Lamar Mallory(Licher Basket Baeren) They Wanted Me To Attack Every Time And It Felt Good To Contribute

Lamar Mallory is a 198cm forward from Dayton, Ohio playing his first season in Germany with the Licher Basket Baeren (Germany-ProB). Last season he started his professional career with the Albury Wodonga Bandits (Australia-SEABL, starting five): 5 games: 17.8ppg, 10.2rpg, 1.2apg, 1.8spg, FGP: 56.5%, FT: 57.9%. He played at Glenville St. (NCAA2) and as a senior played  25 games: 18.6ppg, 8.2rpg, 1.1apg, 1.2spg, FGP: NCAA2-2(68.1%). He spoke to German Hoops after the big win against the BIS Baskets Speyer keeping Lich in the Pro B.

 

 

Congrats Lamar in helping the Licher Basket Baeren in the Pro B. What kind of feeling do you have helping keep Lich in the Pro B?

It felt really good. I also would like to say “Thank You” Licher Basketbaren for having me this past season, it has been a pleasure playing here and a valuable learning experience for my career as Professional Basketball Player. “Thank you”

How can you explain from a players standpoint what kind of feeling you get keeping a team in the league opposed to winning a title. You didn´t win a title, but can call keeping the team in the league also a success?

Um, Its satisfying but its not as satisfying of course, we would rather had won a title, for sure. But its still a good thing, especially for the organization to build on next season.

How proud are you of the team after the lousy start to the playdowns scoring 48 points in the first game against Wurzburg and losing the second game against Speyer and now winning it´s third in a row?

I am very proud of the team, I am happy everyone wanted to keep fighting and believing in what we are doing and trying to accomplish as far as keeping Licher in the ProB.

Lich averaged 92 points in the first two wins against Speyer, but scored only 77 points in the loss in the third game. How much revenge was on your mind after the last loss to Speyer?

To be honest, I think there was a lot revenge for all of us, and pressure. We knew what we had to do and we are all very happy we were able to get it done.

It was a tight game, but Lich won all four quarters if you count the 30-30 third quarter. Was this a good 40 minute basketball game for the Licher Baskets Baeren?

Licher yes, as a team I think we were focused and we played hard. But for my individual performance I think I could have done some moments better that could’ve changed the rhythm of the game for the better, but we got it done so its all good.

The game was a real battle in the second half, but Lich had the lead for the most part. What do you feel was key for not letting Speyer get over the hump?

Actually I think not letting Speyer take the lead was a big key for us. Because in the last game we were leading by 8 or 9 points at the start of the 3rd quarter, then Speyer took the lead and it changed our rhythm a little. So I think staying ahead and making sure every basket counted, was a big key for us.

How vital were the 21 turnovers that Lich forced Speyer and seven extra possessions to being able to manage the game better?

Very vital, I think the extra possessions gave us more momentum as a team. I think it let us be ourselves and play with the confidence that we usually play with.

Lich got 23 valuable points combined from Germans Marian Schick and Simon Kutzschmar. How soothing is it too know that you can take a breather on the bench and know you can put the game into their hands?

I mean its always a good feeling when you have guys on your team that are like that, who can take over a game at any point in time and can change the rhythm. Schick can definitely change the rhythm, He’s a force, He’s hard to guard and Simon just plays hard, He has the skills and the IQ for the game, and they both really understand the game, which makes them both dominant basketball players. So it feels good.

You had a monster game scoring 28 points and grabbing 19 boards. Was this your best game of the season?

I would say this was one of my better games. The team put a lot of trust and focus on me, which I definitely appreciate. They wanted me to “attack” every time and it felt good to contribute and help bring the victory home.

Did you have an extra motivation going into the game since so much was riding on the line for the team?

A little, the frustration of us taking the losses in the beginning of the play downs, that had a lot to do with my motivation. And I just wanted to win, so bad.

When so many teammates are contributing so well, does it put less pressure on your game to have the need to perform which gets you into a good game flow without having to overthink?

I understand what you are saying, but no. Every moment of every game is pressure for me. I put that pressure on myself that is just the type of player I have been trained to be.

You have stepped it up a notch in the play downs. Has your game reached a new level in the last month?

Thank you!, but I don’t know man. I feel like I have developed more as a player. But as far as reached a new level, I’ll leave that for the fans to decide.

Can the Licher Baskets Baeren top this win against Speyer with something special next weekend in the last game against Wurzburg?

I hope so, because Wurzburg also beat us in the play downs, so it would be nice to take that win back to Lich.

No real surprises in the NBA playoffs, but the Boston Celtics did steal a game at home with Isaiah Thomas netting 42 points in the game. Is there anyway Boston can get by the Atlanta Hawks?

Yes, I think its definitely possible. In general with basketball, anything can happen, its such an unpredictable sport.

Prince was big in another generation, but did he have any influence in your music taste when you were growing up?

R.I.P. Prince. But no, I was too young lol.

What was the last movie that you saw?

The last movie I saw was “The Ant Man”. I thought it was a good movie.

Thanks Lamar for the chat.

 

Leave a Reply

