Alex Foster (RheinStars) When I Got To Germany All I Could Do Was Shoot But Coach Woltmann Helped Me Develop More Abilities Which Make Me A Better All-Around Player

Alex Foster is a 23 year old 203cm forward that grew up in Portland, Oregon and also has the German citizenship and completed his professional rookie season in Germany with the RheinStars(Germany-ProA). He played at Emory (NCAA3) from 2011-2015 playing a total of 108 NCAA3 games and as a senior played 20.1ppg, 7.9rpg, 1.0apg, FGP: 44.6%, 3PT: 39.9%, FT: 79.8%. He was able to improve his scoring and rebounding average each season. He spoke to German Hoops after the season ended before getting a contract extension.

Thanks Alex for talking to German Hoops. Where are you at the moment and how have you been enjoying your early summer vacation?

I’m back in my hometown, Portland, Oregon. After my season finished, my girlfriend and I did some traveling. We went to Greece and then saw some friends and family in the US South, both of which were really nice. I already miss my team in Cologne though!

The German Pro A season has been over for you since many weeks. Has this time seemed like an eternity or has it passed by quicker than say 6 weeks during your rookie season?

The offseason definitely goes by slower than the season. I stay busy with my own workouts and training, but time flies when you’re preparing for new opponents and competing on the weekends.

The RheinStars finished in no mans land in 12th place, but had as many wins as the last playoff club Nurnberg. How was it for you experiencing this very tight standings scenario down the stretch as a rookie? Was it at times mentally challenging?

Missing the playoffs was hard, since that was definitely a team goal for all of us, but it also shows how important every single game is. With only 30 games in the Pro A season, you have to bring your best to every game. I don’t think I was able to do that as a rookie, so I’m making it my top goal for next season.

Even though that the RheinStars didn´t finish the season as a playoff team was the fact that the club finished strong winning three of the last four games a type of consolation?

Even when we were losing, we were getting better as a team, so I’m glad we were able to show our improvement at the end. I think our last game of the season was our best all-around performance. Its a shame we didn’t give ourselves the opportunity to keep improving the playoffs, because I think we would have only gotten better.

The goal of the club was never to reach the playoffs, but too stay in the league. How much did the team eclipse it´s expectations?

I think most people were surprised to see us start off our first season hot, but then expectations for the team quickly rose. Considering our club’s original goal, we probably exceeded expectations. But since we proved our ability to win early in the season, it was disappointing to lose games down the stretch.

Was it just the youth that limited the team of winning a few more games or were there other factors that contributed to the 13-17 record?

It was our first season playing together so we definitely struggled at times, but considering our inexperience, I think we played a pretty strong season. There’s no doubt that we could have been better. However, that group was brought together to establish the club in the Pro A and we were successful doing that.

You completed your rookie season in Germany playing 29 games and averaging 9,6ppg, 3,3rpg and 1,4apg. How content were you with your season?

Not content, but I’ve gotten much better since college, which was important for me as a rookie. The Pro A is a big step up from the NCAA Division 3 and it took me longer to adjust than I thought it would. When I got to Germany all I could do was shoot, but Coach Woltman has helped me develop more abilities, which make me a better all-around player.

How important was it for your development of having to be a guy that had to produce for the success of the team?

I embrace that kind of responsibility. It’s easy when you play well and your team wins, but your character shows even more when you fail your team. This season, I experienced both and learned to believe in myself and keep working, whether things were good or bad.

Is defense and three point accuracy going to be two things that you will stress on working on this summer to keep improving your game?

For sure. I’ve been focusing on my shot preparation, so that I’m more consistent mechanically. In order to get better at defense, I’m improving my mobility and building functional strength. I’m not forgetting the details of ball handling and passing either.

What is the next step for Alex Foster? Is there a trend that the club will try to keep the team together? Would you like to continue to be playing for the team?

I’m still close with a lot of my teammates from last season and have a good relationship with the coaching staff and management, so I can definitely see myself back in Cologne.

What was your season highlight on the floor with the RheinStars?

Our last game of the season. We played our best basketball and a bunch of our fans where there to celebrate. It was bittersweet since our season was over, but the entire community could still be proud.

Which young German improved the most this season for the RheinStars?

They all came a long way. Most of them ended up playing a bigger role in Pro A than they did in the Regionalliga, which is really impressive.

If you were to construct a NBA Rushmore, which 4 NBA heads would you make?

I’d make it my favorite players from my childhood: T-Mac, Nash, Dirk, and B-Roy.

What was the first American eatery that you sought out when you arrived back to the States?

I went to a burger joint in Atlanta.

What is going to be a place that you will try to visit this summer where you necessarily haven´t ever been to in your life?

I’m excited to see my first friend to get married. David Downs in getting hitched in Seattle this summer and I’ll be there!

What was the last movie that you saw?

The Nice guys.

Thanks Alex for the chat.

 

Leave a Reply

