Julian Scott(UNI Riesen Leipzig) My Goal Is To Move Up And Play BBL So I’ll Keep Working To Make Sure That Happens

Julian Scott is a 25 year old 203cm forward from Sacramento, California that is playing his second professional season and first with the Uni Riesen Leipzig. Last season he played for TSV Quakenbrueck (Germany-2.Regionalliga) playing 16 games averaging 29.7ppg. He started his basketball career at Yuba junior college and then played two years at S.Utah (NCAA). He finished at Adams St. (NCAA2) playing 27 games: 10.8ppg, 4.0rpg, FGP: 58.5%, 3PT: 50.0%, FT: 70.2%. He spoke to German Hoops after the tough 91-86 loss against Iserlohn ending his season.

 

 

 

Thanks Julian for talking to German Hoops. A tough 91-86 loss in game two to Iserlohn that abruptly ended the solid season of the UNI Riesen Leipzig. If someone had told you on February sixth in Lich that you would win no more games what would you have thought?

I believe we will win every game we play so would of told you they were crazy.

In game one the UNI Riesen Leipzig scored a strong 80 points which was a bit above the team average and 86 points in game two, but averaged giving up 92 points on defense in the two games. Why couldn´t the team make adjustments from the first game on the defensive end?

We were there as we are in most of our games but couldn’t seal the deal. We made plenty of adjustments.

The UNI Riesen Leipuig made a huge comeback in the fourth quarter, but just fell a little short. What was key for Iserlohn being able to keep their nose ahead in the final minutes?

Respect to Iserlohn they have a deep roster and very well coached so they made plays when it needed to be done.

I hate to bring this topic up, but how key was the bench in this series for Iserlohn moving on?

They have an 11 man rotation so it makes it tough playing against that many fresh bodies at full speed a whole game. So their bench is just as good as the first they don’t lose a beat.

The UNI Riesen Leipzig lost their last seven games of the season. Did the UNI Riesen Leipzig run out of gas in the stretch run and get mentally tired?

I am not really big on excuses so I’ll just say we gave it all we had and it just didn’t go our way.

The team played some superb basketball this season including a 9 game winning streak. What were the main positives that the team took out of this season?

The goal was to make playoffs and to stay in the league. It was a bitter loss but in the end we did our job. That’s the positive thing we fought hard though and I am proud of my team.

How satisfying was it being able to play with such an amazing player and character like Sascha Leutlof? What will you remember most about him?

Big Sascha has been a player coach for this team and it wouldn’t have been possible to have made the playoffs without him. He has mentored me all season and I’ve been able to pick up and understand a lot of it.

What was your personal season highlight this season?

Personal highlight this season would be the game against Nordlingen that we won in triple overtime. Everybody left it out on the floor and it was one of the funniest games I’ve ever played.

You played a very strong second season in Germany after having played in the Regionaliga with TSV Quackenbruck. You averaged double double stats in points and rebounds. On a scale of 1-10 how would you rate your season?

Personally the goal is to win games. I can’t really rate a season by number we fought hard that’s all I care about.

How did Tuna Isler help you develop your game further this season as a second year man?

Tuna Isler biggest focus was to help me with my passing and finding open shooters in order to get them going in the game as well as my spacing in some regard and I have improved on that. Want to thank him for the opportunity to play for this organization

There have been players that have gradually moved up from league to league. How excited are you to be testing the market this summer or could you remain in Leipzig for another season? There was some good chemistry between you and Brandon Shingels.

We will see I will speak with the managers of the Leipzig organization if they are interested in having me back and go from there. I am excited definitely my goal is to move up and play BBL so I’ll keep working to make sure that happens. Me and Brandon are great on and off the court. He is definitely a true point guard/ forward only guard I know who loves to get in the paint and grab rebounds and I enjoyed battling with him this season.

 

Who was the toughest player that you battled this season at the forward position?

Honestly the toughest forward for me to guard all season was my teammate Sascha Leutloff. He is one of the craftiest forwards I’ve ever played against all season.

 

What two teams in the Pro B do you see reaching the Pro B final?

Iserlohn looks like they are clicking pretty well so I’d say them and maybe Ehingen.

Which two teams will reach the NCAA final?

I think the best game will end up being Oregon and Kansas

What was the last movie that you saw?

Glory road.

Thanks Julian for the chat.

 

Leave a Reply

