Jeremy Miller(Northeastern University) Taking Part In The Basketball Aid Tour In Germany Will Let Me Grow As A Player Teammate And Friend

Jeremy Miller is a 19 year old 208cm freshman at Northeastern currently averaging 8,5ppg and 4,1rpg. He has scored in double figures in 11 of 30 games this season. He started his basketball career at the New Hampton school. This summer, he will make the journey to Germany with Northeastern to take part in the Basketball AID International Opportunity Tour and play against top class German professional teams. He recently spoke to German Hoops about basketball.

 

 

Jeremy thanks for taking some time from your studies and basketball to talk with German Hoops. Northeastern is looking to get back to the NCAA for a second year in a row. How confident are you that the team will achieve that goal?

Thanks for having me. The team is very confident getting back to the big dance, we are led by a core group of returners who know what they are doing. It’s not going to be a easy one, but we know that we will have to grind out the 2nd half of the season to get ready for the CAA tournament.

You are a 208cm freshman for Northeastern currently averaging 8,5ppg and 4,1rpg. What has been the most difficult thing that you have had to adjust to coming from prep school to the college ranks?

The most difficult thing for me was the physicality of the game. I knew the NCAA had some big boys and I needed to get stronger, which I have. I knew I was going to fit into our offense nicely but defensively would be a challenge.

Northeastern is led by senior trio David Walker, Zach Stahl and Quincy Ford. How well are they grooming you with their play and words for taking over the torch when they leave this summer?

Our senior group is amazing, there is so much experience on the floor when we all step out there. I have learned so much from them and I wish them the best after this year. Each one of them has talked to me personally about what I need to do to be a great player for my time here. I believe every word they say because they’ve been through hell and back trying to put Northeastern University Basketball on the map.

You have had some big games this season with 23 points against William & Mary, 18 points in a win against Stony Brook and 15 points in a win against UNC Wilmington and Delaware. What exactly is your role as a freshman this season?

My role is just to learn the game, be there for my teammates, rebound the ball and shoot when I’m open. I need to know the difference between a good shot and a great one. I also try to lead the other four freshman since we are going to be together for the next four years.

You played high school ball at New Hampton prep which has had some notable alumini like NCAA champions with North Carolina Rashad Mccants and Wes Parker as well as professional players Lawrence Moten and Darius Songaila. What made your Prep school basketball experience special?

After my four years at New Hampton and playing under Peter Hutchins, I really learned how to be mentally tough. Going to New Hampton was the best decision of my life because the way New Hampton plays reminds me of Northeastern. Practices are hard and what we do in practice translates to our games. Both coaching staffs are willing to do anything for us and they really know what they are flaking about.

How important has Northeastern head coach Bill Coen been so far for you making the transition from high school to the NCAA and what have you learned from him in this short time?

Bill is such a good person and coach. He expects the best of you on and off the court. The one thing I love about him is that he gets to know you personally first and then builds from there. I’ve learned that this level of ball is faster, stronger and smarter than high school, and he told me that during recruiting. He really paved out the picture and I fell in love with the school.

Northeastern will travel to Germany at the end of August 2016 to help strengthen the German-American friendship, play against professional teams and to support the BASKETBALL AID e:V which is a charity to aid children with cancer. How excited are you to be a part of this?

This is actually my first time hearing about this! I am very excited to say the least! I’ve only been out of the country once and I visited Italy and France. This will be a challenge for next years group without the leadership of our core seniors. But I believe we are up to the challenge, as long as we see what’s across our chest, we know what we are playing for.

How important will it be for you to be a part of this cause where you will get the experience of playing against top level professional teams and learn about a new culture?

It’s going to be very important because this is going to let me grow as a player, teammate and friend. Going against these professionals will really set the bar high and we either have to meet it or take it up higher.

I interviewed 2014 Euroleague(second most valuable professional basketball title in world after NBA) champion with Macabbi Tel Aviv Shawn James recently who played two seasons at Northeastern from 2004-2006 and he said he didn´t feel the legacy of Reggie Lewis at Northeastern when he was there. How is it for you and what does it mean for you playing for the school where Lewis made a name for himself?

Well being a Boston resident, I can feel the legacy of Lewis around campus. He left such a legacy here and I don’t think anyone will top it. It means that you have to be ready to go to war with your teammates and coaches. It means that you will do anything to win and it means to have a meaningful reason to wear that jersey.

Coming from the younger generation what player do you see taking over for Lebron James in the next years or isn´t a player like that moving up?

I see Steph Curry taking over when Lebron is done. The stuff that he is doing right now is not fair. He’s way to good right now and it’s scarey because he is really young. He’s not even on a big contract yet, he has a lot to prove and will take over this league if he hasn’t already.

What was the last movie that you saw?

The last movie I have seen, I think it was Point Break. It was very interesting. I would recommend it if you are the daredevil type. There are a lot of crazy stunts in the movie, which makes it really crazy and entertaining.

 

Thanks Jeremy for the chat.

 

 

Leave a Reply

