

 

Leave a Reply

