Dashaun Wood (If I Were To Return To Frankfurt I Probably Would Have To Play For Less)

Dashaun Wood is a 30 year old 185cm point guard from Detroit, Michigan that just completed his eighth professional season with Cholet(France Pro A) playing 18 games averaging 12,7ppg, 2,1rpg and 4,8apg. He played at Wright state from 2003-2007. In his senior year, he played 33 games averaging 19.6ppg, 5.1rpg, 4.0apg, 1.9spg, FGP: 43.5%, 3Pts: 37.3%, FT: 88.3%. In 2007-2008, he played his rookie season for Tisettanta Cantu (Italy-SerieA) playing 38 games: Score-5(16.9ppg), 3.0rpg, Assists-4(3.3apg), 2.7spg, 2FGP:52.1%, 3PT-2(42.8%), FT:77.4%. In 2008-2009, he played for Benetton Treviso (Italy-SerieA), injured in Oct.’08 and was off for 2 months: Eurocup: 12 games: 5.3ppg, 2.0rpg, 3.3apg, 1.0spg, FGP: 40.0%, 3PT: 25.0%, FT: 87.5%; Italian League: 17 games: 7.2ppg, 2.9rpg, 3.2apg, 1.4spg, FGP: 43.1%, 3PT: 35.6%, FT: 70.4%. In 2010-2011, he was the Beko BBL MVP with The Deutsche Bank Skyliners playing EuroCup Qualifying Round: 2 games: 13.5ppg, 2.5rpg, 5.0apg; EuroChallenge: 6 games: 16.3ppg, 3.8rpg, 5.2apg, 1.7spg, FGP: 46.9%, 3PT: 33.3%, FT: 73.7%; German League: 42 games: Score-1(19.0ppg), 4.6rpg, Assists-2(5.9apg), 1.2spg, FGP: 50.0%, 3PT: 33.2%, FT: 80.3%. He played for Alba Berlin from 2011-2013. In the 2013-2014 season he played for Le Mans Sarthe Basket (France-ProA) 26 games: 14.2ppg, 2.5rpg, 4.2apg, 1.1spg, FGP: 48.5%, 3PT: 37.5%, FT: 81.2%; Eurocup: 8 games: 16.4ppg, 1.3rpg, 2.4apg, 1.6spg, FGP: 46.2%, 3PT: 46.6%, FT: 93.3%. In the 2014-2015 season he played for Tofas Bursa (Turkey-TBL) averaging 14,4ppg, 2,6rpg and 4,1apg.  He spoke to German Hoops about basketball from his hometown Detroit.

Dashaun thanks for talking to German Hoops. Where are you at the moment and how has your summer been?

I have been home in Detroit for about three weeks now. I have been spending a lot of time with my family and friends. I also have begun to work out a lot sooner than I usually do during the summer.

 

We did an interview a year ago and the Fraport Skyliners subject came up. You obviously had very high market value. Were you a bit disappointed by what they offered you?

 

 

 

We didn´t really go into negotiations last summer. Both sides understood quickly that that what I was looking for wasn´t there. I have much praise and respect for the Fraport Skyliners in that they once again found a way to be competitive with the budget they had.

 

The Fraport Skyliners had a very successful season winning the Fiba Europe Cup and reaching the semi finals of the Beko BBL playoffs. Do you feel like that had you been on board last season that you could of done the same?

 

I hope that we could of. Their point guard Jordan Theodore had a great season and led the team well. Congrats to him, the other players and coaching staff for a great season. I know that if I had been on that team that I would have given my best to have achieved that success.

 

Your ex teammate Quantez Robertson finally got his first title in his seventh season. How proud are you of him and where does he rate as your all-time best teammate?

 

I am very proud of Tez. I remember his game 5 years ago and he has made extreme growth in that time. He has grown in individual aspects of his game and his leadership. I am really proud that he was able to take such big steps in his growth. He ranks in my three best all-time teammates. He does so much on the court that doesn´t end up on the stats sheet especially on the defensive end. He also has become a better offensive player in the last years. He is so unselfish and just a player any team needs to win a title.

 

 

What do you remember from your season in Frankfurt as being the biggest strength that head coach Gordon Herbert had when it came to getting in a player´s head?

 

He is one of the best coaches that knows how to get the best out of each player. He is a players coach and everyone loves to play for him. He doesn´t really need to say much. You just want to play for him and win for him.

 

 

You played for Gordon Herbert twice. Wouldn´t playing a third time for him in the twilight of your professional career be advantageous?

 

Of course anytime you can compete and he can get the best out of you, you want to play for him. If it ever happened, I would be very excited. I want to finish career good and strong.

 

 

 

The Fraport Skyliners as is so often the case lose their American point guard as they did the last two seasons with Justin Cobbs and Jordan Theodore. You are a year older, more experienced and know exactly what you will get on and off the court and get that family atmosphere. Would you come back and play for less this time around?

 

I feel that at my age I could still be an important puzzle piece for a team that is playing at a high level. If I were to go back to Frankfurt, I probably would have to play for less. I wouldn´t mind it, but it´s all about timing.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You are turning 31 in a few months. If it isn´t Frankfurt, in what direction are you going to be going this summer when looking for a new team?

 

I am looking for a team that is ready to compete and can make the playoffs and win a title. Important also is a good atmosphere and a club works hard and together.

 

 

If you had a dream country where you would love to play in Europe where would it be?

 

I would love to play in Israel. I recently had a chance to go to Hapoel Jerusalem for the playoffs, but I didn´t get the deal that I wanted. Israel is definitely on my list. There is good weather and a high paced league. It would be a new experience for me.

 

 

Where do you rate your quickness and getting to the hole today compared to 5 years ago where you almost led Frankfurt into the Beko BBL final?

 

With Frankfurt I was a 10 and now I am an 8. I believe that I have improved my game. The biggest area is just having the ability to read the game better. When I was with Frankfurt, I wasn´t a full veteran yet, but now I read the game differently and better.

 

 

What is your best asset now on the court and how can your experience always help any team?

 

This may sound silly, but my best asset now is my leadership. I can give a team exactly what it needs in that moment I feel more complete and versatile now than 5 years ago with Frankfurt. I can win games in many different ways now.

 

You had a shortened season in 2015-2016 signing very late in January 2016 with Cholet. Those first few months I really thought that you would hang it up? Why did you sign so late?

 

My dad had issues and then on the day when I was set to go to Le Mans, I was at the airport and my dad got sick so I stayed at home for the first months. Then when I got the deal with Cholet in mid-season, I decided not to wait any longer and take the deal.

 

 

It didn´t seem difficult for you to jump in in midseason as you helped Cholet to a 4-0 record averaging 14ppg and 5,0apg. Was there anything that was more difficult for you than if you had come in over the summer?

 

When I got there, I felt like it may take 3 weeks until I can get to the spot where I want to be. But for some reason my training at home had me ready. I felt very good coming in and we won the first 4 games. Cholet had been in the Pro A for 40 years and were in danger of moving down. I came in and right away had to bring energy and experience to help the team stay in the league.

 

After playing your first game coming from the bench, you then started and was a main figure in the offensive system. Did you feel like the club saw you as a savior?

 

I believe it was a total team effort as everyone did their best to save the season. The club needed my leadership and professionalism and a guy that they could count on when times got tough to get them out and win games. When the club called me to get me they said, “We want to stay in the Pro A”. From then on it became my number one goal.

 

 

However after that 4-0 start with you, the club then finished losing 12 of it´s last 14 games and finished in 15th place. What turned a good start as you came to a poor finish?

 

 

We had many unfortunate things happen in the last few months. Our captain got suspended for five games and our center missed the last six games due to an injury. One of our best players JP Prince left the team for Turkey and we were without him. We were shorthanded, but still competed at a high level, but just couldn´t win games. My first four games saved us from the end.

 

After winning the French Cup in 2014 with Le Mans, how would you summarize your second season in France with Cholet? Was there anything positive that you got out of this experience?

 

Cholet has a lot of basketball history as NBA players like Rudy Gobert and Nando De Colo played here. Seeing all the history here coupled with the circumstances of losing and having to fight to stay in the league made it a good experience. The club has very loyal fans and being able to help save the season for them made the whole season special.

 

 

 

 

How did you like playing the 1-2 position with ex Wisconsin stand out Trevon Hughes? What did you enjoy most about this potent duo?

 

 

I liked it. I learned a lot from him as well. He played at a big college and also in Germany and always worked hard. He helped us get big wins against my ex team Le Mans and Asvell.

 

You really dueled against many fine players, but what do you remember of Michael Thompson who was a rookie in Frankfurt after you left? He really has developed nicely the last years

 

He is like I was in Frankfurt. Now he understands the game and has developed well in the last years. He has matured into a great leader and being able to play at a high level. You have to give a lot of credit to the Frankfurt coaching staff. Everything he has done in the last years carried over to his great season this season.

 

 

After a solid career at Boston College and having solid seasons in Italy, Germany and France, will Joe Trapani make the next step at age 27?

 

He has the opportunity to play at a high level and I am sure he will take advantage of it. He always worked hard no matter how up and down the season was or how tough it was. He was our most consistent player and the fans loved him.

 

 

Lets talk a little about the NBA Finals. Can Lebron lead the Cavs to the title?

 

In this series you can think with your heart and mind. I am a big Lebron fan and if I am thinking with the heart then I would go with Lebron. I would love the Cavs to win it with Lebron, but you have to think with the mind. Curry and the Warriors are too good. The Warriors will win it in five games and maybe six games.

 

 

 

Is Steph Curry a dynasty player?

 

If he wins another title, then he will have two and two MVP´s and it´s a no brainer. Look at Isaiah Thomas who belongs to the greats. He won two titles and has no MVP award and helped the Pistons to a dynasty.

 

 

If Lebron loses, how badly will his reputation of winning the big one be tarnished?

 

I don´t think that it will be tarnished at all. Lebron plays for a title every season and his competitiveness speaks for it´s self. The Cavs would be nowhere with him. I would play for a title each season then just make the playoffs as Lebron does.

 

 

If you had to construct your NBA Rushmore, what 4 NBA heads would you use?

 

Lebron, Curry, Shaq and Duncan

 

 

What was the last movie that you saw?

 

The Peanuts.

 

Thanks Dashaun for the chat.

 

Leave a Reply

