Rob Lowery(Alba Berlin) My Toughness And Defense Has Allowed Me To Get To This Level

Rob Lowery is a 28 year old 188cm guard from Forestville, Maryland playing his sixth professional season and second time in Germany and first with Alba Berlin after starting the season with AE Nea Kifisia Dimoulas Athens (Greece-A). He started his basketball career with Cecil CC (NJCAA2) before finishing at Dayton(NCAA) in 2010 where he played a total of 56 NCAA games and as senior played 31 games averaging 7.3ppg, 2.2rpg, 3.5apg, FGP: 37.6%, 3PT: 37.7%, FT: 77.6%. He started his professional basketball career in 2010 with the Saar-Pfalz Braves (Germany-ProA) playing 24 games: 10.6ppg, 4.0rpg, 4.4apg, FGP: 53.0%, 3PT: 27.9%, FT: 66.7%. In the 2011-2012 season he played with Levharti Chomutov (Czech Republic-NBL) playing 36 games: Score-5(17.6ppg), 4.8rpg, 2.8apg, Steals-5(1.9spg), FGP: 50.0%, 3PT: 28.6%, FT: 73.3%. In the 2012-2013 season, he played with Best Balikesir Basketbol Kulubu (Turkey-TB2L) playing 30 games: 17.3ppg, 6.5rpg, 3.9apg, 1.8spg, FGP: 47.4%, 3PT: 37.3%, FT: 77.1%. In the 2013-2014 season he played with Lighthouse Trapani (Italy-DNA Gold, starting five): 28 games: 15.1ppg, 6.1rpg, 3.2apg, 1.4spg, FGP: 57.4%, 3PT: 28.3%, FT: 68.3%. Last season he played with ASA Koroivos Amaliadas (Greece-A1) playing 8 games: 16.8ppg, 5.0rpg, 2.4apg, 2.4spg, 2FGP: 52.9%, 3FGP: 31.8%, FT: 82.0%, in Dec.’14 moved to VEF Riga (Latvia-LBL) VTB United League: 16 games: 11.8ppg, 4.2rpg, 4.1apg, Steals-3(1.8spg), FGP: 46.0%, 3PT: 46.7%, FT: 68.2%; Latvian LBL: 18 games: 9.8ppg, 3.1rpg, 3.4apg, Steals-3(1.7spg), FGP: 43.5%, 3PT: 38.3%, FT: 68.9%. He spoke to German Hoops before the 2016 Beko BBL cup semi-final against the Fraport Skyliners.

 

 

 

Rob thanks for talking to German Hoops. Welcome to Berlin. You are have stood the test of time. It took you 6 years to reach one of the top organizations in Europe. How blessed do you feel and can you 100% say that all your hard work has truly paid off?

It’s truly a blessing to be able to play for such an amazing coach and organization. It’s an honor! My hard work has definitely paid off but this is definitely just the beginning. I want to keep proving myself so I can’t play at the highest level!

Last season you had big games against top Russian teams in the VTB like CSKA Moscow scoring 24 points. Was this the final proof that you could play against the top teams in Europe?

I mean we both know how big of a powerhouse CSKA is! Playing in the VTB league definitely gave me a chance to prove myself so when I got the opportunity to play against the big teams I wanted to have a great game! I just try to give my all like its the last game of my life every time I step on the basketball court!

As a rookie you played for the Saar-Pfalz Braves (Germany-ProA). What do you feel has been your biggest asset in your game that has carried the path that you have gone and carried you to Alba Berlin?

I feel like listening to all of my different coaches tell me I have a special talent in which could be developed if I’m willing to work hard and practice at adjusting to the European style! I think overall my toughness and defense has allowed me to get to the this level but I’m still Working on things to improve my game so I continue to rise to the highest level

You have played in many countries like the Czech Republic, Greece, Turkey, Italy and Latvia. With your experience with many clubs, has it been very overwhelming seeing the differences that Alba Berlin offer as a whole that your previous teams didn´t have?

I loved every team I’ve played for and have a lot of respect for each team that gave me a opportunity to represent there club! But Alba is easily the biggest club I’ve played for but yes it was a little overwhelming because anyone who knows me and what I went through this summer with getting injured and not knowing if I would have a job this summer knows that I’m so happy to still be playing especially for an amazing organization like this!

You came to a struggling Alba Berlin, but you have fit in nicely having helped the team to two wins in the Beko BBL. Do you feel much pressure having to pick up the load that Jordan Taylor has left due to his injury?

I really don’t feel any pressure because Sasa make it so easy for me to understand the system plus he will allow you to make mistakes as long as your working hard and playing hard and accepting constructive criticism and adjusting to what’s right and wrong so this has helped me a lot! Jordan is an amazing player and he has been helpful as well

So far you have had to be more of a scorer than a playmaker. Do you have a signfigant role for head coach Sasa Obradovic or do you take more what the defense gives you and take it from there?

I love to play defense growing up as a kid and I was told that defense not only wins games but championships! With Sasa the philosophy is pretty similar! When I came here he said he just wants me to bring energy, play defense, and score the ball when needed so I just listened to my coach and whatever he ask me to do it do!

How challenging has it been playing with Will Cherry? You guys seemed to have gotten on the same page quickly?

It was easy to make the transition with a guy like Will. He’s very easy going and understanding and he’s is hungry to become the best player he can just like me! So in some ways we are one in the same! Our chemistry is shockingly really good!

Head coach Sasa Obradovic at times conducts his own theater on the sidelines with his body movements. How has he made you a better player in the short time that you have been there?

Everybody in Europe knows he’s a very demanding and tough coach but he brings the best out of his player! He challenges them in ways people can’t imagine and that’s what I like! In these months he has definitely made me a tougher player on and off the court!

You have won two titles with the NIT with Dayton in 2010 and last season the Latvian title with VEF Riga. This weekend you need to win two games to get your third title. How excited are you to be playing at the cup top 4 in Munich?

I’m very excited and this is why we play! For championships it means everything to me and my teammates to be in this position but our goal is to come out of here champions

Alba Berlin tangle against one of the hottest teams in the Beko BBL with the Fraport Skyliners. They are an energetic bunch that belong to the best defensive teams in the league and can unravel any defense with their intense ball movement. What will be key to reaching the final?

Matching their defense of intensity because defense sets the tone. We have to play patient and play our style of basketball! If we listen to what Sasa has planned for us our chances will be good in these cup games!

Last season you started with ASA Koroivos Amaliadas (Greece-A1) and then moved to Latvia. You started this season with AE Nea Kifisia Dimoulas Athens (Greece-A1) and had very impressive stats. It isn´t usual that a player departs when he is playing well. Why did you have leave? Did you not see eye to eye with the head coach?

First off I would like to say I really appreciate Kifisia and the opportunity they gave me! But me and the head coach and the assistant coaches are the best of friends they respected my decision and in my contract we had a buy out if I stayed there until January so it was a great understanding before they signed me!

Overall Greece hasn´t always been a positive experience for you. If you had the chance would you give it a third try?

Greece has always been a positive place for me I love Athens, the people/fans , and the league! But to answer your question I don’t know where basketball will take me but I’m open to go anywhere depending on the situation and circumstances.

How proud are you of your title with VEF Riga last season? The club only had three imports with you CJ Harris and Gerald Robinson so winning took help from everyone.

Winning my first professional championship was a dream come truly knowing no one can take that feeling I had that day away from me! Winning a championship shows and proves all the hard work you put in paying off! To CJ and Gerald our team couldn’t have done it without them

Two seasons ago you played for Lighthouse Trapani (Italy-DNA) together with older American Kelvin Parker. How much did you appreciate playing with a guy like yourself that started in Germany in the Pro A with Rhondorf and FC Bayern Munich and over the years worked himself up to better leagues in Europe?

Kelvin is like my big brother he still calls me daily to talk about games we played together and to tell me what he sees I’m doing wrong when he watches my game! I have nothing but love and respect for Kelvin. He has helped me grow as a man and a player! Him being a father and me as well he has helped me become a better dad to my daughter as well!

Last season in the VTB you played against Avtodor once winning 100-82, but couldn´t play against ex NBA player Courtney Fortson. Did you guys at least exchange hair tips after the game?

Naw I didn’t get to talk to him! Lol he’s a great player though!

In your second season you played for Levharti Chomutov (Czech Republic-NBL). After being injured as a rookie, how important was this second season for your self confidence and development as you proved that you had game improving your game and stats much?

It was very important to my career it was a chance for me to get back on track and for someone to give me another to prove myself!

As a rookie you played for the Saar-Pfalz Braves in Germany in the Pro A. What was your wake up call to being a rookie in Europe where you knew that you were very far away from home in Maryland?

Everything was a wake up call! I was a professional and I wanted to conduct myself as one but I was a little immature but I had some older guys around who didn’t want to see me fail like Robert Cardinas who always would tell me what was right from wrong! Adjusting without time zone was hard as well

You played at Cecil CC (NJCAA2) racking up impressive stats before heading to Dayton(NCAA) playing 32 games: 18.2ppg, 4.2rpg, 8.7apg, 2.1spg, FGP: 48.0%, 3PT: 40.0%, FT: 78.0%. Did you know from the start that you could play in the NCAA?

Yes I knew but I’ve always had to prove myself and I’m still doing it! It’s who I am! Must remain humble and keep striving to be better

You played two seasons at Dayton(NCAA) winning the NIT in 2010. You played with many talented guys like future NBA players Chris Johnson and Chris Wright. What made the flyers so special?

Our system and how hard guys wanted to win! We would fight in practice, we would be in the gym all day because we just wanted to win!.. We were #Bandofbrothers who would die on the court for each other! That’s what made out special

How did Brian Gregory groom and prepare you best for a professional basketball career?

Because as a college player he always pushed me to the limit! On and off the court! He prepared me for life for when basketball is over! He’s such an amazing guy who I admire and respect nothing but love for my college head coach

Who won a one on one at Dayton(NCAA) you or Marcus Johnson?

We never really played one on one! But in shootouts and shooting game we would tie

Recently ESPN named the 100 best NBA players of all time. Do you feel it was justified to have Lebron before legends like Bill Russell, Magic and Larry Bird?

That’s not my job to make an opinion on this lol I really don’t care

What was the last movie that you saw?

A Bronx tale. My all time fav movie.

Thanks Rob for the chat.

 

Leave a Reply

