Jeff Xavier (I Will Learn From All Of This And Become A Better Basketball Player And Person)

Jeff Xavier is a 30 year old 189cm point guard from Pawtucket, Rhode Island that is playing his seventh professional season and first in Germany, but was released from medi Bayreuth last week. He started his basketball career at Manhattan (NCAA) in 2004 where he played until 2006 playing a total of 60 NCAA games. He then moved to Providence (NCAA) in 2007 where he played his last two seasons of college ball playing a total of 64 NCAA games and as a senior played 33 games averaging 9.3ppg, 3.0rpg, 1.9apg, 1.4spg, FGP: 35.6%, 3Pts: 29.1%, FT: 80.0%. In 2009 he started his professional basketball career with Leche Rio Breogan Lugo (Spain-LEB Gold) playing 38 games and averaging 12.9ppg, 2.7rpg, 1.5apg, 1.7spg, FGP: 41.5%, 3PT: 37.1%, FT: 76.8%. In the 2010-2011 season he played for Caceres 2016 C.B. (Spain-LEB Gold) playing 38 games averaging 9.7ppg, 2.6rpg, 1.4apg, Steals-5(1.6spg), FGP: 46.4%, 3PT: 32.0%, FT: 69.6%. In the 2011-2012 season he played for Faymasa Palencia Baloncesto (Spain-LEB Gold) playing 32 games averaging 13.8ppg, 2.7rpg, 1.3apg, Steals-3(2.0spg), FGP: 44.3%, 3PT: 34.7%, FT: 76.7%. He played the last three seasons for Autocid Ford Burgos where he was twice LEB Gold champion. He spoke to German Hoops last week after ending his time with medi Bayreuth where he played 13 games averaging 10,2ppg, 2,2rpg and 2,0apg.

Jeff congrats on the 85-73 win against top Beko BBL team EWE Baskets Oldenburg. How different would you classify win enjoyment when you weren´t able to contribute the way you normally are used to?

Thank you. It was a big win. Yes, it’s very different but either way I have to be a professional and cheer for my team either I sit on the bench or play 30 minutes.

Was key the rebounding and hot three point shooting coupled with a strong defensive game that got the team the victory?

I think our defense has been great the last few games. That combined with great shooting can win us a lot of games.

Looking back on the season one could classify this win now as the new biggest win of the season? It was a great defensive performance by medi Bayreuth. The club is giving up 71,5ppg in the last three games. Has the team found a defensive rhythm finally?

I think we had bigger wins but the season is still young so I think they will get even bigger wins.

John Flowers had a break out game. He seems to have finally arrived. Do you see him taking on a new role as leading the team now in your absence? Yes he’s a great player. For sure he will be a force for this team and they need him to win games.

I heard the news late last night in Boston that the club had sent you home. With what kind of feelings did this news arrive to you?

Obviously I felt horrible because this has never happened to me in 7 years playing professional basketball. I just look forward to play for another club and work even harder.

In 6 years in Spain, you never were released. Is the team mentality there different than in Germany and something you obviously didn´t really factor into your basketball life on and off the court?

This country is much different in a lot of different aspects but it was nothing I couldn’t handle. Just wish things would of turned out differently. But everything happens for a reason and I am ready to move on and be better from this.

Was the 5 minutes that you played against the EWE Baskets Oldenburg an early indication that something wasn´t right?

Yes for sure. It was the least amount of minutes I’ve ever played in my life.

Ever since your big game against the Fraport Skyliners where you dropped 19 points and five three pointers, your game has been shaky. What can you contribute to this lack of production in this time?

Lack of confidence with me and the lack of confidence the coach had me in also. It happens. It’s professional sports. And I am fine with it. But at the end of the day I am the one that has to produce no matter what.

What lessons have you learned from your experience with medi Bayreuth? What will you do differently in the future on and off the court?

I have learned a lot on and off the court. I will learn from all of this and become a better basketball player and person.

Ken Horton has been a kind of unsung hero on the team. Do you see him being able to heighten his game even more with your departure?

Yes he’s a great and very consistent player. I believe he will stay consistent like he’s been and have a great season.

Your two best games were against Oldenburg early in the season and against Frankfurt. Were these also your season highlights?

I think I had a few other games where I played great as well earlier on before I got hurt but the Frankfurt game was probably my best game because of all the big shots I made.

The medi Bayreuth fans belong to the most passionate in the Beko BBL. How would you like to say farewell to them?

I would like to tell them that I enjoyed playing here and their passion is huge to this teams success this year and the future. Just want to thank them for their support for me even now while I am going through this.

What is the next step for Jeff Xavier? Will you remain in Europe or go back to the States and wait for offers?

I will wait for offers either here or the states. Either way I think I should be getting a new deal soon just because of my resume and what I have done in un professional career. I am definitely ready to be a big factor for another club. I can not wait

Tom Brady against Peyton Manning. Brady leads the series 11-5. Can the New England Patriots escape Denver and reach the Super bowl?

Oh yes! My New England Patriots! My favorite team and I know they will get to another super bowl! For sure!

Did you see the new Star Wars movie? How did you like it to the pervious movies and compare it to the new one?

Never watched not one Star Wars movie haha. Sorry

What was the last movie that you saw?

Last movie I watched was creed and it was a great movie.

Thanks Jeff for the chat.

 

Leave a Reply

