Randal Holt(Dresden Titans) I Don’t Like To Put Pressure On Myself To Score ButI Just Play Each Game And Take What The Defense Gives Me

Randal Holt is a 23 year old 185cm point guard from Bedford, Ohio that is playing his second professional season for the Dresden Titans in the German Pro B. He started his basketball career at Kent St. (NCAA) in 2009 and played 131 NCAA games until 2013 and as a senior played 33 games averaging 14.6ppg, 3.2rpg, 2.5apg, 1.3spg, FGP: 36.4%, 3PT: 38.6%, FT: 86.0%. Last season as a rookie he played for Weissenhorn Youngstars (Germany-ProB) playing 25 games: 19.4ppg, 3.6rpg, 4.2apg, 1.8spg, FGP: 53.3%, 3PT: 38.2%, FT: 81.6%He spoke to German Hoops before the game against the Fraport Skyliners Juniors.

 

 

Randal thanks for talking to German Hoops. 2016 is upon us. What new years resolutions have you made for Randal Holt the player and person?

I’m not really big on New years resolutions I try to better myself everyday as a person and as a basketball player

Welcome back to Germany. You recently signed with the German Pro B team Dresden Titans. You have joined in mid season. What were the main reasons for continuing your professional career so late after having a strong rookie season with Weissenhorn?

Well as a young professional my goal is to continue playing for as long as I am able to do so. The Dresden Titans gave me another chance to get back to doing what I love to do and I am very appreciative of that.

Is it a nice change of scenery coming from the small Weissehorn to big city of Dresden. What have you learned to appreciate the most about your new home so far?

Well I just appreciate the opportunity first and for most I am here to play basketball and help our team win games. Yes the city of Dresden is beautiful which also helps me enjoy my time here.

Congrats on the 89-80 victory against the Scanplus baskets. It was a very entertaining game with each quarter having its special story. How would you best describe this win for you and the Titans?

It was a great win for our team they were a really good and strong team across the roster. I think we showed toughness and that we can play together to prove we can win tough grind it out games moving forward.

Dresden gave up 6 points in the second half and an average of 24 in the other three quarters, but still win the game. How infrequent is it being able to play unbelievable defense for only one quarter of a game. Why couldn´t the team play better consistent defense?

We gave a great effort to stop them from getting second chance points in the second quarter. Like I said before they are a good team and sometimes you will give up some things on defense but we were able to make the winning plays down the stretch to pull out a victory

How key was German Marc Nagora in the fourth quarter netting 12 of his 23 points not allowing Elchingen closer to you?

Marc was very key for us he played a tremendous game and we needed him to do so. I think that will be big for us moving forward and also for Marc building confidence knowing he can play like that in every game

The Dresden Titans are 2-1 with new head coach Steven Clauss and you. One could say that the club has gotten better. What do you believe has been the secret to the current success of the team?

I think coach Clauss and done a great job of teaching our team what it is he wants us to do and the players have done a good job of respecting his opinion and trusting the process of executing his game plan.

With the team at 2-1, does the club have the ability to gain even more confidence on the court?

I think we will continue to gain confidence and chemistry with one another since the team has made changes with me and coach Clauss. We have now only been together for some weeks and as we get closer to the playoffs we will just continue to get better.

What has been refreshing with the coaching style of Steven Clauss that you have never seen before?

Steve Clauss has been a very good teacher to our team. I think that helps all of the guys on the team with confidence and playing calm and poise. He is not a big screaming coach in fact he teaches us and shows confidence in every player from top to bottom

Dresden is averaging 97 points in the last three games. Andrew Jones and David Sturner have said that teams don´t realize just how many offensive options this team has. Have you noticed this as well?

Yea I agree with both Andrew and David our team has many players who are constantly in attack mode and that causes our opponents trouble because there isn’t just one player they can key on now we have many options and that opens the floor up for our guys to make plays for each other.

In your short stay so far what do you think the team can clean up on? Possibly keeping teams to even less points?

Yes I think there is always something we can work on as a team I think right now we are working on picking up the intensity on defense and causing our opponents to make more mistakes leading to easy baskets for us

You and Andrew Jones make a very potent American duo. He has had a tough season scoring wise, but also has become more of a creator. Do you feel that in due time, he will find his scoring touch again with you at the point?

Yes I do in fact Andrew now has less pressure on him to score a lot of points and he can just play with a clear head. We know he is a great player and will find his rhythm very soon and he has also dealt with some injuries so when he is fully healthy there is no doubt in my mind he will have monster games for us

You pretty much have the same stats as with Weissenhorn. Is your role different with Dresden then it was with Weissenhorn?

I think last season I was in more of a scoring point guard role and this season I am in a role to create a lot more for my teammates and also score when called upon

What do you want to accomplish this season in your second season on the floor that you weren´t able to do as a rookie?

Winning the pro b championship is the main goal for our team right now

You had many great games last season like your 36 points against Magdeburg. Do you ever put unneeded pressure on yourself this season having to need to produce very well each game which you did last season scoring in double figures in 24 of 25 games?

No I don’t like to put pressure and big expectations on myself to score a lot of points I just play each game and take what the defense gives me my main goal is winning which will bring light to individual performances

The next game is against the Fraport Skyliners. What memories do you have of the game last season where you poured in 22 points and seven assists?

My memories from last season are all great I played for a great team and organization and I remember the Skylines play really tough defense and have great talents so I’m looking forward to the game this week

The Fraport Skyliners Juniors won the first game 87-83 in Dresden. Frankfurt is a very big team, but Dresden did a good job keeping up under the boards. This will be a totally different game. What will be key for the win?

I think the key to the game will be just going out and executing our game plan and playing our style of basketball

How surprised were you that the Cavs fired David Blatt? Did you see this as a hasty decision?

Yes I was pretty surprised by what took place with David Blatt but I am a huge fan of the Cavs being a home town native and I just hope they made the decision that’s best for the team and organization

Who will win the Superbowl 50, Denver or Carolina/Arizona?

I´m rooting for Carolina.

What was the last movie that you saw?

Ride Along 2.

 

Thanks Randal for the chat.

 

Leave a Reply

