Sterling Carter(I’m Leaving Germany With My Head Held High And Grateful For The Opportunity With Rhondorf)

Sterling Carter is a 24 year old 183cm point guard from Seattle, Washington and was playing his rookie season in Germany with Pro A team Dragons Rhondorf. Today the club announced thathe was heading home thus ending his rookie season. He started his basketball career at Pacific, then played three years at Seattle(NCAA) and finished at Purdue in 2014. Carter played 25 games averaging 15,6ppg, 3,5rpg and 3,5apg. He spoke to German Hoops about his rookie season and why he left.

 

 

 

Sterling thanks for talking to German Hoops. Today came the announcement that you have left the Dragons Rhondorf to go back home. With what kind of feelings are you leaving Germany?

I’m leaving Germany with my head held high and grateful for the opportunity in Rhondorf that I had to Play my First Professional Season.

The club stated that you were going home, because of personal reasons while head coach Christian Mehrens had signalized that you wouldn´t be playing a role for the rest of the games. Was it really a bit of both or was it just personal reasons?

Well honestly it was the fact that I worked really hard all season and stuck with the club through a lot of things then the head coach tells the team he’s only going to play the guys he wants to be back next season and with me having a wife and child I figured it would be best to just go back to my family because it’s not fair to them if I’m just away sitting on the bench. I’ve been away from them for 7 months and if I’m not doing my job anymore no need to keep them waiting my family is very important to me they support my every move.

I am sure when you came to Rhondorf, you never expected your rookie season to go like this. Was your rookie season like a bad dream where you never woke up from?

Well honestly it wasn’t as bad as it looked. I learned a lot from playing there and it motivated me and I know now that the only way I can go from this situation is up. I left with no hard feelings

The club has only two wins. Players came and went and a good team chemistry was never built. Was this a big reason why the club was never able to get a consistent level in their play?

Yea I think it had to do with that and a few other things but I enjoyed those two wins and I know that me and the guys that was there the whole time those games meant a lot for us to win.

Obviously players came and went, but you always stayed and as the leader had to keep the ship afloat. Were these duties just a bit too much for you as a rookie?

No it wasn’t too much for me and it was actually a good challenge for me and it has helped me a lot. But with me being a rookie it was hard to gain the trust of a few guys. I gave my all to the club and sad it had to end this way but everything happens for a reason.

Did you at times feel like being let down from your teammates, because you seemed like you had to do so much on the court. Did you really want to do this or were you in a way forced to have to take many shots?

No I was never let down by my teammates. They all worked hard and played their best and it was me that had the ability to take and make shots that was my role on the team.

You took a total of 218 three pointers and shot 33,5%. Some said you were taking too many shots and not creating enough for your teammates. Do you feel that this might have created a little rift early within the team that was never healed?

Yea well those shots I took where the same from the start of the season to the end I was asked to take and make shots and for those people that thought I didn’t create enough. I would just tell them to go back and look at some of the game film. I almost averaged 4 assists a game and I think my team understood what my role was and what I was good at.

Do you feel like if their had been better communication between you and Boris Kaminski earlier that it could have had an effect on the outcome of the season?

Well I think that if he would have communicated to the whole team what he communicated with me then we would have all be on the same page a little earlier but I would blame our season on that.

What was your biggest highlight of the season? Possibly your 31 point game in the win against the Bayer Giants Leverkusen?

I would say my biggest highlight was my game against Nürnberg when I had 17 points and 10assists It was my first double double being a professional and I feel like it showed that I can create and score the ball as well.

What did you learn from your rookie season in Germany with Rhondorf that will make you better as a player in the future?

I learned that you have to be mentally tough to play professionally and that it takes a strong guy to be able to travel across the country and play in an unfamiliar environment. I also learned that if you want to be the best you have to start at the bottom and earn your respect on your way to the top and I feel that I earned a lot of respect in the Pro A this season.

How would you like the Rhondorf fans to remember you. Could you please give some last words to the faithful supporters?

I just want them to know that I gave them my all in my time there and that I will forever have them in my heart and wish them all the best for their seasons to come.

What is the next professional step for Sterling Carter? Would you like to play in Germany next season if the opportunity comes along?

I will like to play where ever the best opportunity is for me and my family with no specific place, but just the best opportunity I’m open to just about all.

How do you recap the NBA trade line deals? What teams did the best?

I don’t think any team really gained much of an upper hand in the trades no one made a big trade at all which was a shocker to me.

Ex NBA players have attacked the Golden State Warriors saying the NBA isn´t as physical as it once was. Are these players just jealous or would Steph Curry and the Warriors not dominate say 20-30 years ago?

Haha I don’t know the league back then was very physical and I’m not sure guys back then would allow him to do the things he’s doing but we will never know.

Recently ESPN ranked the top 100 NBA players of all time. They placed Lebron James at #3 before NBA legends Larry Bird, Magic Johnson and Bill Russell. Do you feel that is justified?

No I don’t agree with that won’t be able to tell until Lebron retires.

What was the last movie that you saw?

Ride Along 2.

 

Thanks Sterling for the chat.

 

Leave a Reply

