Brandon Spearman (Gladiators Trier) We Were Able To Play At Our Full Potential In The Second Half Of The Season

Brandon Spearman is a 23 year old 190cm guard that completed his second professional season with the Gladiators Trier. He started his basketball career in 2010 for Dayton(NCAA) where he played 36 NCAA games. He then moved to Indian Hills CC (JUCO) and finished his last two seasons at Hawaii (NCAA) and as a senior played 26 games averaging 11.2ppg, 4.4rpg, 1.2apg, FGP: 57.8%, 3PT: 33.0%, FT: 52.8%. Last season as a rookie he played in the German Pro B with SC Rist Wedel. He spoke to German Hoops at the end of the season.

Thanks Brandon for talking to German Hoops. Where are you at the moment and how have you been enjoying your early summer break?

Hey Miles thanks for having me. My summer has been great enjoying the offseason with my family here in Chicago.

It has been sometime since the end of the season for you and the Gladiators Trier. When you look back at the team season what school grade would you give the team for the season?

Well if this was school I would give us the highest grade possible. The season was great had a lot ups and downs but we always stuck close to each other when our backs were against the wall.

The Gladiators Trier went into the playoffs as a sixth seed and beat swept Kirchheim. If someone had told you before the series that you would have won 3-0 what would you have thought?

Yes most defiantly. We were all confident coming in to the series Vs Krichheim we practiced hard all year for the playoffs and we were ready.

The Gladiators Trier finished the regular season with a two game winning streak beating Hamburg and Nurnberg and then swept Kirchheim. Was this the moment where you reached your peak as a team?

Yeah the whole 2nd half of the season was a completely different Gladiator team as we were injury free and also including having Simon back at PG was a great for us. We were able to play at our full potential.

How proud were you of the team that it was able to defeat Kirchheim twice in close games and close the series with a 15 point win?

Very proud. It was fun winning and being able to play hard for our fans.

The Gladiators Trier mustered on average only 56 points in the series against Science City Jena. Why was it so difficult to crack their defense and not find ways to make adjustments?

We hit a lot of slumps where the ball wasn’t going in the rim but we did do a good job of moving the ball we just didn’t make plays when it counted the most. Not taken anything any from Jena defense they play great defense but I feel as if we just didn’t have rhythm on the offense end at times and we as a team love to play with rhythm but we couldn’t find it that much.

What positive thing do you feel could the Gladiators Trier take out of the Jena series that enabled them to still keep their heads hanging high at the end?

Plenty of positive things can be pointed out our effort every game was one of them for sure.

If you had to pick your most memorable game of the season what would you pick?

If I had to choose one it will be the game against Hamburg at home to clinch playoff position, very fun game.

You were around the team for nine months. If you had to pick one player who developed the most who would it be over the course of the season?

I can’t really choose one particular player we all worked hard them nine months and everyone develop well throughout the time.

Your teammate Dwayne Evans made the jump to the Beko BBL and will play for the Giessen 46ers next season. Why do you feel will he be able to make the transition in Germany´s best basketball league?

With him making the transition to the BBL he will be just fine. Dwayne will be great with Giessen he’s very versatile and smart player. I really can’t wait to see him play.

You have resigned for the 2016-2017 season. What expectations will you have of the team and your own game next season?

I have great expectations for us, can’t wait for the season to get here. I have a lot to improve on and most certainly this summer a lot of work is being done on the court. Cant wait, should be a fun season and we have great players returning.

You played 37 games averaging 12,4ppg, 3,5rpg and 1,5apg and had scored in double figures in 29 games. How would you summarize your season?

I feel as if I played well but not well enough I have a lot to work put in and putting in the work this summer means it all. Being ready for next season if major key for the year I want to have.

Scoring wise you didn´t close out the season so well scoring a total of 11 points in the Jena series. On what things will you be working on this summer to continue to improve your game?

I was not pleased at all with my play against Jena I feel I really didn’t play to my full potential and somewhat feel like I let my guys down. I missed a lot shots I know I can hit. I wasn’t making plays I know can complete and it was really dreadful but I kept my head up threw it all. So this summer I will be working a lot on game situations, pick and roll, shooting of the dribble. Pretty much everything. I’m excited about the work, I will be putting in this summer.

What one place will you like to visit this summer where you have never been before?

Well I’m not doing to much traveling just Chicago and Los Angeles. I been to LA before so no really special traveling for me this

If you had to construct an NBA Rushmore, what four NBA heads would you use?

Tough question because I can easily pick other players but just four umm I would say Michael Jordan, Kobe Bryant, Bill Russell and have to put Lebron James.

What was the first real American meal that you indulged in when you set foot back in the States?

First American meal I had was Popeyes

What was the last movie that you saw?

Captain American Civil War.

Thanks for the chat Brandon.

 

 

Leave a Reply

