Chris Iles (My Skillset Quickness Leadership And Competitiveness Gives Me The Tools I Need To Succeed At The Next Level

Chris Iles is a 26 year old 180 cm guard that just completed his rookie season in Germany with BBC White Devils Cottbus (Germany-Regionalliga). He played two years at Nicholls St. (NCAA) playing a total of 61 NCAA games and in his second season played 30 games averaging 8.5ppg, 1.7rpg, 3.6apg, 1.0spg, FGP: 37.1%, 3PT: 36.1%, FT: 77.8%. He finished his college career at Xavier (LA) (NAIA). He spoke to German Hoops after his rookie season in Germany.

Chris thanks for talking to German Hoops. Where are you at the moment and how have you been enjoying your summer?

Hello Miles. I appreciate you taking the time to interview me. Summer is going well. I am currently in Houston working out. I fly back to Hamburg, Germany on July 9 to join my girlfriend and daughter, who live there.

When you watch other games now like in the BBL or Euroleague, could you see yourself reaching a level like that in the future?

Yes, I do. I have been playing against guys who play in those higher leagues all my life. I’m just taking the long way and starting from the bottom and grinding my way up. Especially since I got a late start.

You just finished your rookie season in Germany with BBC White Devils Cottbus (Germany-Regionalliga). With what kind of expectations did you come to Germany with?

I came to Germany with an open mind. Just tried to take things as they came. It was an opportunity to show what I am capable of, and I am blessed and thankful.

BBC White Devils Cottbus (Germany-Regionalliga) finished in 11th place in the North Regionaliga with a record of 6-20. What were the main reasons for having a losing record?

I would say having an inconsistent roster and a very young inexperienced team is the main reason for the record. Many games in the second half of the season we played with 5 or 6 guys, making it very tough to win games.

There seemed to be roster and internal problems. This didn´t seem to have an effect on your game, but how difficult was it losing so much as a rookie?

It was very difficult due to the fact that my goal was to win games. I tried not to let this deter me, and played every game as hard as I possibly could, despite the circumstances.

As a rookie with BBC White Devils Cottbus (Germany-Regionalliga) you averaged 26ppg 4.9apg and 6.2rpg. Did it sometimes feel like you were a man playing with kids?

No haha, I wouldn’t say that. There were some very good players in our league. But I do feel that I could definitely play at a higher level and produce, given the opportunity.

How did you like the style of European ball? Is this a place where you feel you will be able to keep developing further and be able to move up a level?

I really like the Euro style. I think I fit the system well. I do feel that I could develop here. That is the goal, especially since my family is making a life here in Germany.

You were a rookie at age 26, but the fourth oldest on the team. Did you feel yourself as a role model simply having that American status and having played in the NCAA?

Yes, I did see myself as a role model. A lot of the young guys I think learned some things from me on and off the court. Despite the record, I feel we had some young guys on the team with potential to be solid players in the future.

Often when guys dominate the Regionaliga, they move up to the German Pro B. I am sure you have seen Pro B games and the style. Is this a level that you could succeed at?

Yes, I feel that I could definitely succeed at that level. I feel that my skillset, quickness, leadership, and competitiveness gives me the tools I need to succeed at the next level.

Please describe in a few sentences as to why you could help any basketball team right now?

I am a true point guard that is poised under pressure and can and will do everything a team needs me to do in order for the team to succeed. I can get others involved and score in a variety of ways, and even rebound despite my size (6.2rpg).

You probably will remain in Germany simply because your family is from here. What have you learned to like form the country Germany and it´s basketball in your first year here?

I have learned to appreciate the culture in Germany. The food and the weather is growing on me. It is much different from Houston, Texas where I am from. As far as the basketball, I like the style and the way teams play the game together.

Who was the toughest guy that you battled last season in the German Regionaliga?

There were a lot of good players in our league. The toughest guy I battled was probably Vincent Garrett. His versatility was a tough matchup for our team.

On what things will you want to work on most this summer to help improve your game?

This summer I am working on sharpening up all aspects of my game. Weight room, shooting, ball handling, and finishing around the rim will all be worked on.

You played at Nicholls St. (NCAA) from 2008-2010. Who was the toughest player that you played against that is in the NBA now?

Klay Thompson was the toughest. He was very efficient and his release was so high and quick. He is tough to guard.

You taught the last two years in a high school in the States. What do you feel was the most important thing that you got out of this experience?

The most important thing I got out of teaching/coaching was impacting the students and passing down my knowledge to them. I also learned a lot by watching the game on the sidelines.

If you had to construct your own NBA Rushmore, which 4 NBA players would you choose?

Michael Jordan, Allen Iverson, Shaq, and Hakeem Olajuwon.

 

What was the last movie that you saw?

 

The Jungle Book.

 

Leave a Reply

