Brandon Shingels(UNI Riesen Leipzig) This Season Was The Get Back For Me

Brandon Shingles is a 28 year old 190cm guard from Albany, Georgia playing his third season in Germany and first with the Uni-Riesen Leipzig (Germany-ProB). He started his basketball career at Morehead St. (NCAA) and as a senior played 32 games: 4.8ppg, 2.2rpg, 4.8apg, 1.5spg. In 2010 he started his professional basketball career at  Aschersleben Tigers BC (Germany-2.Regionalliga) playing  15 games: 14.5ppg. He led the team to the Regionaliga 2 title. In the 2011-2012 season he played for Guildford Heat (United Kingdom-BBL) playing  6 games: 7.5ppg, 4.8rpg, 2.8apg, FGP: 57.1%, FT: 31.3%; left in Nov.’11, then moved to BBC Febro Eagles Magdeburg (Germany-Regionalliga) playing  7 games: 16.1ppg, 7.1 rpg, 3.9apg, 2.0spg, FGP: 61.8%, FT: 63.0%. He then played for KB Drita Gjilan (Kosovo-SuperLeague) and two years ago for GBP Badajoz (Spain-EBA) playing 15 games: 15.5ppg, 8.3rpg, 3.6apg, 2.3spg, 2FGP: 60.8%, 3PT: 6.3%, FT: 57.3%. He spoke to German Hoops after the tough 91-86  loss against Iserlohn ending his season.

 

 

Thanks Brandon for talking to German Hoops. A tough  91-86 loss in game two to Iserlohn that abruptly ended the solid season of the UNI Riesen Leipzig. If someone had told you on Februry sixth in Lich that you would win no more games what would you have thought?

Thanks for the interview Miles. If someone said this I would have thought this was a joke but we let a few games slip this season.

In game one the UNI Riesen Leipzig scored a strong 80 points which was a bit above the team average and 86 points in game two, but averaged giving up 92 points on defense in the two games. Why couldn´t the team make adjustments from the first game on the defensive end?

We don’t have a deep roster so it’s hard to maintain good defense for 40 minutes without any mistakes especially on the defensive side .

The UNI Riesen Leipuig made a huge comeback in the fourth quarter, but just fell a little short. What was key for Iserlohn being able to keep their nose ahead in the final minutes?

 I think they stayed true to their game plan even through adversity during the game. Kudos to them.

I hate to bring this topic up, but how key was the bench in this series for Iserlohn moving on?

 I think that’s the reason they won the series. Their bench is the most important key to their team. They have like a 11 man rotation which you think is important in the playoffs.

The UNI Riesen Leipzig lost their last seven games of the season. Did the UNI Riesen Leipzig run out of gas in the stretch run and get mentally tired?

This season was a grind. Physically and mentally. All the odds were stacked against us the whole year and we made the playoffs so I’m proud of my team .

The team played some superb basketball this season including a 9 game winning streak. What were the main positives that the team took out of this season?

The positive I take from this season is that when were locked in we could play with any team in this league.

How satisfying was it being able to play with such an amazing player and character like Sascha Leutlof? What will you remember most about him?

I was very blessed to have a teammate like Sascha. He makes the game so easy. What I will remember the most is his calm demeanor no matter what the score is. A true professional

What was your personal season highlight this season?

The home game against Nördlingen was probably my personal highlight of the season . We were down 20 and came back and won the game. I’m sure the fans would say the same.

You played a very strong season in Germany after having played in England, Kosovo and Spain. How happy were you with your season?

 I think I did pretty good for a guy that’s didn’t play for a last season and was about to retire. This season was “the get back” for me.  I’m just blessed to have had this opportunity to play back in Germany.

How did Tuna Isler help you develop your game further this season?

Coach Isler is a very good coach. He challenged us all every day. I think that playing for him made me a better leader. I am very thankful for him giving me a opportunity to play for him this season.

What are the chances that you could remain with the UNI Riesen Leipzig? There was some good chemistry between you and Julian Scott?

I enjoyed playing with Julian. .I admire the way he went to war every night. I wouldn’t mind coming back here to do it all over again. Next time for a deep playoff run

Who was the toughest player that you battled this season at the guard position?

 Devon Moore and Randall Holt. I played both guys in college. They have both makes their teams better and bring it every night.

What two teams in the Pro B do you see reaching the Pro B final?

 I really don’t know the playoff tree like that but I truly think it will be a Pro B south final.

Which two teams will reach the NCAA final?

 Well I was hoping Mich. State was going to win because I’m a big Tom Izzo fan but now that it´s not possible I’m rooting for Oklahoma. I really like Buddy Hield. My opinion he is the National Player Of The Year .

What was the last movie that you saw?

Deadpool.

Thanks Brandon for the chat.

 

Leave a Reply

