Greg Logins (BV Chemnitz) When Our Backs Were Against The Wall We All Held It Together Collectively And Took On The Challenge

Greg Logins is a 28 year old 203cm forward from Sodus, New York that recently completed his fifth professional season and first in Germany with BV Chemnitz. He started his basketball career with Canisius (NCAA) in 2007 where he played until 2011 and as a senior played  30 games: 11.8ppg, 6.0rpg, FGP: 47.0%, 3PT: 45.4%, FT: 78.3%. In 2011 he turned professional and played for Barreteros de Zacatecas (Mexico-LNBP): 10 games: 7.5ppg, 4.9rpg, FGP: 52.8%, 3PT: 9.1%, FT: 68.4%, left in Dec.’11, then joined RST Tanger (Morocco-D1) playing 15 games: 25.3ppg, 11.6rpg, 3.5apg, 1.2spg, 0.9bpg, 2FGP: 54.3%, 3PT: 39.3%, FT: 69.5%. He then played for Lappeenranta NMKY (Korisliiga) in Finland from 2012-2014. Last season he played for Fukuoka Rizing (Japan-BJ League): 30 games: 9.8ppg, 6.4rpg, 1.4apg, 2FGP: 47.5%, 3FGP: 35.3%, FT: 70.6%, in Feb.’15 moved to Tapiolan Honka (Finland-Korisliiga): 10 games: 12.0ppg, 6.7rpg, 1.4apg, FGP: 58.3%, 3PT: 31.8%. He spoke to German Hoops at the end of the season.

Greg thanks for talking to German Hoops. Where are you at the moment and how has your summer been?

Hello, no problem. It is always a pleasure to do these interview. Thanks for reaching out to me. After leaving Chemnitz, I am actually in Europe still, enjoying some time and already started some summer weight training and ball.

Your season ended in April. Has the time from then until now felt like an eternity or has the time away from games flown by?

Believe it or not, It feels like an eternity. I sit everyday searching other leagues and results and wishing that I was still playing just a little bit longer. But although it did not turn out that way, it gives me time to reflect on the season that just past, and prepare for what me an individual, need to improve.

BV Chemnitz finished the Pro A season in seventh place with a record of 14-16. Despite that how can you still have closed the season in your thoughts knowing it was a very positive season despite being swept by Science City Jena that would go on to win the Pro A title?

I felt throughout the season, we have always had some bumpy patches, that kind of set up back a little. Whether it was someone being injured, or trying to find the rhythm back as a collective, it was always just a little twitch within our team, that somehow some way, we still found a way to stick together and finish off with our ultimate goal of making the playoffs. Although, still finishing the season in a descent position, going into the playoffs without one of our stars hurt us. Nate went down on an injury on the last game of the season, that then it was announced that he wasn´t able to play in the playoffs. I predict that if we had our full roster, things would have been different, and more of a challenge. I think we still fought hard to a certain extent, but then Jena is a team that you need to produce every which way correctly, or they will take advantage of your mistakes. That being said, Jena is a good team. Congrats to them for winning it all.

Do you feel that if BV Chemnitz could have won the 70-67 game one loss, that one would have seen a totally different series? Did that close loss slow down the teams motor a bit?

Yes, I do believe that it would have given everyone even more confidence, because we had the number one team on the ropes, without our full roster. I do not thing that the loss slowed our motor down, I think that we just did not fully have depth in certain situations, to keep that motor going at that level that we were competing at.

If you could summarize the season overall for BV Chemnitz how would you do it? What was missing from getting by Science City Jena?

The overall season summarizing it all in a nutshell was a rollercoaster, that which we all stuck together and still managed to stay focus and make our goal to making the playoffs. I believe that the missing piece of getting past Jena would be our depth, and not having Nate Buss on the roster.

What positives do you feel could the team take from the season? Possibly the further fine development of the three Americans Virgil Matthews, Nate Buss and yourself?

The positives that the team could take from this past season, is that when our backs were against the wall, we all held it together collectively and took on the challenge no matter what the circumstances were. I honestly think that our three, where a dominate three and very dangerous in many ways. Coach utilized out talents in great ways, which helped our overall team be successful and play the style we wanted to play.

Virgil Matthews had another very strong season and remains being as humble as a second Bundesliga player can be. He probably knows that he is good enough to play in the Beko BBL, but never makes a fuss about it. How much does this experienced player finally deserve a shot at the big time in Germany?

Virg does not get the props that he deserves I think. This guy is a smart excellent player that knows the game very well. He was the head of the team, that which he dictates everything, through the way he plays and gets other people their shots, and puts them in positions to do their thing on the court. He is a player that, no matter what if he is having a good game, bad game, or feeling sick or hurt, he is still going to go out and try to get the job done for his team. I really do think that he can play in the Beko BBL, and be very successful because his knowledge of the game, and his style of play. He deserves a chance.

You played 28 games averaging 12,2ppg, 8,5rpg and 2,0apg. How would you summarize your own season? Were you content with your efforts in your first season in Germany?

I think I had a really good season this year. I came in late, and had to adjust to everyone, but it took me no time to fit in. I just think that it took me a little time, to actually put myself into a situation to feel really comfortable to do what I do and to help us compete even more and put us into better situations. I think that I really made a big impact into the team in what I did and what my talents are. I believe that if I was with the team from preseason, it would be a different aspect of everything and I think that I would have been in my zone easier and earlier than I was. Overall, I am happy with my efforts in my first season in Germany. I am not a settler, so I will continue to push and work even harder to improve myself even more.

You paid your dues in Finland the last three years. How do you feel that you were able to develop your game in Germany and do you feel ready to make the jump up to a higher league?

Ive played underneath some great coaches in Finland. Lassi Touvi, currently coaching Turkey, and also Tuomas Iisalo, who is coaching in the Beko BBL. They both have different styles of coaching, but each time, they helped me develop a new sense of the game, and mature in a lot of ways as a player. I think that their styles helped me a lot because in Germany, some of their tactics and solutions, were constantly coming forth, and me as an individual, I would just keep grinding those things to get me better as a player, teammate, and overall person. Yes, I am totally ready to take that jump to a higher league, and I think that I deserve it. I give my all for the team, and at a higher level, it will only push me even more to do anything and everything for my team.

What was your season highlight on the floor with your team last season? Possibly the 29 point 18 rebound effort against Science City Jena. Everything seemed to go right except getting the win?

I have had a couple of 20 point games and over 15 rebounds. It just was a great one this one because it was against the number one team. Everything did seem like it was going right that game. I was just in a beast mode and trying to go after everything and had in my mind that no one will stop me at all, which showed. We had a chance to win the game. We were actually up for a while, until the last of the game, when we made a costly mistake, and Jena took advantage and finished the game off. With smart veteran teams, there is limited room for those mistakes.

What is the next step for Greg Logins? What would be the best situation for next season if you could choose? Possibly stay in Germany?

The next step for me is to just grind hard this summer in the weight room, and on the court to grow in all the areas that I need to continue to do so. The best situation for me for next season, would to play in a higher league. I would actually like to stay in Germany, if the right situation came forth. But we shall see what these next months bring.

On what things will you stress most in your summertime workout sessions concerning your game that you want to improve most on?

I want to continue to grind and work on attacking more from the perimeter going both ways. Also just to continue to improve on my footwork.

Which young German improved the most this season for BV Chemnitz?

The most improved young buck would be Danny Mixch. That kid can play and has heart. I am highly interested into seeing how much he would improve next year.

If you had to choose one player that was toughest to battle on the floor in Germany who would you chose?

I would say Stanhardinger from Vetcha. He just has this way to push that button and get me going into another level. Great player though, we have had some great battles this season against each other.

If you were to construct a NBA Rushmore, which 4 NBA heads would you make?

Steph Curry Kawhi Leonard LeBron James LaMarcus Aldridge

What was the first American eatery that you sought out when you arrived back to the States?

Havent been yet

What is going to be a place that you will try to visit this summer where you necessarily haven´t ever been to in your life?

Jamaica

What was the last movie that you saw?

Harlem Nights.

Thanks Chris for the chat.

Leave a Reply

