Dan Oppland (Rent4Office) I Don’t Feel Like We Ever Reached Our Peak

Dan Oppland is a 32 year old 203cm forward that completed his second season for Rent4Office. He started his basketball career for  Valparaiso (NCAA) in 2002 where he played until 2006. He started his professional basketball career in 2006 for  Hanzevast Capitals Groningen (Holland). He then played in countries like Poland and Sweden before coming to Bayreuth in 2008. He then played for seasons four Allianz Swans Gmunden (Austria-A Bundesliga) where he won three titles. Two seasons ago, he played for  Namika Lahti (Finland-Korisliiga) 47 games: 15.7ppg, 7.9rpg, 1.5apg, 1.1spg, FGP: 54.2%, 3PT: 33.3%, FT: 72.0%. Last season for Rent4Office he played 30 games averaging 8.1ppg, 4.5rpg, 1.3apg, FGP: 51.3%, 3PT: 20.8%, FT: 52.9%. He spoke to German Hoops after the season ended

Dan thanks for talking to German Hoops. Where are you at the moment and how has your summer been?

Hello Miles. Great hearing from you. I am doing great. I have been traveling a lot lately. I was in Rome last week for four days and then the week before I was in America visiting my family for about 2 weeks. I am preparing a trip to Barcelona this weekend as well.

Your season ended in April. Has the time from then until now felt like an eternity or has the time away from games flown by?

The time has gone by pretty fast for me since the season ended. I feel like it always goes this way in the offseason. I usually keep myself busy, so time seems to fly by.

Rent4Office finished the season in eighth place with a record of 13-17 squeezing into the playoffs. Despite making the playoffs, the club ended the regular season with a six game losing streak and then got swept by SC Rasta Vechta. Had Rent4Office reached their peak too early in the season?

To be honest with you, I don’t feel like we ever reached our peak. We might have had a good record early on, but I do not think we were ever playing at a high level. It just never seemed to come this season. We had glimpses of it at times, but never consistently.

I always felt that Rent4Office was loaded with very talented Americans and solid German role players. Why wasn´t the team able to make more of an impact during the whole season?

I don’t think we had any team chemistry the entire season. We had a huge roster of players who really didn’t know their roles, which, in my opinion, makes it difficult to win games. To be a successful team, everyone has to be on the same page, and we never found that groove.

What positives do you feel could the team take from the season? Possibly the further fine development of the young Germans?

I think there are a lot of positives that can be taken from this season. In order to get better, you need to experience difficult times, and we had a lot of downs this year. If you take that with the right attitude, then it can only make for something better in the end. Our young guys can benefit from it especially, knowing what they need to do in order to be successful in their future careers. The future is bright for the young Germans if they approach the game with the right attitude and character.

You played 32 games averaging 9,8ppg, 6,3rpg and 1,7apg. How would you summarize your own season? You improved your stats from the season before

I am not big into statistics. I’ve had seasons where I scored a lot, but my team didn’t win anything and then seasons where I scored less and we won. The only stat that matters to me is wins and losses, so if you look at our season, it was an obvious disappointment.

How do you feel that you were able to develop your game further now in your thirties?

Even though I am older, I still think there are things you can always work on to improve your game. I have a lot of flaws I need to work on, like my shooting that I will continue to improve upon this summer. A big thing for me is to just keep taking care of my body as I get older.

What was your season highlight on the floor with your team last season? Possibly the sweep of Heidelberg where you contributed with 17 and 16 points?

Beating Heidelberg twice was definitely nice. I think we showed some great strides right before the Christmas break winning three in a row. Beating Gotha at home like we did was a huge accomplishment.

What is the next step for Dan Oppland? Will you continue your career in Germany or possibly go to another country?

I am hoping to continue playing here in Germany. This is where I want to be with my fiancee, Katja.

On what things will you stress most in your summertime workout sessions concerning your game that you want to improve most on?

Like I said before, I will continue to work on my shooting this summer along with my agility and quickness. These are things that can give me an advantage at my age.

Which young German improved the most this season for Rent4Office?

Mauricio Marin really improved as the season progressed.

If you had to choose one player that was toughest to battle on the floor in Germany who would you chose?

There were a lot of really good players in the league this year. It’s hard to just pinpoint one person.

If you were to construct a NBA Rushmore, which 4 NBA heads would you make?

Michael Jordan, Magic Johnson, Larry Bird, Tim Duncan

What was the first American eatery that you sought out when you arrived back to the States?

Chilis

What is going to be a place that you will try to visit this summer where you necessarily haven´t ever been to in your life?

We were just in Rome, and I have always wanted to go there.

What was the last movie that you saw?

The Jungle Book.

Thanks Dan for the chat.

 

Leave a Reply

