Aaron Cook (I Believe I Have What It Takes To Be A Positive Impact To Any Situation)

Aaron Cook is a 32 year old 183cm guard from Randallstown, Maryland that has been a professional basketball player since 2007. He played at Hartford (NCAA) from 2002-2006. He played a total of 114 NCAA games and in his senior year played 28 games: 16.4ppg, 4.2rpg, 2.5apg, 1.6spg, FG: 41.9%, 3PT: 39%, FT: 76.6%. In 2006-2007, he started his professional basketball career in the States for the Butte Daredevils (CBA) 35 games: 13.7ppg, 3.5rpg, Assists-2(6.4apg), 1.8spg, FGP: 44.8%, 3PT: 44.4%, FT: 71.6%. In 2007-2008, he moved to Europe to play for Atlas Stal Ostrow Wielkopolski (Poland-DBE) playing 10 games: 5.5ppg, 1.0rpg, 1.1apg, FGP-3(64.7%), 3PT: 44.0%, in Dec.’08 moved to Gothia Basket (Sweden-Basketligan) 18 games: 12.0ppg, 2.9rpg, 4.9apg, 1.8spg, 2FGP: 41.2%, 3PT: 33.0%, FT: 59.1%. In 2008-2009, he played for the Vermont Frost Heaves (PBL) playing 17 games: 10.9ppg, 4.1rpg, 3.1apg, 1.2spg, FGP: 45.5%, 3PT: 34.9%, FT: 73.5%. He came to Germany in the 2010-2011 season and played for the Cuxhaven BasCats (Germany-ProA) playing 15 games: 17.2ppg, 4.9rpg, Assists-1(6.6apg), 1.6spg, FGP: 51.9%, 3PT: 34.7%, FT: 73.0%. In the 2011-2012 season he played for the Mitteldeutscher BC Weissenfels (Germany-ProA) playing 3 games: 5.3ppg, 2.3rpg, 2.3apg, 1.0spg, injured in Oct.’11 and was off for 6 weeks, left in Dec.’11, next month moved to Crailsheim Merlins (Germany-ProA) playing 21 games: 11.7ppg, 2.5rpg, 3.6apg, FGP: 39.4%, 3PT: 40.2%, FT: 76.9%. In the 2012-2013 season he played for the ETB Wohnbau Baskets Essen (Germany-ProA, starting five): 30 games: 10.7ppg, 3.1rpg, Assists-5(5.1apg), FGP: 39.4%, 3PT: 39.7%, FT: 77.5%. He played the last two seasons for the Cuxhaven BasCats (Germany-ProA) and last season played 30 games: 9.2ppg, 3.0rpg, 4.7apg, FGP: 37.2%, 3PT: 32.0%, FT: 68.8%. He spoke to German Hoops about basketball!

Aaron thanks for talking to German Hoops. Where are you at the moment and how was your holiday season?

Hello Miles, I´m currently in Cuxhaven, Germany. My holiday season was celebrated here in Germany and it was good.

What new year resolutions have you set for Aaron Cook the professional player and person?

From a personal standpoint I´ve been focused on learning from past mistakes and ultimately trying to be a better man and husband then I was yesterday. I am a working progress. From a player aspect I´m always training but I´m eating differently at the moment. This is the first time that I´ve focused on what I´m eating and I have seen changes. I feel quicker and my body feels stronger.

After playing in Cuxhaven last season you weren´t signed this season. What do you feel has kept you off a roster in the 2015-2016 season? Did you get offers that just weren´t the right situation for you?

In this business it is a numbers game. Teams have unlimited options. If you are coming off of a season that wasn´t your best you could be the odd man out. I did recieve a few offers earlier in the summer months. During that time I believed that better opportunities would present itself.

You are 32 years old at the moment. Do you feel that you are already past your prime or in it?

I believe that I´m still in my prime. Athletically their hasn´t been a drop off and throughout my 9 year career I haven´t suffered any major injuries. Physically I still feel the same as when I was 25. Emotionally, with experience I´ve mature a great deal. I am a better leader and I´ve gained a better understanding of how to handle both highs and lows that occur during the course of a season.

Last season you played for the Cuxhaven BasCats (Germany-ProA) playing 30 games averaging 9.2ppg, 3.0rpg, 4.7apg, FGP: 37.2%, 3PT: 32.0%, FT: 68.8%. How happy were you with your season in general?

I wasn´t happy with my season last year. I know that I´m capable of doing more and being more efficient . Last season was tough for me. I had to make a lot of adjustment and find my identity on the team though out that season

Your state were quite similar to the season before with Cuxhaven, but your field goal percentage last season was very much lower than the season before. Did you notice that your shooting wasn´t up to par to the season before?

Yes I did notice that. The year before I shot (2pt:52%, 3pt: 39%). Last season I played some shooting guard when Brandon Johnson arrived. I went through and adjustment period where my shot really wasn´t falling. Later in the season I started to find my rhythm again though

Did the acquisition of Brandon Johnson annoy you a bit? He was a point guard like you and was very vital in the turnaround of the team. Did you feel like the team lost trust in your abilities?

I don´t feel that the team lost trust in me. I played 30 mins per game. I did feel like we needed to add strength to our roster which Brandon provided. People always ask me was I upset with Brandon Johnson arrival. I did have to adjustment to the new situation but more importantly at the time we needed to win games and he came to the team and was a big help to getting them. I just tried to adjust to the new situation and be as impactful as I could without hurting the team. So I was never annoyed with Brandon´s arrival.

You have played in Germany the last five seasons. Why do you feel most comfortable playing in the German Pro A?

I like German basketball. I like the style of play and fan support. And over the years I have gained great relationships and friends, so yes I am comfortable here but I´m still open to playing outside of Germany as well.

You obviously wouldn´t mind playing anywhere, but how beneficial do you feel would it be for your game to get a new chance in Germany?

I would like that. I´ve played in Pro A, Germany for the past five years and I feel that I have been impactful all five.

Would you even be willing to play in the German Pro B? Would you accept having that leadership role for young Germans?

That would be a little tough but with the deadline approaching anything is possible

What part of your game do you feel has been improving most with age in the last years?

The mental aspect of the game. At this point in my career I feel like emotionally I´m always composed. With playing basketball so many years I have already experienced many situations, so I believe I have what it takes to be a positive impact to any situation.

What do you feel is the most important quality that you could give any team now at the age of 32?

Experience, leadership and just the ability to adjust to any situation If I am needed to be a aggressive scorer I can do that, and if I´m needed to be more of a floor general I can do that as well.

Do you see Steph Curry hitting for 70 points ever?

With him anything is possible. When you have the ability to shoot the ball that easily and can create your own shot off of the dribble you are a nightmare for any opponent

Have you seen the new Star Wars movie? How would you compare it to the previous movies?

I´ve never really been interested in Star Wars movies. I haven´t seen any of them. I feel like I´m the only one. Lol

What was the last movie that you saw?

Crooklyn.

 

Thanks Aaron for the chat.

 

Leave a Reply

